1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Probabilities of goody huts, C3C

Discussion in 'Civ3 Strategy Articles' started by Oystein, Jul 7, 2004.

  1. Oystein

    Oystein Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Messages:
    184
    Location:
    Norway, Oslo
    C3C uses re-roll, at least latest patch.
     
  2. player1 fanatic

    player1 fanatic Fanatic

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,635
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    didn't know about that
     
  3. boogaboo

    boogaboo Josef Popper 4ever

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,706
    Location:
    Holon, Israel
    If I understand correctly, then settlers could be found at Sid if you are expansionist??

    EDIT : I'm trying to pop out settlers on 3C3 deity with Aztec (non-exp), and about 50 tries now I haven't succeeded... perhaps this is really not an updated table.. :confused:
     
  4. Oystein

    Oystein Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Messages:
    184
    Location:
    Norway, Oslo
    You are reading wrong somehow.
    None-exp civs at deity will only get gold, map, warriors and barbs. The same for exp. civ at sid except you will not get barbs.
     
  5. boogaboo

    boogaboo Josef Popper 4ever

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,706
    Location:
    Holon, Israel
    Srry, I looked at it the wrong way..
    I go with zulu in mind.
     
  6. Mad2rix

    Mad2rix Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    287
    Location:
    Japan
    What if someone were to add more difficulty levels from Civ3ConquestsEdit.exe? I don't think goodies huts would ever give you anything but 100% barbarians or deserted huts if non-expansionists.
     
  7. Pfeffersack

    Pfeffersack Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 10, 2003
    Messages:
    2,190
    Location:
    Germany
    I guess it depends on if you simply add those level(s) beyond Sid or if you try to fit them in between to existing easier levels (which seems to be possible, read that on the Apolyton University forum)
     
  8. punkbass2000

    punkbass2000 Des An artiste

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    7,230
    Location:
    A(sia) Minor
    Really?! You should join us! AU AU!
     
  9. morchuflex

    morchuflex Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Messages:
    1,385
    Location:
    Paris
    Cities? :eek:

    You can get cities from goody huts? :confused:
    I've been playing Civ3 for a year, about 4 hrs a day, and it has never happened to me. Settlers, occasionnally, but cities: never! How is this possible?
     
  10. punkbass2000

    punkbass2000 Des An artiste

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    7,230
    Location:
    A(sia) Minor
    ...the same way anything else is possible from a good a hut. 'An advanced tribe joins your nation' or something like that. You get a city on the spot, as opposed to a mobile Settler.
     
  11. thetrooper

    thetrooper Schweinhund

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    7,241
    Location:
    Hinter feindlichen Linien!
    That was the case back in PTW, the last time I played expansionist (1.5 years ago). Founding the city on-the-spot was the very reason I lost interest in expansionists.
     
  12. morchuflex

    morchuflex Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Messages:
    1,385
    Location:
    Paris
    I understand... I just find it strange that it has never happened to me in maybe a hundred starts with barbarians "on".
     
  13. Paul#42

    Paul#42 flyball chaser

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Messages:
    4,474
    Location:
    Hamburg
    Just checked this article as preparation for approaching Cotm 10 :rolleyes:

    And how about popping a settler on SID with a non-exp. civ (like lahore did in his "homage to the jaguar warrior")? :eek:

    Only possible when two huts are popped in the same turn?
    This fails to be explained by the table, right?

    EDIT: Just realized lahore was plaing Ptw on deity. Sorry for spamming... :blush:
     
  14. microbe

    microbe Cascaded Mansion

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Messages:
    4,596
    This article doesn't discuss "popping city" from hut. The above rule at most only applies to settlers.

    You CAN pop a city when you have a settler. In fact, here is a save (deity, C3C 1.22) that you can pop a settler then a city. First use the warrior (popped from a previous hut!) to pop a settler, and the scout go two tiles NW to pop a city.

    Happy popping!

    SAVE
     
  15. mikezang

    mikezang Pegasus

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    465
    Location:
    Tokyo
    I am sorry that I don't know how to use that excel file, does anyone explain for me?
    I mean how can I know the Probability when in play?
     
  16. Oystein

    Oystein Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Messages:
    184
    Location:
    Norway, Oslo
    You really dont need the excel file (I kind of regret that I put it in this article). You can just use the table (The picture). Just remember that if you get something illegal (Setler when you alredy have one walking around) there is a reroll.

    But if you want to use the file. Fill in the correct values in column B. B1 should be 1 if you are expansonist, 0 otherwise. Set city to 1 if you can get a city (That is, you are not to close to another city, and you are not on mountain or in swamp.), 0 otherwise. And so on. Now the probability will be in the column for your difficult level. (upper table)
     
  17. dalgo

    dalgo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,425
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Regarding Technology - are there any rules on which Technology you will get from a goody hut (apart from it being ancient times).
     
  18. DBear

    DBear unbeliever

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Messages:
    3,262
    Location:
    Prime Material
    This has clarified things. I started a succession game Pred02 as the Portugese on emperor and the first goody popped gave us a village. I was quite surprised, as I didn't think that was possible on emperor.
     
  19. TimBentley

    TimBentley Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,898
    Location:
    Troy, MI
    Some more conditions for things from goody huts:

    Mercenaries(skilled warrior):
    Player must be in Ancient Times.

    City:
    Player must have at least 1 city.
    Player must have equal to or less cities than (TotalCities / NumActivePlayers).
    Player must not have a city within a 3-tile radius
    There must not be a city within a 2-tile radius
    Of course, the obvious Tile must not be on a mountain, marsh, or volcano.
     
  20. killercane

    killercane Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    3,278
    Location:
    TN
     

Share This Page