1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Patch 1.1 CTD

Discussion in 'Civ4 - World War II 1939 Mod' started by asioasioasio, Mar 20, 2007.

  1. asioasioasio

    asioasioasio Fallout Scrubber

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3,058
    Location:
    Poland, EU
    OK when you'll finish fixing it (or not ;)) send me what you've made (put on ftp) - i'll try to finish the other files today @ home :)
     
  2. JungleIII

    JungleIII Master

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    368
    Location:
    Childers, Queensland - Australia
    I'm such a novice at this... Not really understanding xml.

    However, I used the 01 windows NT command program, and yes... it converts with "code" to all the numbers you mention, i.e. &#225, etc. However, they were already like that. So, I decoded... and it doesn't work in PSPad. So I reencoded back to the numbers as you requested. I use PSPad to make sure it works again. However - CIV4GameTextInfos_Warlords_WW2_Cities.xml file does not convert properly. Maybe have a look at that and see why??? All the others converted back and forth just fine.

    Let me know if having the numbers is fine, or if I should convert to regular letters...
     
  3. asioasioasio

    asioasioasio Fallout Scrubber

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3,058
    Location:
    Poland, EU
    about the Cities.xml - i had the same problem with last file in filelist.txt when i first time used this program

    make sure you hit <enter> in the filelist.txt at the end of all the files
    so at the end of line CIV4GameTextInfos_Warlords_WW2_Cities.xml hit <enter>
     
  4. JungleIII

    JungleIII Master

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    368
    Location:
    Childers, Queensland - Australia
    O.K... that's weird. But, it works now with putting the cursor on the next line <Enter>...

    So... if these are all encoded correctly, then they are NOT the problem correct?
     
  5. asioasioasio

    asioasioasio Fallout Scrubber

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3,058
    Location:
    Poland, EU
    yes -> all changed to numbers are correct (it's how firaxis makes)
    and all not changed to numbers causing troubles.

    I send pm to the creator of this program - maybe he could expand this program not only change polish letters but all west and central european letters. if he would do that it would ease the job with cleaning civilopedia.
     
  6. JungleIII

    JungleIII Master

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    368
    Location:
    Childers, Queensland - Australia
    O.K.... they all work in PSPad, so I guess they are fine. I don't think I changed anything really - they all still look the same ...I think...???:confused:
     
  7. asioasioasio

    asioasioasio Fallout Scrubber

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3,058
    Location:
    Poland, EU
  8. JungleIII

    JungleIII Master

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    368
    Location:
    Childers, Queensland - Australia
    Sorry, I don't understand what you need? They are already converted to numbers like shown in the html-charset.html page. They work in PSPad fine. I have been checking the other files, i.e. diplomacy, etc... and I am half way through list - all SEEM to have the correct CharacterSet Numbers...

    If they have the correct numbers and open in PSPad, they should be alright and no further changes required???
     
  9. asioasioasio

    asioasioasio Fallout Scrubber

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3,058
    Location:
    Poland, EU
    yes exactly :)


    I found this one bug to let the example what we're looking for:
    open CIV4GameTextInfos_Warlords_WW2_Great_People.xml

    Code:
            <TEXT>
                <Tag>TXT_KEY_GREAT_PERSON_PAUL_HERMANN_MULLER</Tag>
                <English>Paul Hermann M&#252;ller</English>
                <French>Paul Hermann M&#252;ller</French>
                <German>Paul Hermann M&#252;ller</German>
                <Italian>Paul Hermann M&#252;ller</Italian>
                <Spanish>Paul Hermann M&#252;ller</Spanish>
            </TEXT>
    This letters "&#252;" shoul be changed to & # 252; (without spaces) or mark it just as letter "u"
     
  10. JungleIII

    JungleIII Master

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    368
    Location:
    Childers, Queensland - Australia
    Just because they open in PSPad doesn't mean they work do they???

    I see some problems in the Tupolew TB-3 description in the UnitsPedia and conversions that didn't convert... Have a look. niezwyk&#179;ych samolot&#243;w IT SHOULD BE: niezwyk & #244;ych samolot&#243 ...So a conversion was not done on the UnitsPedia page...
    HOW will we KNOW we haven't missed one character somewhere??? If PSPad still allows unauthorized characters and it still opens the page, is there another that will error the page out???
     
  11. asioasioasio

    asioasioasio Fallout Scrubber

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3,058
    Location:
    Poland, EU
    yup it's one of the bugs - it's why i want to turn off civilopedia until next patch - it would be like looking needle in the haystack
    so if you want you may check all files except that have in the end: Pedia.xml (in Pedia.xml - i put civilopedia)
     
  12. asioasioasio

    asioasioasio Fallout Scrubber

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3,058
    Location:
    Poland, EU
    and yes you're right niezwyk & #244;ych samolot & # 243;w (without spaces)
     
  13. JungleIII

    JungleIII Master

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    368
    Location:
    Childers, Queensland - Australia
    Well... I've converted the UnitsPedia page now also, along with Diplomacy page besides the first 5 you gave me. HOW will I know I have not missed one symbol???
     
  14. asioasioasio

    asioasioasio Fallout Scrubber

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3,058
    Location:
    Poland, EU
    Hehe good question :cowboy:
    I don't know - i'll check this files again after you check but it still some probability that 1-2 left - but it's possible that it won't affect stability of mod.

    When friend would expand his program to change other letters and weird signs to this numbers the problem would be finally solved. Hovever i don't know when it will be done, so we need to check all that Desc and Strategy files and turn off the Pedia to finish patch today :)
     
  15. Hardner

    Hardner Blitzkrieger

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2006
    Messages:
    211
    Gender:
    Male
    No! English is causing ctd probs! German works fine! I don't know about the other languages, I haven't tested them.
    Look into the files and you'll see german tags are different having other strings on gender and plural, this could be issue!?
     
  16. JungleIII

    JungleIII Master

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    368
    Location:
    Childers, Queensland - Australia
    I have no crashes in English... You have no crashes in German... WHERE to look???
     
  17. asioasioasio

    asioasioasio Fallout Scrubber

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3,058
    Location:
    Poland, EU
    It would be good to clean all the languages - i use only english and sometimes i get crash there - i don't play polish (french) so i don't know how it works there.

    i'm not 100&#37; sure if it will help but i's very probable that the instability lays in TEXT files - we need to try this. So both cleaned graphics (wich i made yesterday and my english version stopped CTD) ant TXT wich are we cleaning today should increase stability or even fix CTD.

    If the CTD would appear further it means it could be soomwhere in python or sdk:suicide:
     
  18. JungleIII

    JungleIII Master

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    368
    Location:
    Childers, Queensland - Australia
    Hopefully the cleaned text will help - it certainly had incorrect symbols.

    Anyway, I'm going crazy looking at lines of text, so I did the five you assigned and the other two and uploaded them onto FTP server under Jungle folder. Hopefully, I haven't missed some silly symbol...

    Good luck - I have to go to bed shortly as you get stuck into your busy day!!
     
  19. asioasioasio

    asioasioasio Fallout Scrubber

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3,058
    Location:
    Poland, EU
    Ok thank you Jim :) Good job :)

    @ Hardner
    This gender and plural was taken from vanilla civ4 so should be ok this way
    but i check this today once again :) i have whole afternoon for it :crazyeye:
     
  20. Hardner

    Hardner Blitzkrieger

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2006
    Messages:
    211
    Gender:
    Male
    I think every text file could be affected. Every file I looked at had these differences with gender and plural. I was just guessing because german is the only language that has these strings in these tags.:confused:
    Also in the civics_strategy and _desc there are missing tags for french (polish) causing empty spaces in the civics screen while running the game in german. Don't know why, but usually it should work because all other language tags are correctly defined, but somehow there these spaces. Just a minor prob.
     

Share This Page