Problem since patch

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Macintosh' started by gfeier, Feb 16, 2011.

  1. gfeier

    gfeier King

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2001
    Messages:
    887
    Location:
    In front of my Mac
    I just got back to the game since I was waiting for the patch. I now do not seem to be able to delete existing saves. The appropriate dialogs come up, but the saves remain. Is anyone else experiencing this?
     
  2. janthony

    janthony Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Yeah, I can't delete previous patch saves either. I don't know if you can overwrite them if you try to save a new game with the exact same name, but I don't really want to test that to find out either.
     
  3. AlanH

    AlanH Mac addict, php monkey Moderator Hall of Fame Staff Supporter GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    29,374
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    England
    Can't you just delete saves using the Finder, like in every other application?
     
  4. gfeier

    gfeier King

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2001
    Messages:
    887
    Location:
    In front of my Mac
    I'm sure you can, but that's not the point. Looks like the game is broke.

    Edit: I was able to delete the saves from the Saves folder without any trouble. Inelegant, but it works. Still needs a fix in the next patch. I opened a ticket with Aspyr.
     
  5. gfeier

    gfeier King

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2001
    Messages:
    887
    Location:
    In front of my Mac
    Sorry, I don't think I was quite clear. The saves I can't delete were from games started post-patch. I deleted all old saves before I patched.
     
  6. gfeier

    gfeier King

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2001
    Messages:
    887
    Location:
    In front of my Mac
    Aspyr said they'll "be investigating this problem more in depth" so I hope it gets fixed in the next patch.
     
  7. achabot

    achabot Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    79
    Location:
    Québec and Nova Scotia, Canada
    I found another problem. My Brandenburg Gate vanished. It was replaced by a Porcelain Tower and yet I had another city building the said Tower. Has to be a bug somewhere cuz you can't even try to build a wonder if it's already built or is being built by another of your own cities.

    Dang.
     
  8. achabot

    achabot Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    79
    Location:
    Québec and Nova Scotia, Canada
    Yes you can overwrite. My game hangs so often that I save multiple times a turn, overwriting as I go.
     
  9. AspyrRyan

    AspyrRyan Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    343
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Is that from a game started before the latest patch and continued after the patch?
     
  10. achabot

    achabot Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    79
    Location:
    Québec and Nova Scotia, Canada
    A game started before the patch.
     
  11. AspyrRyan

    AspyrRyan Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    343
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    That would be why. So much changed in terms of buildings and wonders that old saved games have strange issues when continued after the patch. New games won't have that issue.
     
  12. achabot

    achabot Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    79
    Location:
    Québec and Nova Scotia, Canada
    Oh great. That thing crashes at least once every other turn. It's taken me weeks to get where I am and now I have to start again :(
     
  13. achabot

    achabot Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    79
    Location:
    Québec and Nova Scotia, Canada
    Lemme rephrase that. It's no longer crashing every turn or so. I'm now close to 600 turns into a Huge map and have experienced only two freezes. Keeping my fingers crossed :p
     
  14. jenningss

    jenningss Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    To delete any and/or all saves I did have to go do the finder search for "saves", and then figure out which of the 4 "save" files it was.

    also, since last patch, my games freeze/crash maybe 50% less but on huge it still is too much of a problem. Especially with later game delays between turns.

    Hey, I did see over on the PC side that a patch would be forthcoming and that annoyingly slow engine is a top shelf priority.
     

Share This Page