[BTS] My Game of Thrones Mod

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Creation & Customization' started by civofthedead1979, May 14, 2017.

  1. civofthedead1979

    civofthedead1979 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 11, 2017
    Messages:
    36
    Gender:
    Male

    ignore, just a careless xml mistake from me when i was copy and pasting the changes. just tested it, works exactly how i wanted it to work, even brings terrain into play. is there anyway you know to take the explosion animation out though?
     
  2. topsecret

    topsecret Believer Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5,691
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    At the Foot of the Cross
    I don't know how that works. It is probably coded into the DLL.
     
  3. civofthedead1979

    civofthedead1979 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 11, 2017
    Messages:
    36
    Gender:
    Male
    Link to video update of Mod



    cant be arsed with all the print screening and photoshop editing
     
    Castor_Troy and Alexej like this.
  4. Alexej

    Alexej Prince

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    437
    Looks good so far
     
  5. Castor_Troy

    Castor_Troy Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    145
    Location:
    Romania
    I like the look of it, will be posting to get an alert when it comes out. Intrested in a few units also for my medieval mod :D
     
  6. civofthedead1979

    civofthedead1979 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 11, 2017
    Messages:
    36
    Gender:
    Male
    I haven't posted in a long time, but still working on the mod on and off, here's an update on some new features.
    Current plan is to create the individual seats of each house, and set them as their unique building. so far i have created The twins, the seat of House Frey.
    I have also created The Wall, where you can only pass through where castle black is.

    https://drive.google.com/file/d/1hGykYZQeIfhl4rRYXngTtbnA4XIE5APM/view?usp=sharing

    https://drive.google.com/file/d/1VcWUcxrRArzfgjQo9QfLNVHOC_ucJ1rd/view?usp=sharing

    ******update reskinned the wall see below

    https://drive.google.com/open?id=1kLo5T2dLk2S0gLhr18pX5OKPuMz213dJ
     
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2019
    Ballazic and Alexej like this.
  7. civofthedead1979

    civofthedead1979 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 11, 2017
    Messages:
    36
    Gender:
    Male
  8. civofthedead1979

    civofthedead1979 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 11, 2017
    Messages:
    36
    Gender:
    Male
  9. Ballazic

    Ballazic King

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Messages:
    631
    Location:
    Canada
    Hey is there any way I can help with this project?
     
  10. civofthedead1979

    civofthedead1979 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 11, 2017
    Messages:
    36
    Gender:
    Male
    I am trying to figure out why the game keeps crashing when i try and enter world builder, i'm no good with understanding what is wrong. Are you any good it that kind of thing?
     
  11. merijn_v1

    merijn_v1 Black Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    5,908
    Location:
    The city of the original vlaai
    I had also a problem where the game crashed when I entered the WB very recently. When you enter the WB, all tiles will be revealed and the game will render all tiles. It is likely that the crashed is caused because the game couldn't render certain elements on the map. This explains why it doesn't crash before you entered the WB, because the bugged thing didn't have to be rendered yet.

    For me, it was an error in ArtDefinesBonus.xml, I had a bonus which path to the kfm file was wrong.

    The problem can also occur in basically all elements visible on the map. (units, improvements, bonus etc.) You should check every preplaced unit, bonus, improvement etc. if that causes the crash. The easiest way is to start from an empty world and placed every unit, bonus, improvent etc. until it crashes. This is the thing you have to investigate.
     
  12. Ballazic

    Ballazic King

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Messages:
    631
    Location:
    Canada
    This all looks so good.

    Sorry for not getting back to you. To answer your question, you definitely have a lot more expertise than I do. I just cant wait until you release an alpha for this. I reiterate your models look really good. I could see myself helping you either with testing for bugs, or text like civilpedia, civ/leader name stuff.
     
  13. civofthedead1979

    civofthedead1979 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 11, 2017
    Messages:
    36
    Gender:
    Male
    im working on castle models right now, hope to put up an update soon
     
    Alexej likes this.
  14. civofthedead1979

    civofthedead1979 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 11, 2017
    Messages:
    36
    Gender:
    Male
    i haven't posted a lot lately, but still working on the mod. see link below for video update. I have created most of the custom castles for the playable houses, but still some tweaking to add detail. The map has changed a bit, i have decided to create a lot more choke points by turning rivers into ocean plots.

     
    Alexej and vincentz like this.
  15. Zeta Nexus

    Zeta Nexus Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    4,460
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    In a constant brainstorm...
    I hate Game of Thrones very much... But your work looks pretty good :thumbsup:
    I like it that you gave the map a HoMM3 feeling. :)
     
  16. civofthedead1979

    civofthedead1979 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 11, 2017
    Messages:
    36
    Gender:
    Male
    quick mod update, showcasing some of the updates of the Castle/seats of the playable houses

     
    tantanmen and Alexej like this.
  17. Alexej

    Alexej Prince

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    437
    This looks totally incredible! Hats down
     
  18. civofthedead1979

    civofthedead1979 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 11, 2017
    Messages:
    36
    Gender:
    Male
  19. tantanmen

    tantanmen Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2019
    Messages:
    218
    Sweee-eet! Fantastic artwork. This more than makes up for Season 8. Let the healing begin.

    Do you think you'll publish your unit art ahead of the mod release? Thanks civofthedead :thumbsup:
     
  20. civofthedead1979

    civofthedead1979 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 11, 2017
    Messages:
    36
    Gender:
    Male

    Thanks, working on it for about 3 years on and off in my spare time. I really need to sort through and organise the NIF and DDS files first, i have no issue with uploading the unit art, most of it is from downloaded units already on here re-textured
     

Share This Page