1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[MOD] More Naval AI

Discussion in 'More Naval AI Modmod' started by Tholal, Mar 18, 2010.

  1. Amon Ra

    Amon Ra Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013
    Messages:
    37
    just the .bik of intro, and i can try replacing it with a fresh copy. I didnt edited that, just tried to open with VLC, and maybe that changed file enough for corrupting it.

    BTW, i saw that FFH2 Intro runs smooth, but in RifE it runs badly,with low fps, jumping between images with a bad gradient. I know this not RifE subforum, but this issue has been previously solved? maybe replacing bik intro in rife?
     
  2. Broken Hawk

    Broken Hawk Emperor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,227
    Location:
    On a hill
    Not much activity lately. Hope everybody is doing well and enjoying the start of summer.
     
  3. [to_xp]Gekko

    [to_xp]Gekko QCT junkie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    7,942
    Location:
    Seyda Neen, Vvardenfell
    2.5 should be incoming on the end of June , the place should heat up again when it happens ;)
     
  4. jackal1234

    jackal1234 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Location:
    127.0.0.0
  5. UnforcedError

    UnforcedError Settler

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    3,298
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Budapest, Hungary
    Tholal, would it be possible to package FFH2 + MNAI 2.5 as a standalone mod? For Windows 8 users who'd like to switch between vanilla MNAI once in a while?
     
  6. [to_xp]Gekko

    [to_xp]Gekko QCT junkie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    7,942
    Location:
    Seyda Neen, Vvardenfell
    you can just create a copy of the vanilla FFH2 folder before you install, but now I'm curious why you'd want to play vanilla instead :p
     
  7. MagisterCultuum

    MagisterCultuum Great Sage

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    16,102
    Location:
    Kael's head
    Personally I like to keep an unaltered version of vanilla FfH2 not to play it, but to make it easier to use WinMerge to be sure that I am including all of the files I need for my modmod and no more.


    It would be easy for Tholal to make the installer work to copy vanilla FfH2 into a new MNAI folder and then place the changed files in that. This is how the installer for MagisterModmod works.

    Spoiler :
    Code:
    [Setup]
    AppId={{71C68BFF-4F7F-4A95-927D-C32B6A4EDE07}
    AppName=Magister Modmod for FfH2
    AppVerName=Magister June 27 2013
    DefaultDirName={reg:HKLM\SOFTWARE\Firaxis Games\Sid Meier's Civilization 4 - Beyond the Sword,INSTALLDIR}\Mods\Magister Modmod for FfH2\
    OutputBaseFilename=Magister Modmod June 27 2013 Setup
    Compression=lzma
    SolidCompression=yes
    DisableProgramGroupPage=yes
    SetupIconFile=C:\Program Files (x86)\Firaxis Games\Sid Meier's Civilization 4\Beyond the Sword\Mods\Magister Modmod for FfH2 June 27 2013 Changes\govannon.ico
    
    [Types]
    Name: "full"; Description: "Default installation"
    
    [Components]
    Name: "Magister"; Description: "Magister Modmod for FfH2 June 27 2013 Changes"; Types: full; Flags: fixed
    Name: "FfH2"; Description: "Copy Fall from Heaven 2 Files"; Types: full; Flags: fixed
    
    [Languages]
    Name: "english"; MessagesFile: "compiler:Default.isl"
    Name: "french"; MessagesFile: "compiler:Languages\French.isl"
    Name: "german"; MessagesFile: "compiler:Languages\German.isl"
    Name: "italian"; MessagesFile: "compiler:Languages\Italian.isl"
    
    [Tasks]
    Name: "desktopicon"; Description: "{cm:CreateDesktopIcon}"; GroupDescription: "{cm:AdditionalIcons}"; Flags:
    
    [Files]
    
    Source: "{reg:HKLM\SOFTWARE\Firaxis Games\Sid Meier's Civilization 4 - Beyond the Sword,INSTALLDIR}\Mods\Fall from Heaven 2\*"; DestDir: "{app}"; Flags: external recursesubdirs createallsubdirs comparetimestamp; Components: FfH2
    Source: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Firaxis Games\Sid Meier's Civilization 4\Beyond the Sword\Mods\Magister Modmod for FfH2 June 27 2013 Changes\*"; DestDir: "{app}"; Flags: ignoreversion recursesubdirs createallsubdirs; Components: Magister
    ; NOTE: Don't use "Flags: ignoreversion" on any shared system files
    
    [Icons]
    Name: "{userdesktop}\Magister Modmod for FfH2"; Filename: "{reg:HKLM\SOFTWARE\Firaxis Games\Sid Meier's Civilization 4 - Beyond the Sword,INSTALLDIR}\Civ4BeyondSword.exe"; Parameters: "mod=\Magister Modmod for FfH2"; Tasks: desktopicon; IconFilename: "{app}\govannon.ico"
    
    [Run]
    Filename: "{reg:HKLM\SOFTWARE\Firaxis Games\Sid Meier's Civilization 4 - Beyond the Sword,INSTALLDIR}\Civ4BeyondSword.exe"; Parameters: "mod=\Magister Modmod for FfH2"; Description: "{cm:LaunchProgram,Magister Modmod for FfH2}"; Flags: nowait postinstall skipifsilent


    That is using the Inno Install Script Setup Compiler, based on a tutorial by Valkrionn. Tholal currently uses a different install script program, which may work differently.
     
  8. UnforcedError

    UnforcedError Settler

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    3,298
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Budapest, Hungary
    If I make a copy of the vanilla version the old version ceases to function (the game simply doesn't recognize it anymore). So by playing two SGs (one in vanilla and one with MNAI) I basically have to install and re-install all the time. This works out fine but is a bit tiresome.
     
  9. MagisterCultuum

    MagisterCultuum Great Sage

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    16,102
    Location:
    Kael's head
    Do you mean that you have problems if you do not keep a mod under the name Fall from Heaven 2?

    All of the FfH2 modmods require the contents of the Resource folder, and by default they look for those contents in Mods/Fall from Heaven 2/Resource


    You can change this by editing C:\Program Files (x86)\Firaxis Games\Sid Meier's Civilization 4\Beyond the Sword\Mods\MNAI v2.5\Resource\Civ4.thm
    Code:
    // *** Control Bitmap Theme file
    
    // Set the resource 
    [S]resource_path	"Mods/Fall from Heaven 2/Resource";[/S]
    resource_path	"Mods/MNAI/Resource";
    
    // Setup common properties
    [S]include			"Mods/Fall from Heaven 2/Resource/Themes/Civ4/Civ4Theme.thm";[/S]
    include			"Mods/MNAI/Resource/Themes/Civ4/Civ4Theme.thm";
    
    Or are you just saying that saved games won't work with mods of a different name?

    I'm not sure what can be done about that. I know that you can change the mod path of worldbuilder saves, but am less sure about regular saved games.

    When you open a regular saved game in Notepad++, the only part that is at all legible is "Mods\[insert mod name here]\". It seems like you ought to be able to change that part to make it compatible with a renamed mod (provided the mods are similar enough that saves would not be broken for some reason other than the name difference), but my attempts to test that so far have all resulted in Runtime Errors.
     
  10. Folket

    Folket Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3,740
    Location:
    Sweden
    I have had no problems to just rename my folders and renaming them back when I want to change mod.
     
  11. UnforcedError

    UnforcedError Settler

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    3,298
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Budapest, Hungary
    Thanks a lot, I will try to edit the path in the theme file as well. I tried renaming the mod path in a saved game previously but had no luck with that either.
     
  12. stolenrays

    stolenrays Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,061
  13. [to_xp]Gekko

    [to_xp]Gekko QCT junkie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    7,942
    Location:
    Seyda Neen, Vvardenfell
    edit: wrong thread
     

Share This Page