1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Negative Science Requirements in Atomic Era?

Discussion in 'Community Patch Project' started by Wraithcaller, Oct 11, 2016.

  1. Wraithcaller

    Wraithcaller Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Alabama
    Just wondering if anyone else has come across an issue with huge/marathon games in which the second half of the atomic era techs and beyond all require a negative amount of science to complete. This makes you research all those techs almost instantly (one per turn actually) and kind of ruins the late game for me. If anyone has heard of this or maybe knows a solution that would be great. I am using the most recent Vox Populi/Community Patch Project with the Continents Plus map and no other mods. I have a screen shot of the tech tree showing one turn research time for all those techs

    Spoiler Screenshot of Tech Tree w/ Possible Bug :
    upload_2016-10-11_7-8-41.png


    Sorry about the image - not sure how to get the spoiler function to work right.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Enginseer

    Enginseer Salientia of the Community Patch Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    3,215
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Somewhere in California
    Did you multiply your tech cost by a million?
     
  3. Gazebo

    Gazebo Lord of the Community Patch

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    17,493
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Little Rock
    Guessing that's a mod conflict.
     
  4. Palance

    Palance Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    100
    I've seen the same thing happen while playing a Marathon game. It was also a game with no other mods like Wraithcaller.
     
  5. Wraithcaller

    Wraithcaller Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Alabama
    I think I may have a possible theory on the cause. I believe it is a mathematical error when calculating the science requirement after founding/capturing cities. On a new game I have been keeping watch and noticed that as I get farther into the game and begin to have a large number of cities then the negative science begins to creep into the future era techs starting with the last one. As more cities came into my empire the negative science bug slowly began tracking leftward on the tech tree. The normal techs at the shift point show a requirement of approximately 208,000 science and the affected ones right next those show -208,000. Right now, each new city is supposed to add an additional 6% to the requirements. Anyone have any thoughts on this?
     
  6. danymatrix

    danymatrix Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2012
    Messages:
    35
    Hi! You are doing a great job on this mod.
    By the way, I take the opportunity to ask you:
    # 1 In which file can I reduce the amount of science awarded by a great scientist during the game? given that when using them to discover technoilogies they usually give me the equivalent of approximately 2 technologies, which is a great advantage for me.
    # 2 Is it possible to solve the problem that occurs when a technology exceeds the cost of 211,000 by turning it into a negative number? In that case it takes only 1 turn to discover this technology.
    I don't want to have to go down 5% for each new city or marathon multiplier (UPDATE GameSpeeds SET ResearchPercent = 300 WHERE Type = 'GAMESPEED_MARATHON';).
    Thkz
     
  7. HungryForFood

    HungryForFood Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Messages:
    327
    Location:
    Malaysia
    What is the maximum number an int type can store in Civ5's DLL? I'm thinking it is related to that, based on how the comments here are talking about the tech costs wrapping around from ~210,000 to ~-210,000.

    In fact, I have had it happen to me before when playing marathon and very large maps (ie ynaemp). Extreme settings sure, but why not fix it if it is easy enough?

    Possible to go for long long instead?
     
    vyyt likes this.
  8. Ziad

    Ziad Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1,786
    Location:
    Lebanon
    Int overflow.

    Cause of bugs since Ghandi nukes.
     
    TranceBlossom and vyyt like this.
  9. HeathcliffWarriors

    HeathcliffWarriors Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2017
    Messages:
    521
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canada
  10. danymatrix

    danymatrix Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2012
    Messages:
    35
    Hi. Thanks for this new version. I take the opportunity to consult about an improvement they had recently made where technology became negative, exceeding the cost of 211,000 and costing only 1 shift to discover it. Now I see that number no longer becomes negative but it still costs 1 turn to discover that technology that exceeded the value of 211,000. Attachment catch in turn 1. Thanks again.
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page