1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Modern World: Present Day mod in progress

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Creation & Customization' started by Bryce3, Nov 17, 2012.

  1. Bryce3

    Bryce3 King of Wessex

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    Messages:
    315
    Location:
    Kingdom of Wessex
    I was just wondering about something. Using the Unique names tag that great people use would it be possible to make it so when you build a tank or infantry it calls it 1st Division or Platoon? I was just thinking, though, wouldn't it pick a random one and if the AI has built the 1st you can't name one the 1st. Is there a way to fix this?
     
  2. Bryce3

    Bryce3 King of Wessex

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    Messages:
    315
    Location:
    Kingdom of Wessex
  3. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    32,974
    Location:
    DE/NL/FR
    Would involve Python.
    BUG has IIRC that feature, but I'm not sure if it's available as stand-alone.
     
  4. Bryce3

    Bryce3 King of Wessex

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    Messages:
    315
    Location:
    Kingdom of Wessex
    I was thinking of using this LH for the President of Angola, José Eduardo dos Santos. However, I don't want the hat so either can someone do it really quickly because, although Iv'e never edited a LH before, hopefully a hat shouldn't be to difficult to delete and replace with some hair.
     
  5. Bryce3

    Bryce3 King of Wessex

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    Messages:
    315
    Location:
    Kingdom of Wessex
    Ok ,for some reason theres an error with the following code. Any ideas what? I can't think of what it is. Everything in the Mod works apart from this 1 civ.
    Code:
    		<CivilizationInfo>
    			<Type>CIVILIZATION_ANGOLA</Type>
    			<Description>Republic of Angola</Description>
    			<ShortDescription>Angola</ShortDescription>
    			<Adjective>Angola</Adjective>
    			<Civilopedia>TXT_KEY_CIV_ANGOLA_PEDIA</Civilopedia>
    			<DefaultPlayerColor>PLAYERCOLOR_RED</DefaultPlayerColor>
    			<ArtDefineTag>ART_DEF_CIVILIZATION_ANGOLA</ArtDefineTag>
    			<ArtStyleType>ARTSTYLE_EUROPEAN</ArtStyleType>
    			<UnitArtStyleType>UNIT_ARTSTYLE_EUROPEAN</UnitArtStyleType>
    			<bPlayable>1</bPlayable>
    			<bAIPlayable>1</bAIPlayable>
    			<Cities>
    				<City>Luanda</City>
    				<City>Cabinda</City>
    				<City>Huambo</City>
    				<City>Lubango</City>
    				<City>Kuito</City>
    				<City>Malanje </City>
    				<City>Lobito</City>
    				<City>Benguela </City>
    				<City>Uíge</City>
    				<City>Namibe </City>
    				<City>Luena</City>
    				<City>Saurimo</City>
    				<City>Soyo</City>
    				<City>Sumbe</City>
    				<City>N'dalatando </City>
    			</Cities>
    			<Buildings>
    				<Building>
    					<BuildingClassType>BUILDINGCLASS_CUSTOM_HOUSE</BuildingClassType>
    					<BuildingType>BUILDING_PORTUGAL_FEITORIA</BuildingType>
    				</Building>
    			</Buildings>
    			<Units/>
    			<FreeUnitClasses>
    				<FreeUnitClass>
    					<UnitClassType>UNITCLASS_SETTLER</UnitClassType>
    					<iFreeUnits>1</iFreeUnits>
    				</FreeUnitClass>
    			</FreeUnitClasses>
    			<FreeBuildingClasses>
    				<FreeBuildingClass>
    					<BuildingClassType>BUILDINGCLASS_PALACE</BuildingClassType>
    					<bFreeBuildingClass>1</bFreeBuildingClass>
    				</FreeBuildingClass>
    			</FreeBuildingClasses>
    			<FreeTechs>
    				<FreeTech>
    					<TechType>TECH_FISHING</TechType>
    					<bFreeTech>1</bFreeTech>
    				</FreeTech>
    				<FreeTech>
    					<TechType>TECH_MINING</TechType>
    					<bFreeTech>1</bFreeTech>
    				</FreeTech>
    			</FreeTechs>
    			<DisableTechs/>
    			<InitialCivics>
    				<CivicType>CIVIC_DESPOTISM</CivicType>
    				<CivicType>CIVIC_BARBARISM</CivicType>
    				<CivicType>CIVIC_TRIBALISM</CivicType>
    				<CivicType>CIVIC_DECENTRALIZATION</CivicType>
    				<CivicType>CIVIC_PAGANISM</CivicType>
    			</InitialCivics>
    			<Leaders>
    				<Leader>
    					<LeaderName>LEADER_JOSE</LeaderName>
    					<bLeaderAvailability>1</bLeaderAvailability>
    				</Leader>
    			</Leaders>
    			<DerivativeCiv>NONE</DerivativeCiv>
    			<CivilizationSelectionSound>AS3D_PORTUGAL_SELECT</CivilizationSelectionSound>
    			<CivilizationActionSound>AS3D_PORTUGAL_ORDER</CivilizationActionSound>
    		</CivilizationInfo>
     
  6. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    32,974
    Location:
    DE/NL/FR
    What exactly does not work? What happens when you try the civ?
     
  7. Bryce3

    Bryce3 King of Wessex

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    Messages:
    315
    Location:
    Kingdom of Wessex
  8. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    32,974
    Location:
    DE/NL/FR
    There must be a problem with the flag of Angola. Check again the entry in ArtDefines_Civilizations, and if you put the right entry in the CivilizationInfos.xml.
     
  9. Bryce3

    Bryce3 King of Wessex

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    Messages:
    315
    Location:
    Kingdom of Wessex
    OK, I'll see. If not i'll just remake the civ.
    Even though the mod focuses on the present day I'm thinking of doing a couple of scenarios from the Cold War (Fall of Germany+)
     
  10. Bryce3

    Bryce3 King of Wessex

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    Messages:
    315
    Location:
    Kingdom of Wessex
  11. Bryce3

    Bryce3 King of Wessex

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    Messages:
    315
    Location:
    Kingdom of Wessex
  12. Bryce3

    Bryce3 King of Wessex

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    Messages:
    315
    Location:
    Kingdom of Wessex
  13. Bryce3

    Bryce3 King of Wessex

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    Messages:
    315
    Location:
    Kingdom of Wessex
    I haven't been able to work on this mod for several days as when it loaded it stopped responding. However, there was just one tiny error:
    Code:
    		<CivilizationArtInfo>
    			<Type>ART_DEF_CIVILIZATION_ANGOLA</Type>
    			<Button>,Art/Interface/Buttons/Civilizations/Angolafbutton.dds</Button>
    			<Path>Art/Interface/TeamColor/Angolaflag.dds</Path>
    			<bWhiteFlag>1</bWhiteFlag>
    		</CivilizationArtInfo>[B]Argentine[/B]
    		<CivilizationArtInfo>
    			<Type>ART_DEF_CIVILIZATION_ANTIGUA</Type>
    			<Button>,Art/Interface/Buttons/Civilizations/Antiguafbutton.dds</Button>
    			<Path>Art/Interface/TeamColor/Antiguaflag.dds</Path>
    			<bWhiteFlag>1</bWhiteFlag>
    		</CivilizationArtInfo>
    		<CivilizationArtInfo>
    			<Type>ART_DEF_CIVILIZATION_ARGENTINA</Type>
    			<Button>,Art/Interface/Buttons/Civilizations/Argentinefbutton.dds</Button>
    			<Path>Art/Interface/TeamColor/Argentineflag.dds</Path>
    			<bWhiteFlag>1</bWhiteFlag>
    		</CivilizationArtInfo>
    		<CivilizationArtInfo>
    			<Type>ART_DEF_CIVILIZATION_ARABIA</Type>
    			<Button>,Art/Interface/Buttons/Civilizations/Arabia.dds,Art/Interface/Buttons/Civics_Civilizations_Religions_Atlas.dds,2,5</Button>
    			<Path>Art/Interface/TeamColor/FlagDECAL_Arabic.dds</Path>
    			<bWhiteFlag>0</bWhiteFlag>
    		</CivilizationArtInfo>
    :rolleyes:
     
  14. TrentonC

    TrentonC Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Messages:
    176
    Wouldn't those commas by the button directories causes the game to crash upon selecting them?
     
  15. Bryce3

    Bryce3 King of Wessex

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    Messages:
    315
    Location:
    Kingdom of Wessex
  16. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    32,974
    Location:
    DE/NL/FR
    Only use commas when there are 2 buttons.
    If there's only 1 button and you put a comma in front of it, then the game will crash.
     
  17. Bryce3

    Bryce3 King of Wessex

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    Messages:
    315
    Location:
    Kingdom of Wessex
  18. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    32,974
    Location:
    DE/NL/FR
    But don't do it, definitely!

    2 buttons means like in the entry for Arabia:
    PHP:
    <Button>,Art/Interface/Buttons/Civilizations/Arabia.dds,Art/Interface/Buttons/Civics_Civilizations_Religions_Atlas.dds,2,5</Button>
     
  19. The_guy

    The_guy Elephantary School.

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Location:
    Holland.
    Always wondered, how are there these two buttons in the game? Are they overlapped, or something else?
     
  20. Bryce3

    Bryce3 King of Wessex

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    Messages:
    315
    Location:
    Kingdom of Wessex
    No idea...


    I was just thinking. There is going to be a lot of leaders so I was thinking I could use the pope KFM from the BTS Charlemagne scenario. It has pleased and angry still images instead of just one. I'll take screen shots of the animated LH then add it.
     

Share This Page