1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Quick Answers / 'Newbie' Questions

Discussion in 'Civ3 - General Discussions' started by Turner, Aug 22, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Abegweit

    Abegweit Anarchist trader

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    4,869
    Location:
    One step ahead of the authorities
    To my mind, this would be an exploit and I am quite happy that the game mechanics don't allow it. You are supposed to lose movement in exchange for an upgrade. Unsurprisingly, Shift-U won't upgrade units without movement. Although at one point back in the vanilla era it did, they have since fixed that bug.

    IMO, you shouldn't be allowed into the Big Picture at all except to see the tech tree. It enables all kinds of exploits like double production and the like. Even switching builds and talking to the AI is exploitive. However, it has been accepted as part of the game. So I do it like everyone else.
     
  2. Turner

    Turner Deity Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2002
    Messages:
    28,169
    Location:
    Randomistan
    On the contrary, the game mechanics allow it. If they didn't want it to be done this way, it would be very simple to lock out the screens that allow you to do this.
     
  3. Lord Emsworth

    Lord Emsworth Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,951
    Location:
    On a shipchain

    The IBT belongs to the preceeding turn in this particular respect. As such, you lose the unit's movement for that precceding turn and if the unit has no movement left you can't upgrade IBT.

     
  4. Abegweit

    Abegweit Anarchist trader

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    4,869
    Location:
    One step ahead of the authorities
    I didn't deny that. In fact, I use the trick every time I learn a new tech. Despite that, I think it is wrong. You may disagree with my opinion, but that's a separate issue. You can't do this in Civ4, BTW, so it seems that the game designers now agree with me.
    I can't believe that they intended to allow double production so, simple or not, I seriously doubt that they intended it to be this way. That also is a matter of opinion.

    Do you think double production is an exploit or not? The game mechanics allow it.
     
  5. Red Door

    Red Door Man of Mayhem

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Messages:
    12,665
    Location:
    USA #1
    The Catachlan Sniper one.
     
  6. Turner

    Turner Deity Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2002
    Messages:
    28,169
    Location:
    Randomistan
    What's double production? I've never done that. And if the game is going to let me do such a thing, then yes, I'll do it. The game is setting the rules, and I will use those rules to my advantage. Is it an exploit? Probably. But that's why we have patches, to take such things out. Such as unloading armies.
     
  7. Cheezy the Wiz

    Cheezy the Wiz Socialist In A Hurry

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    25,238
    Location:
    Freedonia
    Double production is where everything costs half the shields it does in the normal game, and citizens eat half the food they normally would. I'll leave it to your imagination to figure out what happens...
     
  8. Turner

    Turner Deity Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2002
    Messages:
    28,169
    Location:
    Randomistan
    Ah! Accellerated production! Yes, I do use this. Why wait for stuff?
     
  9. Lord Emsworth

    Lord Emsworth Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,951
    Location:
    On a shipchain


    He is talking about that sort of exploit:
    http://forums.civfanatics.com/showpost.php?p=4377999&postcount=8

     
  10. Abegweit

    Abegweit Anarchist trader

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    4,869
    Location:
    One step ahead of the authorities
    Exactly. Or the capabilty to do wealth and production in the same turn. It quite rightly is banned in the GOTM.
     
  11. Tman65

    Tman65 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Messages:
    183
    Location:
    Hunting with the Pack
    Playing C3C 1.22...if I break a deal in which I'm receiving gpt for a tech, do I get a rep hit?
     
  12. SuperBeaverInc.

    SuperBeaverInc. Groucho

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    14,923
    Location:
    British Columbia
    I'm pretty sure you do. I know you do if you are paying the GPT, but not 100% on receiving. Probably though.
     
  13. Keroro

    Keroro Dororo: Ninja Frog

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    1,789
    Location:
    The Hinata Residence
    Pretty sure you get a rep hit when you break any deal in the first 20 turns.
     
  14. Turner

    Turner Deity Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2002
    Messages:
    28,169
    Location:
    Randomistan
    Actually, it's as long as you have turns remaining in any deal. If you've gone past the 20 turns and not renewed it, but it's still active, you can cancel the deal without a rep hit. However, if there's turns left in the deal it will be a rep hit.
     
  15. azzaman333

    azzaman333 meh

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2005
    Messages:
    22,877
    Location:
    Melbourne, AUS Reputation:131^(9/2)
    What if you are being payed gpt, and you break the deal?

    Example;
    I give Rome Magnetism for 50gpt and 500g, then I declare war on Rome (without breaking any other deals) Do I get a rep hit for this?
     
  16. TimBentley

    TimBentley Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,898
    Location:
    Troy, MI
  17. pol1

    pol1 kayaking physicist

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    398
    Location:
    Koszalin, Poland
    just two questions
    1. lately, games rarely last that long, i've found out that my bombers cannor re-base to any city. (on huge map) it seems to me, that they have some 're-base' range.
    can anyone confirm this?
    2. when taking AI city : assuming OCP or LCP by AI is there any chance to have less than 8 squares under my influence after capturing it?
    [for TCP or ICS - when taking back my cities - i think it is possible to get border next to the city tile]
     
  18. Turner

    Turner Deity Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2002
    Messages:
    28,169
    Location:
    Randomistan
    Rebase range is 3 or 4 times the operational range. I think it's 3.
     
  19. vmxa

    vmxa Deity Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    13,902
    Location:
    Oviedo, Fl
    Yes you have to move them more than once on a huge map to reach all locations.
     
  20. Turner

    Turner Deity Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2002
    Messages:
    28,169
    Location:
    Randomistan
    And that applies only to Conquests/Complete. In PTW or Vanilla, rebase range is unlimited.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page