1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Noob in need of help

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Rhye's and Fall of Civilization' started by Thomas Redbeard, Feb 9, 2015.

  1. Thomas Redbeard

    Thomas Redbeard Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Hi guys,

    Right, to set the scene. I am a noob, I dont know any technical terms for computers, files, abbreviations, pc slang etc, and i've never posted on a forum before.

    So basically, i've just installed Civ 4 on my laptop, i used to play it years ago but have only just found it again. I went on Rhys and fall, and its all as it should be, the only thing is, civ names dont change anymore when their civics or religion change. The city names do change, but a civs actual name does not. For example, I remember seeing the Islamic Malinese Empire, or the Dominion of mexico, now, no matter what their religion, civics or vassal status, all civs are just called 'so and so' Empire. The game runs fine, and its purely aesthetics, but it really bugs me that its not right. How do I sort it out? Literally any help is appreciated guys
    Be gentle
     
  2. ales_

    ales_ Heir

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,540
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Minsk, Bielaruś
    If you haven't downloaded the mod, you're still running an old version of the mod. Civs have long names but they are displayed only when you're speaking with the leader of that civ, if I'm not mistaken.
     
  3. Thomas Redbeard

    Thomas Redbeard Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    No i havent downloaded it, it was just in scenarios when i installed it. Do i need to download an update or soemthing? And yeah, when Im speaking to them their name is at the top of the chat, above their little video thing, but it is always still so and so empire
     
  4. ales_

    ales_ Heir

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,540
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Minsk, Bielaruś
    If you want, you may download the last version, although you can also stick with your current one.
     
  5. Thomas Redbeard

    Thomas Redbeard Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Ok thanks, how do I go about downloading the latest version? Where from, and once downloaded, what do I do then?

    Moderator Action: Welcome to CivFanatics. Moved this thread to the main Rhye's and Fall of Civilization forum.
     
  6. ales_

    ales_ Heir

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,540
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Minsk, Bielaruś
  7. Thomas Redbeard

    Thomas Redbeard Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Can anyone help? I dont know how to extract or anything like that, literally need a dumbies guide on how to get civ names to change based on civics
     
  8. El Bogus

    El Bogus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    369
    Location:
    Leipzig, Germany
    Download it.
    Then go into your Civ4-folder, open Beyond The Sword, open Mods (C:\where you installed it\Firaxis Games\Sid Meier's Civilization 4\Beyond the Sword\Mods).
    Rename the folder "Rhye's and Fall of Civilization" into "Rhye's and Fall of Civilization 1.181" or delete it.
    Unzip your download into the "Mods" folder.
    That's it!

    Edit: Oh, and welcome to the forum! :wavey:
     
  9. Thomas Redbeard

    Thomas Redbeard Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    can you explain that in the most simple of terms? as in, download it from where? whats unzip? literally, i have no idea so instruct me like a child haha
     
  10. TheNoob

    TheNoob Dank Memes

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2013
    Messages:
    2,876
    Location:
    Alpena, Michigan
    On the contrary I, Noob, do not need help.

    Haha, otherwise to unzip something you can use programs like WinRAR or 7zip (I use WinRAR). Download WinRAR, and go to where Rhye's and Fall of Civilization is (presumably in Downloads) in WinRAR, click unzip, and direct it to where El Bogus said.
     

Share This Page