1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

New Unit: Crossbowmen

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Unit Graphics' started by GenMarshall, Aug 16, 2002.

  1. GenMarshall

    GenMarshall Ghost Agent

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    42,735
    Location:
    Versailles City, Vekta, United Terran Systems
    Its finaly finished :). The crossbowmen is ready to download. It also comes with its own Single portrat for use in the Units_32.pcx file. Enjoy the unit :). Here is the first part.
     
  2. GenMarshall

    GenMarshall Ghost Agent

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    42,735
    Location:
    Versailles City, Vekta, United Terran Systems
    Here are the required sounds for use with the crossbowmen unit
     
  3. GenMarshall

    GenMarshall Ghost Agent

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    42,735
    Location:
    Versailles City, Vekta, United Terran Systems
    ...And must not forget to post a preview ;).
     
  4. sealman

    sealman Hater of Babylonians

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Messages:
    3,326
    Location:
    Manassas, VA
  5. zulu9812

    zulu9812 The Newbie Nightmare

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    6,389
    Location:
    Athens of the North
  6. GenMarshall

    GenMarshall Ghost Agent

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    42,735
    Location:
    Versailles City, Vekta, United Terran Systems
    No. I just used sounds from the Bowmen and the Swordsmen. I Could extract the sound for it, but I would be getting lost in the sound archives :crazyeye: since the place were I got the AoK MPS just had a document on what the Graphics number is. Sadly :( they did not have the samething for the sounds.
     
  7. zulu9812

    zulu9812 The Newbie Nightmare

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    6,389
    Location:
    Athens of the North
    yeah - extracting star wars sounds with DRS Viewer is a pain as well
     
  8. Chris85

    Chris85 Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Messages:
    1,967
    Location:
    Omaha, Nebraska
    I'd hate to stray away from Dark Sheer's Crossbowman, but this one looks way better. :goodjob:
     
  9. kemal69

    kemal69 Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    510
    Location:
    Young, Australia
    Perhaps you could use them both as flavour units. Thats what I am going to do. I also use Jimmyh's Chu-Ko-nu unit from AoK as a flavour unit. So this will be fantastic.

    :goodjob:
     
  10. Jimmyh

    Jimmyh Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2001
    Messages:
    452
    Location:
    Sheffield
    How many days of your life did you spend doing this unit?

    I just spent 2 mins!


    Any way good job on the unit.:goodjob:
     
  11. kemal69

    kemal69 Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    510
    Location:
    Young, Australia
    Skite! ;)

    Just kidding. You both do excellent work!

    [dance]
     
  12. wunder

    wunder Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    44
    Civ specific colours?
     
  13. Tilarium

    Tilarium Grand Lord

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2002
    Messages:
    200
    Location:
    Terra
    I must not be understanding everything. You said you included a single portrait for use with Units_32.pcx but I didn't find it in the zip. All I got was the .ini and 5 .flc files.

    I've always thought that the longbowman should have been a england unique unit (in my custom games some civs have up to 3 unique units) and the longbowman should be replaced with a crossbowman for everyone else but without that protrait I have to had this to the growing list of DLed units I can't use without haveing to resort to using a stock icon.

    Kyle
     
  14. Jewell Man

    Jewell Man Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2002
    Messages:
    53
    Location:
    Edmonton
    If you're not afraid to get your hands a little dirty use FLICster (free - should be able to find in the utilities section) to export one of the flics to a pcx storyboard. Then use a graphics editor to create a unit32.pcx.

    A popular choice here seems to be Paint Shop Pro, but personally I prefer "GIMP" (also free, look for it on Tucows) - it scales the images better than the chop-job that PSP does. Anyway...Select one of the images, cut it out by trying to get as much of the image in as small a box as you can. Then scale it so that the largest dimension shrinks to 32 pixels. The other dimension will be as big or smaller. Not a problem. Next paste it into an empty box of your units_32.pcx and presto! You're done!

    First couple might take a while, but once you get the technique down you should be able to whip-em-out as fast as you can download them.

    BTW: Not sure if you're aware of this, but you're not constrained to the small number of additional units that the original units_32.pcx has room for. You can cut-and-paste as many additional empty pink rows as you need. Well... I dunno... maybe there's a limit but I haven't reached it yet.
     
  15. zulu9812

    zulu9812 The Newbie Nightmare

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    6,389
    Location:
    Athens of the North
  16. thamis

    thamis King of Kish

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Messages:
    1,576
    Is this unit taken from AoK?
     
  17. zulu9812

    zulu9812 The Newbie Nightmare

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    6,389
    Location:
    Athens of the North
  18. Tweedledum

    Tweedledum Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    456
    Location:
    London, UK
    OK. Maybe I'm just exceptionally stupid, but how the hell do you
    re-scale something with GIMP? I can't get it to work, I've spent ages trying, and its DRIVING ME UP THE FREAKING WALL !!! :mad: :mad:
     
  19. Jewell Man

    Jewell Man Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2002
    Messages:
    53
    Location:
    Edmonton
    :)
    Don't be hard on yourself. I'm sure you're not stupid.

    I don't have Gimp in front of me right now but if I recall the UI for scaling is a little confusing. The initial values it displays in the dimensions box aren't the actual dimension of the current image but rather the results of the previous scale job. Confused me at first too.

    You should be able to determine visually which dimension is the longest - set that one to 32 and leave the other alone (don't worry, it will still scale correctly despite what you may see in the form). Make sure you're preserving the aspect ratio.

    Keep in mind, it's free software written by technocrats so its bound not to be user-friendly. :crazyeye: That said, I haven't found anything better or as feature-complere for "free".

    Hope that helps.
     
  20. Jewell Man

    Jewell Man Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2002
    Messages:
    53
    Location:
    Edmonton
    Should also mention that other forum members, such as zulu9812, have very generously provided units_32.pcx files with just about all the units on these forums provided. You could always use one of these if making your own is getting you down.

    To be honest, I haven't used any myself and I'm not sure how up-to-date they're kept, but most of the creators here are decent fellows and I'm sure they wouldn't mind updating it for you if you sent them a nice polite request. ;)

    Zulu9812 posted a message above and as he says, check his sig for one of these files.
     

Share This Page