1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[MOD] Land of our Fathers

Discussion in 'Civ4Col - Mods and Files' started by jenks, Dec 1, 2008.

  1. Dale

    Dale Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    6,986
    jenks:

    Thunderfall is setting up a forum for us to work in, similar to the mod forums in Civ4 C&C. :)
     
  2. jenks

    jenks Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    494
    Location:
    Yorkshire, UK
    nice one. all good stuff!
     
  3. jenks

    jenks Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    494
    Location:
    Yorkshire, UK
    Yeah I'll be stopping development on LooF if we combine the work thus far. I'll be focusing on ideas, development and the more simple coding for the combination modpack. Not sure about the 'unofficial patch' title though - would maybe be stepping on anybody else's toes who wants to try and make a new mod!, but it will be nice to be able to point people to a complete, working game Mod which improves the issues and weaknesses of vanilla :D
     
  4. Zuul

    Zuul Mod lister!

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Messages:
    1,117
    Location:
    Sweden
    Nice to see this cooperation :).
     
  5. joelwest

    joelwest Noble

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2005
    Messages:
    339
    Location:
    Houston, TX USA
    comments from first playing of your mod

    1. ship location after first ship
    Spoiler :
    do not know if this comes from your mod or from "official" patch, but when I bought my second ship it came to the New World at a completely random spot on the east coast. first ship was in lower southern hemisphere, second ship was in upper northern hemisphere

    how do you set this back to original setting of your next ship returning to where your first ship came out (or most recently approached Europe)?
    2. intent for FF Powhatan regarding offense
    Spoiler :
    I noticed you gave FF Powhatan more power to converted native, ie +1 move in addition to vanilla +50% strength. however I could only create a scout from a converted native since in CIV4UnitInfos.xml

    <bOnlyDefensive>1</bOnlyDefensive>

    as in vanilla C4C

    was your intent to make converted native into an offensive unit or just a better scout?

    I went ahead and changed this to zero so I could make him into a dragoon
    3. seasoned scout not available for purchase
    Spoiler :
    do not know if this comes from your mod or from "official" patch, but seasoned scout is no longer available to be bought in Europe although he does randomly appear on the docks and presumably some native villages train this profession. since seasoned scouts are needed for early exploration and the chances of being next to a native settlement that trains this are remote, why was this changed? how do you put seasoned scout back into the buy list in Europe?
    4. settlements on peaks
    Spoiler :
    you do not have a file CIV4TerrainInfos.xml in your mod, so the default one should govern. I changed the file to

    <bFound>1</bFound>

    for <Type>TERRAIN_PEAK</Type>, so I should be allowed to found a settlement on a peak. however it does not work
     
  6. jenks

    jenks Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    494
    Location:
    Yorkshire, UK
    1. Never seen that before - it's not intended and not something I changed (possibly PatchMod?) ... was the tile where ship 2 popped up already visible (explored) or was it in a new area?
    2. My intention was to make them better, stronger scouts, possibly give them a use post independance, and to help bring converts back quickly from distant missions. Not 100% sure I like the idea of convert dragoons ... :p
    3. That is from PatchMod
    4. That should do it. I'll have to look further into that one ... not got access to the xml at the moment
     
  7. Dale

    Dale Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    6,986
    1. A change necessary due to the ship able to head east or west from Europe. Basically, if the ship has not come from the direction chosen, an explored spot on the edge of the Europe zone on that side (centralised to your colonies) is chosen. There is no "start spot" anymore. This is from PatchMod.

    3. You can't buy seasoned scouts in vanilla. This is not a PatchMod thing. :)
     
  8. joelwest

    joelwest Noble

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2005
    Messages:
    339
    Location:
    Houston, TX USA
    I must have set the ship to go west even I had yet to explore the west coast. hence I ended up in the far north of the east rather than where I came from

    that dock graphic would benefit from the east and west choice arrows being on opposite sides of the ship rather being next to one another
     
  9. Dale

    Dale Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    6,986
    Yeah AoD2 already addressed this by making the buttons point in the east or west direction. :)
     
  10. Zuul

    Zuul Mod lister!

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Messages:
    1,117
    Location:
    Sweden
    Though the light effect is also mirrored on the icon :p.
     
  11. kaibayashi

    kaibayashi Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    264
    Yeah i had this same problem. I was settled right at the south of the map, sent a boat back to Europe to sell some goods, and bought a galleon to transport my treasures. When I sent the Galleon to the New World it appeared right at the top! :( I hadn't yet discovered the West Coast so only had one side to send to.

    Could it be made so new ships have the same return square as the last ship to travel to the new world? Or perhaps you could have a user-set default return point? I had a situation in another game where i travelled far south scouting and buying goods, then sent the ship back to Europe. When it returned it did so in the south, naturally. However it would be very useful to be able to return to a point close to your colonies.

    I'm sure that ships that travelled between Europe and the New World didn't always return to the point they left from!! :)
     
  12. Dale

    Dale Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    6,986
    Actually there was a bug in previous versions of AoD2 where it spawned the site from all Europe sea zone plots on that side, discovered or not. I've fixed that in the latest versions by choosing from revealed plots. :)
     
  13. JaeChunDaeSung

    JaeChunDaeSung Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    301
    Location:
    Korea
    I was actually wondering, where exactly within the mod can I just slightly tweak with the numbers in the REF?
     
  14. Rhodes

    Rhodes Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Help, my game crashes when i start, after select the maps. How can i fix it?
     
  15. kaibayashi

    kaibayashi Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    264
    Prob nothing if you have the latest ver of Col, as this was created from the unpatched version. Try AOD instead, as it incorporate's many of the changes made in LooF. :)
     
  16. Rhodes

    Rhodes Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    its true!

    Wont u do a LoF for the patched COL?
     
  17. thadian

    thadian Kami of Awakened Dreamers

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2,288
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    both file links ARE DEad.
     
  18. Gardeminer

    Gardeminer Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    The links are dead! D:
     

Share This Page