1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Quick Answers / 'Newbie' Questions

Discussion in 'Civ3 - General Discussions' started by Turner, Aug 22, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. aethiv

    aethiv Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Is it possible to determine why a particular citizen is unhappy, and, if so, how do I do it?
     
  2. thetrooper

    thetrooper Schweinhund

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    7,662
    Location:
    Hinter feindlichen Linien!
    Open the 'city view' and click him!

    They will say something like:

    "It's too crowded..."
    "We will never forget..."
    "Hell no, we won't go. No more draft..."
    etc.

    Edit: and welcome to CFC!

    :)
     
  3. Knickers

    Knickers Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Messages:
    243
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    The civ assist thing is back up, but it says something about a .NET framework or something... Could someone run me by what all that jazz means?
     
  4. vmxa

    vmxa Deity Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    13,893
    Location:
    Oviedo, Fl
    It is a Windows application that you should have already and can get from Microsoft for free if not or updated. Just go to their site.
     
  5. Knickers

    Knickers Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Messages:
    243
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    Yeah, I went to it, and there were loads of different versions, do you reckon you could take a look at it and advise? Pwease?
     
  6. vmxa

    vmxa Deity Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    13,893
    Location:
    Oviedo, Fl
    I am using version 1.1 under XP PRO. Not sure if Home Edition matters or not.
     
  7. vermin1302

    vermin1302 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    So I was playing C3C earlier, as Korea under Democracy, and Seoul just randomly popped out a unit called Seok Tong-sik that allowed me to hurry production or increase scientific production in a city... That's pretty neat, but I wanted to look at the Civilopedia entry for the unit, but it doesn't exist! So, can anyone tell me more about this nifty thing?

    :king:
     
  8. Knickers

    Knickers Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Messages:
    243
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    It's a great leader. Once a military unit is elite, the next stage up is that.
     
  9. Padma

    Padma the Absent Admin Administrator Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2001
    Messages:
    14,419
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Omaha, Nebraska USA
    In Conquests (C3C) Great Leaders are broken into two types. So that would be a Scientific Great Leader. ;) In C3C, they can be used to rush Great Wonders, or to cause a Scientific Golden Age. (However, the Scientific Golden Age is broken, and was never patched. Don't bother to use it.) There is a 3% chance of an SGL being created each time you are first to a given Tech. (5% for Scientific Civs.)

    Military units create Military GLs, which can be used to raise Armies, or hurry production of small Wonders or other normal production.
     
  10. AutomatedTeller

    AutomatedTeller Frequent poster

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    7,540
    Location:
    Medford, MA
    If I remember correctly, Democracy reduces rank corruption, especially in large empires. There are two types of corruption - distance and rank.

    Distance is solely the distance from the capitol/FP.

    Rank is the number of cities closer to the capitol/FP than the current city. These are added together (or multiplied, I don't remember) to make the total corruption.

    I believe democracy makes the 2nd piece smaller - depending on how your civ is set up, it may be significant, it may not. If you have tightspacing, so most of your corruption is from rank corruption, Democracy can help a fair amount.
     
  11. Knickers

    Knickers Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Messages:
    243
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    Hypothetical question: If you are researching a tech that costs 100 beakers, and you are researching it at a rate of 26 beakers/turn. Do the excess 4 beakers get put towards the next tech?
     
  12. madviking

    madviking north american scum

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    11,337
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    flavortown
    No .
     
  13. Knickers

    Knickers Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Messages:
    243
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    Really!? :O
     
  14. Padma

    Padma the Absent Admin Administrator Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2001
    Messages:
    14,419
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Omaha, Nebraska USA
  15. Swiss Bezerker

    Swiss Bezerker Emperor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,539
    Location:
    somewhere up north
    Yeah. Thats why you should lower your science rate when their is one turn left (but not so far that it takes more than one turn) to get some extra cash.
     
  16. vmxa

    vmxa Deity Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    13,893
    Location:
    Oviedo, Fl
    You want to keep an eye on how much was gathered andhow much is need to finish the tech. You can often make adjustments along the way to hit the mark or very close to it. No overruns as they are lost.

    Most will just lower the slider the turn before it is to be learned and save some beakers as gold. You could go farther and track the beaker and making more or less scientist to hit it on the nose.

    I once wrote an XLS to do that, but now I can use CivAssist II instead. If you track ir and look peridically you can see if a few more scientist can shave a turn. Just look at what is need and how many turns. Then divide by some number less than that many turns.

    You now know how many beakers you need to make it in fewer turns and can figure out how many scientist that is or maybe a bump in the slider and fewer scientist.

    I will did this in tough games or if I take a set in an SG, oterwise I may not always bother.
     
  17. AutomatedTeller

    AutomatedTeller Frequent poster

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    7,540
    Location:
    Medford, MA
    I usually start looking at the science rate when it's 3 or 4 turns left and see if I can lower it at all while still keeping the same number of turns. If I have a lot of cities pumping out settlers (and thus growing and shrinking) I have to pay closer attention to it, of course.
     
  18. Skaronhiio

    Skaronhiio Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Hi,

    i'm a newbie and i was wondering it it's possoble for me to make my own unique civilization?
     
  19. vmxa

    vmxa Deity Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    13,893
    Location:
    Oviedo, Fl
    Yes, go to the creation forum and I suspect you will find some how to do it.
     
  20. AnubisII

    AnubisII Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    81
    How do I form a mutual protection pact?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page