1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

New pitboss

Discussion in 'Civ4 - PitBoss Games' started by 2metraninja, May 16, 2014.

  1. Elkad

    Elkad Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,038
    I'm getting the emails just fine. My spamblocker got the first one, but I whitelisted it and all is well.

    Try adding WebStats@civstats.com to your allowed list?

    And the reason the game timer is set for 23 hours is because it runs slow, stops whenever someone is logging in, etc. A 23hour setting works out closer to 25 hours in actuality.
     
  2. Luthor_Saxburg

    Luthor_Saxburg Vassal of Civilization

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,417
    I hadn't but did not receive any email from them anyhow. I've now added. Let's see if it changes.

    Meanwhile... my first contact! Hello Rome! :hatsoff:
     
  3. Friendly Fire

    Friendly Fire Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    65
    I'm probably being very blonde here but how the hell can you get Gmail to remove a sender from the spam list?
     
  4. Caledorn

    Caledorn Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,884
    Location:
    Arendal, Norway
    Add the email address to your contact list. :)
     
  5. Amask

    Amask Oogala Boogala

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    763
    Location:
    Toronto
    If anyone needs a sub, temporary or permanent, give me a shout.
     
  6. 2metraninja

    2metraninja Defender of Nabaxica

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,663
    Location:
    Plovdiv, BG
    Hey-hey, a veteran is back to civ. Glad to see you around.

    Because we got already 4 players who did not made it to this game, maybe if we get few more, we can think of starting a new pitboss alongside with this one?
     
  7. Caledorn

    Caledorn Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,884
    Location:
    Arendal, Norway
    Thunderstorm here, so game is down. I had the luxury of enough time to save though.
     
  8. Caledorn

    Caledorn Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,884
    Location:
    Arendal, Norway
    Game back up.
     
  9. sinimusta

    sinimusta el capitano

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,038
    Location:
    Finland
    Paused the game with 7 minutes left for Luthor to be able to move. Maybe he thought game is still down?

    2metra, do you think it's better to let the turn just roll to keep the game moving or pause for someone to let them move before the turn rolls?
     
  10. Imp. Knoedel

    Imp. Knoedel Properly Paranoid Proletarian

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    8,712
    Location:
    The cooler Germany
    If I had known you guys would do that I wouldn't queue everything ten turns in advance. :eek:
     
  11. Friendly Fire

    Friendly Fire Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    65
    Shouldn't be any holds on the clock at this stage simply for not playing within 24hrs.

    Really should never be any hold on the clock at all except if requested by a player to deal with some form of problem.

    Even when there is war the most you can do is extend the clock rather than make it infinite.
     
  12. Luthor_Saxburg

    Luthor_Saxburg Vassal of Civilization

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,417
    Thanks but... how do you unpause it? :confused:
     
  13. ReallyEvilMuff

    ReallyEvilMuff King

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Messages:
    716
    The pause button on your keyboard! Could it be anymore obvious! Lol

    FF I believe the hold was simply because of the thunderstorm and the game being down for a while. Whilst I agree that we generally shouldn't stop the turn presently, I think this circumstance is exceptional enough to warrant it no?
     
  14. Luthor_Saxburg

    Luthor_Saxburg Vassal of Civilization

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,417
    What pause button on the keyboard???? :crazyeye:

    ah... got it! Never knew it existed! :blush:
     
  15. ReallyEvilMuff

    ReallyEvilMuff King

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Messages:
    716
    Depends. On a normal PC it is near the print screen button. On a laptop it may require a push of a function button to access it, near where your print screen button is
     
  16. Imp. Knoedel

    Imp. Knoedel Properly Paranoid Proletarian

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    8,712
    Location:
    The cooler Germany
     
  17. Luthor_Saxburg

    Luthor_Saxburg Vassal of Civilization

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,417
    Got it! Learned it! Unpaused it! Played it! Thanks! :)

    It was more hidden than the regular one (showed by Knoedel) but it's there!!!!
     
  18. Friendly Fire

    Friendly Fire Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    65
    Yep, you're right it is reasonable.
     
  19. 2metraninja

    2metraninja Defender of Nabaxica

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,663
    Location:
    Plovdiv, BG
    So early in the game, I think we must have special request by a player notifying us he cant play his turn in time and asking for a pause to actually pause. I agree though that after the game being down it is absolutely fine to have pause for the players to know the game is up and to play their turns if they missed their normal window for play (i.e. evenings their time after work, or whatever).
     
  20. 2metraninja

    2metraninja Defender of Nabaxica

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,663
    Location:
    Plovdiv, BG
    As a general guideline about pauses and time of playing and other time-related out of game issues, I can recommend a simple way to think about it - dont do to others things which you would not love being done to you. The game will be way more enjoying and fulfilling if the general friendship spirit is kept. (Killing someone in-game is obviously different story :) )
     

Share This Page