Opening Moves Question

gmaharriet

Ancient Crone
I've realized lately that I've become sorta "stuck" playing at Monarch for a long time, in spite of some SG training games and lots of other games played, so I decided to go back and re-read articles in the War Academy for the first time in a very very long time, including "The Great Leap" by Ision.

Anyway, I noticed in Cracker's "Opening Moves" article that he shows in his grid of power tiles "Bonus grass with cattle" and "Bonus grass with wheat"...two of the most powerful tiles. Ya know, I don't think I've ever seen a bonus grass under either cattle or wheat. Am I missing something?

I first read that article wayyyyy back when I was a newbie and just barely understood the concepts. A lot of it is far more meaningful to me now in the re-reading, but bonus grasses combined with other bonuses is jumping out at me now as confusing. I'm hoping someone can please help me out.

Here's a link to the page with the chart on it. http://www.civfanatics.com/civ3/strategy/cracker/civ3_starts/opening_plays.htm#terrain_basics

good question!
i don't remember seeing any of those two... add to those bg+wine
i just went through few savegames and didn't find any such tiles...

I believe that you will never get a BG with another resource on it from the random number generator.

It can happen for hand made maps, however.

I'm pretty sure I've run into some wheat on bonus grassland. Then again I've primarily been playing the Conquest Scenarios lately. And those would definitely be premade maps.

But I *THINK* I've encountered some in a randomly generated regular game map. Not very often though. And I could of course be wrong.

Thanks, guys! I guess they're either too rare to worry about, or maybe they would stick out like a sore thumb if I did come across them. :D

I remember playing in a GOTM way back in time where a cow was on a BG and I didn't realise for quite a while. Maybe I'm just not very good at spotting sore thumbs.