1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

No sound during diplomacy.

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Technical Support' started by Chukchi Husky, May 19, 2017.

  1. Nials

    Nials Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    593
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Denmark
    Thanks! I'll be sure to give that a try.

    Update: That worked perfectly :goodjob:
     
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2018
  2. lethaltoto

    lethaltoto Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    56
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Hi,

    Running Windows 10 on my pc and Windows 8 on a laptop, I also had the diplo-sound problem on both

    I tried to follow the solution given in this post, but then I did have no sound at all in the game :sad:
    I also modified the registry as explain there: http://www.indirectsound.com/registryIssues.html
    Same result :(

    I fixed it by first installing a directX update that can be found here:
    https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/confirmation.aspx?id=8109

    Please note that:

    1 - during the update setup, the folder requested is only a temporary folder where the update will extract files. You then have to browse manually to this folder to launch the setup
    2 - even after the update, you still have to setup the 2 files indicated in this post in the conquests folder

    Hope that it can help :)
     
    Bungus and Nathiri like this.
  3. Samaki Epps

    Samaki Epps Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Any other ideas guys? I have my files in the conquest folder. I also updated DirectX. I never lost my other music, just don't have diplomacy music. Its Win 10
     
  4. Theov

    Theov Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2,222
    Location:
    Taiwan
    this worked for me - I installed both things and then it worked on my win10 laptop.
    Thankyous!
     
  5. Bungus

    Bungus Archont of Cootertown

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,165
    Gold. Worked for me, too.
     
  6. lethaltoto

    lethaltoto Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    56
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Great, I'm happy it helped you both :)
     
  7. AnthonyBoscia

    AnthonyBoscia Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,610
    Thanks very much for posting this fix, Nathiri. I thought it was my brain finally cracking.
     
    Nathiri likes this.

Share This Page