1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Patch G / multiplayer / OOS

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Fall from Heaven' started by Playciv2948, Jan 26, 2008.

  1. Playciv2948

    Playciv2948 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    21
    Patch G random events are causing multiplayer games to go Out Of Sync. Please fix ASAP.
     
  2. xienwolf

    xienwolf Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    10,589
    Location:
    Location! Location!
    I do hate to have only bad news instead of something constructive to post, but I am afraid that this post is quite unlikely to do anything at all.

    If you could specify what event caused you to go OOS maybe, and ensure that it is 100% repeatable...

    I guess I can be semi-constructive and tell you that if each of you go into your C:\Program Files\Firaxis Games\Sid Meier's Civilization 4\Beyond the Sword\Mods\Fall from Heaven 2 030\Assets\XML\Events\CIV4EventTriggerInfos.XML file and change all <iPercentGamesActive>???</iPercentGamesActive> to <iPercentGamesActive>0</iPercentGamesActive> then no events will be able to happen. Then you know if you still go OOS that it is not actually the events.

    Otherwise, you can work your way back up to fully enabled events 1 by 1 till you find which one is causing the OOS. To test them quickly, set <iPercentGamesActive>100</iPercentGamesActive> & <iWeight>-1</iWeight>, that way as soon as you meet the requirements for the event to happen, it will automatically happen. I think you will have to set <bGlobal>1</bGlobal> as well in order to keep events that are allowed to occur multiple times from happening every single turn. Can't think of any other tag that will limit the number of recurrances.
     
  3. onedreamer

    onedreamer Dragon

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    6,580
    Location:
    Torino - Italia
    Laughing Out Loudly :D
     
  4. Playciv2948

    Playciv2948 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    21
    I'm not doing any of that, I play multiplayer and being a MOD is not acceptable. What I can tell you is we've tested in several games with several people. 20 different random events with multiple players. If you want a save game file, send me a Hamachi message. Network FFH3 pw ffh my name is nightowl. We are still playing multiplayer player vs player games and we are saving/rehosting every time someone gets a random event. You are welcome to come play.
     
  5. Alzara

    Alzara Emperor

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,214
    Location:
    Florida
    I'm presently playing a multiplayer game and myself and my friend have reached turn 411. What does this out of sync thing mean? I don't think we have encountered any problems so far...

    Al
     
  6. Playciv2948

    Playciv2948 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    21
    Why don't you play with us?? We have 4 people getting ready to start a new game. You can find us on Hamachi.

    Download the free software at:

    https://secure.logmein.com/products/hamachi/vpn.asp?lang=en

    then join network FFH3 pw ffh and we can set-up multiplayer games there.

    Hope to see you and your friend soon!!
     
  7. Alzara

    Alzara Emperor

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,214
    Location:
    Florida
    Sweet that sounds awesome. I usually play hotseat games with my friend as he has no computer. Im getting the software now. When exactly are you guys starting? I need to quickly go to the shop and then get this software installed...

    Al
     
  8. Alzara

    Alzara Emperor

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,214
    Location:
    Florida
    Umm what is the exact name of the network?

    FFH3 requires a password. There is no "FFH3 pw ffh"...

    Al
     
  9. kenken244

    kenken244 Grammar Nazi

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    980
    Location:
    Grammar Nazi Conclave
    pw is the abbreviation for password. so the network is FFH3 and the password is ffh
     
  10. [NWO]_Valis

    [NWO]_Valis A bad kitty!

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    643
    Location:
    Gates of Ultramar [Szczecin]
    That is why you did not get any OOS errors :)

    Good luck with testing. After some trouble with 0.25 we stopped to try multiplayer games :/
     
  11. Eldric IV

    Eldric IV Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    80
    I refuse to help in any way except the least inconvenient for me. Now fix my problem so I can get back to playing that free game you gave me!

    At least, that is what I see when I read that post.

    If I could get my cousin off of WoW and back to Civ, I could test on his LAN. Switching around a few parameters in the XML is simple enough stuff that even I, who am "not a programmer", can handle it.
     
  12. xienwolf

    xienwolf Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    10,589
    Location:
    Location! Location!
    As Eldric semi-states, if you want to solve the OOS issues, you have to investigate them. What I advised you to do is one of the ways you can investigate it without having to be understanding too much about what you are doing.

    You are correct that if you do that then you will become "MOD" and be unable to connect with other people for MP online at RANDOM. But if all of you do the same changes, then you will still be able to play, and have a chance of finding the problem and being able to tell the team SPECIFICALLY what is causing the problem, then they can probably fix it for everyone so you can return to playing with any random people you happen to meet.

    As a side note: Posting a save game of a multi-player game is useless unless the person who is going to debug it is able to round up the same number of players. And typically debugging is a labourious process done alone, in spare time. Unless you are lucky enough to have enough roomates with their computers available for you to log in with dummy-seats.
     
  13. ShadowDrgn

    ShadowDrgn Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    50
    Up to turn 219 in a 3-way game right now and haven't had any OOS problems with default events on patch g, except that we had to remake the game when someone's computer crashed because that bug still exists.
     
  14. Grillick

    Grillick Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    311
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    I was playing a few games this afternoon, and we got OOS twice. First, when the host (playing Faeryl Viconia) received an event describing a tryst with, of all people, Faeryl Viconia. The second, when the host (playing Amelanchier) received an event describing Thessa having killed her husband.
     
  15. Goodgimp

    Goodgimp Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    Messages:
    261
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    I've played multiple Patch G games, using Living World for double events, and havent had any OOS issues. Well, I might have had one, but it's been no more or less common than 3.13 BtS OOS errors.
     
  16. Ecofarm

    Ecofarm Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Messages:
    15,370
    Location:
    Univ. Florida
    Probably someone, somehow, didn't manage the patch despite multiple tries.

    :dunno:
     
  17. Mesix

    Mesix One of Porg

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    Messages:
    4,374
    Location:
    Ahch-To
    I don't think that the events are causing it, but there is definately something causing OOS issues. We have been playing FfH for the entire month of January with no OOS issues. We have been playing BTS for more than 3 months with no OOS issues. Last night, we upgraded to patch G...and Boom, OOS several times through out the night.

    I do not have Internet for my Laptop at work (where I was having the OOS issues). This was my first time trying FfH multiplayer. I will try to get an autosave to post with this game soon.
     
  18. Sureshot

    Sureshot Goddess

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Messages:
    3,771
    ya, we've been getting repeating OOS after turn 100 on quick
     
  19. Mesix

    Mesix One of Porg

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    Messages:
    4,374
    Location:
    Ahch-To
    We play on normal speed.

    The game ran error free for awhile. I didn't think to check the turn count, but probably between 200-300 turns. Once we got one OOS error, it repeated several times after reloading. We rebooted, cleared cache, everyting short of actually reinstalling the game.

    We gave up on that game and started a new one. No OOS problems at first, but eventually they came. We were about done with our shift, so we decided to call it a night.

    I will try to record what turn the OOS errors occur on when we play again and see if there is a pattern. I will also try to get a save game file off my laptop when I get a chance.
     
  20. ophite

    ophite Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    37
    Um. Play what you want. You're being provided with a game for free. It's ... uh, a little imperious of you ... to determine what is/is not "acceptable."

    -- ACS
     

Share This Page