1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Problems With Scenario Installations

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Macintosh' started by mythusmage, Mar 11, 2010.

  1. AlanH

    AlanH Mac addict, php monkey Moderator Hall of Fame Staff Supporter GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    28,855
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    England
    A system restart shouldn't be necessary to get that fix to work. All you are doing is putting a "signpost" to PTW Game Data in the place where the mod is looking for it, and calling it CIV3PTW. So as far as the system is concerned it's no different from copying that directory into the mod, lock stock and barrel, except you haven't used any significant disk space.

    By the way, once you have made the symlink called CIV3PTW for the first mod, you should be able to just copy it into another mod folder to achieve the same effect for that one. You don't need to go through all the Terminal steps again each time.
     
  2. mythusmage

    mythusmage Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    571
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    How do you copy it?

    Update: Figured it out.
     
  3. AlanH

    AlanH Mac addict, php monkey Moderator Hall of Fame Staff Supporter GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    28,855
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    England
    It's just a little file. Option-drag is the easiest way to create a copy in another location. Or right click the symlink and select "copy", then navigate to the destination, and right click and select "paste".
     
  4. CharcoalDioxide

    CharcoalDioxide Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Make an alias of the play the world game data folder and name it Civ3PTW. Period.
     
  5. mythusmage

    mythusmage Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    571
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    AlanH beat you to it.
     
  6. CharcoalDioxide

    CharcoalDioxide Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    85

Share This Page