1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Performance ?

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by Lose, Mar 14, 2012.

  1. Lose

    Lose King

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Messages:
    345
    Location:
    Washington, D.C.
    Does anyone know if game performance will be improved for late game? Kind of ridiculous waiting long times on those huge/standard maps...

    Heres are my specs..

    Operating System:
    Windows 2.6.0.6002 (Service Pack 2)
    CPU Type:
    AMD Phenom(tm) 9850 Quad-Core Processor
    CPU Speed:
    2.53 GHz
    System Memory:
    8 GB
    Video Card Model:
    ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series
    Video Card Memory:
    1.03 GB
    Video Card Driver:
    aticfx32.dll
    Desktop Resolution:
    1920x1080
    Hard Disk Size:
    931.51 GB
    Hard Disk Free Space:
    481.94 GB (52%)
     
  2. LegionSteve

    LegionSteve Motörhead

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,125
    Location:
    England
    I don't know, but I sure hope so. I also have an AMD Phenom quad core, and the performance is terrible in the late game even on standard maps. This came up once before and several other people who suffered really bad performance issues also had AMD processors. Could be an issue specifically with AMD or could just be coincidence? Hmm :confused:
     
  3. Babri

    Babri Emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,441
    Location:
    Pakistan
    Yeah I really hope that they improve the performance because with slow turns I really feel bored after the initial conquests, mid into the game. I usually don't even reach the industrial/modern age, quitting before it in frustration.
     
  4. Shurdus

    Shurdus Am I Napoleon?

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    Messages:
    2,301
    Location:
    Settle in place
    You are probably fine.
     
  5. JtW

    JtW Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    574
    Location:
    Poland
    I have an Intel processor and the endgame takes forever on my machine also. That's why I play in windowed mode and do something else concurrently with the game (I actually get a lot done during those waiting times ;) ).
     
  6. theadder

    theadder Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Messages:
    324
    Location:
    Addoria
    I had a similar problem; I found that, while it seemed to be solely a CPU processing related thing, reinstalling the GPU drivers was very helpful in terms of fixing the problem.

    It seems that I had set some custom settings in there at some point and it was adversely affecting Civ V. It is worth a try at least; Nvidia has a "clean reinstall" option during their install process, with no need to uninstall the old drivers.

    Worth a try.

    The game does seem to have some pretty bad problems with turn processing though; I hope that they fix it in G&K. I should not need a 2500K processor in order to play a turn based strategy game with moderate speed. They have emphasised more threading coming to the expansion though; hopefully this will help.
     
  7. Lose

    Lose King

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Messages:
    345
    Location:
    Washington, D.C.
    I usually just hit F10 for strategy view and go afk while the game processes turns. I hope they really improve the turn processing.
     

Share This Page