1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Probabilities of goody huts, C3C

Discussion in 'Civ3 Strategy Articles' started by Oystein, Jul 7, 2004.

  1. Esox

    Esox In Search of Inspirado

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Messages:
    269
    Location:
    Castle Aaarrghh
    This is my first post after a dozen or so games. This thread has been really helpful when moving up in levels.

    Quick question: while of course the Expansionist trait makes a difference, does it matter which unit actually pops the hut? I mean, is the likelihood of each result the same whether you have a scout, warrior or any other unit pop the hut?
    I haven't seen anything about that either here or in my game "manual", and since I'm starting a deity game (Inca) I figure I could use every edge possible.
     
  2. TimBentley

    TimBentley Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,898
    Location:
    Troy, MI
  3. General_W

    General_W Councilor & Merlot Noble

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2005
    Messages:
    8,198
    Location:
    Washington State (GMT -8)
    This article has been very helpful! Thanks Oystein.
    This Question is a little off topic – but I'm not sure where else I'd post it...

    Has anyone figured out the odds of what the Barbarians will take/destroy when they Sack a city?

    Seems like they mostly take gold – but sometimes they destroy production or kill some of the citizenry. I've looked through the forums, but can't seem to find anything on this.

    Thanks for any help!
     
  4. morchuflex

    morchuflex Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Messages:
    1,385
    Location:
    Paris
    Very interesting topic. But, hey, I have one more question!

    So you're saying that to pop a settler, you mustn't have any, even in production.
    But at which time does the computer check that? 1. Just when you enter the goody hut, or 2. at the beginning of the turn?
    If 1. is correct, then, if you have no settlers but have some in production, what you need to do is change production in any city that's building a settler, pop the hut, and change production back... Kinda boring, and it sounds like an exploit too.
    What do you make of that?
     
  5. TimBentley

    TimBentley Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,898
    Location:
    Troy, MI
  6. vmxa

    vmxa Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    13,695
    Location:
    Oviedo, Fl
    Not boring as you will have very few occasions to do it. Exploit, hard to call, maybe, but not a big one. It does not mean you will get a settler, only that you coudl not otherwise.

    It is not usefull at Sid as you can't get a settler anyway.
     
  7. carmen510

    carmen510 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Messages:
    8,124
    Location:
    NESing Forums
    Not trying to bump an old thread, but I got Space Flight in Modern Times with a goody hut in Conquests
     
  8. AutomatedTeller

    AutomatedTeller Frequent poster

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    7,539
    Location:
    Medford, MA
    The unit does matter, to a degree. You cant' get barbarians if you pop the hut with a settler making a city.
     
  9. thetrooper

    thetrooper Schweinhund

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    7,241
    Location:
    Hinter feindlichen Linien!
    :dubious:

    You're just joking...

    I'm pretty certain that you can't get any free techs from goody huts beyond the first era.
     
  10. TimBentley

    TimBentley Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,898
    Location:
    Troy, MI
  11. carmen510

    carmen510 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Messages:
    8,124
    Location:
    NESing Forums
    I acually did.............. Wait, whoops! It was Civ3 regular.
     
  12. lemming0815

    lemming0815 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    First to say: great summary! :goodjob:

    But I've got one question left:
    Does this really matter? I've never realized these effect myself.

    Sorry for bumping an old thread, but I'm working on the german Civilization Wiki. ;)
     
  13. JamesCivFan

    JamesCivFan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    603
    Location:
    Greece
    I will bump this thread too even though it's very old, to ask a simple question..If someone wanted to change these probabilities, how would he do it in the editor?? (for example: I want to make it so u have a probability on getting a settler on Sid). Could anyone give me a step by step "how to do"? (I have C3C v 1.22)
     
  14. vmxa

    vmxa Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    13,695
    Location:
    Oviedo, Fl
    I do not see any place in the editor for it. Maybe check with the creation forum.
     
  15. JamesCivFan

    JamesCivFan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    603
    Location:
    Greece
    Where exactly?? (sorry but i am a total newbie in these fora. So can you give me a link (if any?). Otherwise i will make a thread. Thanks in advance
     
  16. vmxa

    vmxa Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    13,695
    Location:
    Oviedo, Fl
  17. hth

    hth Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    127
    Anybody ever pop a city with non-exp civ? From my own tests I think it's impossible.
     

Share This Page