1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Quick Answers / 'Newbie' Questions

Discussion in 'Civ3 - General Discussions' started by Turner, Apr 23, 2009.

  1. Lord AJ

    Lord AJ The Quartermaster

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2015
    Messages:
    436
    Location:
    In that Capital City Of Yours
    Go here for the answer :_
    http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=104294
     
  2. Bartleby

    Bartleby Remembers laughter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    4,353
    Location:
    Englishman in Cork
    A1 the "scientific golden age" is actually broken, and just wastes the leader.
    A2 you can get a scientific leader at any time, but if you have an unused scientific leader you can't get a military leader.
     
  3. Lord AJ

    Lord AJ The Quartermaster

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2015
    Messages:
    436
    Location:
    In that Capital City Of Yours
    1. I remember reading somewhere that there's a bug in the game that makes using scientific leaders to increase scientific output a complete waste and has no effect of any kind. I also think that the post warned me against using SGLs for the same. (I followed the advice [emoji6] )

    2. No you can only have one scientific leader at a time unless you play a mod.
     
  4. Lord AJ

    Lord AJ The Quartermaster

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2015
    Messages:
    436
    Location:
    In that Capital City Of Yours
    A question :-
    Is there a formula for calculating the probability of getting an SGL ?
     
  5. justanick

    justanick King

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    964
    Location:
    Germany
    It is assumed to be 5% for scientic civilisations and 3% or the rest. The condition is to research the tech before anyone else.
     
  6. Buttercup

    Buttercup King

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    802
    Nonsense. I have never played any mods and I regularly have stacks of two or three SGLs. Just the other day I got 3 in successive new techs in the late Industrial Age going for a Diplomatic win, I ended the game with two spare, unused.
     
  7. vmxa

    vmxa Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    13,728
    Location:
    Oviedo, Fl
    There is no check for an existing SGL. The UI only checks for an existing MGL. The is an oversight from the time that there was only one type of Great Leader.

    This is also the reason that the AI can build any wonder with even an MGL. The AI does not use the UI, so no check is made.

    So you can in fact have as many SGL as you want. Regardless of what type or how many other leaders you have. I have verified AI building wonders with an MGL and of course multiple SGL at one point in time.
     
  8. walletta

    walletta King

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    685
    Location:
    Surrey, England
    Thanks folks.
     
  9. Laurana Kanan

    Laurana Kanan Don’t underestimate who I am.

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,041
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Near the Greatest Snow on Earth
    Antal's Ver.3 Patch fixes the Science Golden Age: Here.
     
  10. Spikerocks101

    Spikerocks101 Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    159
    Location:
    London
    Hello everyone. This is not quite a simple yes or no question, but would require a bit of an explanation.

    Q: What do happy, content, and happy citizens do? (and if possible, could you provide the technical math, not just general information).

    The only thing I could find was that if more then half your city is unhappy, you go into revolt; happy citizens do something with helping corruption; and happy citizen's add to your score. Thanks.
     
  11. tjs282

    tjs282 Disillusionist

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,651
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    ...just here for the job/ handouts/ woman
    I think you pretty much covered it.

    The basic intention is a difficulty multiplier: as you increase the difficulty level, you get fewer and fewer citizens born content, with all additional citizens born unhappy. This makes it more challenging to keep your cities under control each turn. At Emperor+ (in C3C), only the 1st citizen is born content, so to keep additional citizens content in a newly founded town, you may need to do at least one of the following during the turn after growth, to avoid getting a riot on the next interturn:
    • Station a military unit (A≥1 or D≥1) in the town (under governments allowing military-police)
    • Get a Lux-resource(s) hooked
    • Set the LUX%-slider high enough that some of the city's income can make people happy
    • Build a Happiness-improvement (Temple, Market if ≥3Luxes, Colosseum, Cathedral, several GWonders)
    • Harvest sufficient food that you can turn the new citizen into a (content) Specialist, ideally without impeding further town growth
    This thread details the Demographics and score mechanics. Basically, happy citizens score 2 points at game-over, content citizens (and Specialists) score only 1 point (multiplied by the difficulty-factor). So raising your LUX% to 100% on the last turn before the game ends (e.g. before you kill the last AICiv's last city, or launch your Spaceship) to make everyone Happy/Content, is a way to boost your score a little bit, especially at higher difficulties.

    And although you mentioned corruption, you didn't specifically mention 'We Love the [Ruler] Days', which is when the corruption-lowering effect actually kicks in. From GingerAle's FAQ:
    As I understand it, WLTKDs basically drop the current corruption/waste level in a city one grade lower than the level associated with your current gov-type (see Theov's guide to C3C govs). So e.g. under Despotism a WLTKD-city will get 'Monarchic' corruption, under a Monarchy it will have 'Republican' corruption, and under a Republic it will have 'Democratic' corruption.
     
  12. Spikerocks101

    Spikerocks101 Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    159
    Location:
    London
    Thank you so much tjs282 for your quick response. That was an excellent read, and really did answer the question with good detail. It has been almost 10 years since my last game of Civ 3, and some of these things just are gone from me. I forgot all about WLTKD, and remember now that it was almost the main reason for happy citizens (in more of a practical application, not just scoring). Thank you again.

    Sadly, more things I must ask some more questions since I forget things. These are mostly to do with the Commies, oddly enough.

    Q1: With the Communism Government, in the Civilopedia, it says "the system restricts personal freedoms, limiting commerce". I checked the map editor, and it doesn't mention this, but does communism give you a Despo Penalty at all? (ie, -1 commerce on spaces producing >2)

    Q2: With the way Communism does corruption (Communal), does it matter where you put your alt-palace's (Forbidden Palace and Secret Police HQ)? (Communal doesn't do distance corruption, right?)

    Q3: Is there any reason to build a Court House or Police Station in your Palace cities (ie, Capital) besides propaganda resistance and less war weariness?

    Thanks a ton :D
     
  13. Theov

    Theov Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2,123
    Location:
    Taiwan
    No, there is no Despo penalty under communism. However, Communism does not have the Commerce Bonus that Republic and Democracy have.
    (Adds 1 commerce to any tile already producing at least 1 = the commerce bonus.) that

    Correct, you could build all 3 in one city or across the globe. All corruption% in Communism is equal in all cities, no matter how far. So if you have potentially strong production cities far away, you might want to trade the commerce bonus for the added production.

    None. Adding a Court House to the capital is a total waste. If the corruption is 0, then there's no reason to add these buildings. What propaganda can be done in the Capital? The capital can not 'flip'.

    As for the war weariness the polilce station lowers; I guess often it's a better deal to up the lux slider than to pay 2 upkeep per turn, but mathematically, it could be a trade off you can consider.
     
  14. justanick

    justanick King

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    964
    Location:
    Germany
    It should be noted that the score is an average number over all turns. So if you increase the lux slider over 3 of 300 turns the effect is very small. If you do it over 300 out of 540 turns the effect will be noticeable.

    No, that is not how it works. WLTKD does reduce waste, but not corruption. The reduction equals the effect of a (small) corruption reducing building like police station, but it does not change the maximum corruption.

    http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=76619

    Also WLTKD helps greatly against cultural flips.

    As distance corruption does not vary in communism the location is irrelevant. But as any sort of FP together with 2 curruption reducing buildings reduces corruption to zero you can essentially have 3 capitals in communism. It is beneficial to let those 3 capitals use 20 tiles of high quality, also they are great for wonders as tourism, research bonus and in case of the great iron work production get full benefit without any corruption. :)

    The "secondary" capitals should always have both buildings to get corruption down to zero.

    As for the real capital you have to think a bit. Corruption cannot be reduced below zero, so there is no reason to build those buildings for that. Courts help against propaganda, but for the real capital that is no issue. So forget about courts. Police stations reduce war weariness by 25%-points. At 20 citizens that saves you 5 base commerce which can turn out to be 10 beakers per turn or more, depending on buildings. If the police station in the capital allows you to reduce the luxury sliders you can create huge savings. So i vote for police stations in the capital unless you have better plan to handle the risk of war weariness. You may have such a plan.
     
  15. Lord AJ

    Lord AJ The Quartermaster

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2015
    Messages:
    436
    Location:
    In that Capital City Of Yours
    Sorry my bad. I knew that we could have only one leader at a time which I assumed to be including SGLs too. Thanks for correcting me.
     
  16. Takhisis

    Takhisis spells laser with an s

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    46,484
    Location:
    up yours!
    Well, Scientific Leaders were an innovation incorporated with Conquests, so it's perfectly possible for Firaxis' people to have missed such a tiny detail.

    Scientific Leaders can provide quite a boost, but if you only have three cities with low scientific output, a percentage of almost nothing is still almost nothing.

    In the Industrial Age it's better to use them to beat the AI to some Wonder or another, e.g. Universal Suffrage or the Hoover Dam.
    Or, if you've gone far enough, the Internet, which will give you extra culture in any cities you conquer, right from the start.
     
  17. Buttercup

    Buttercup King

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    802
    I thought Research Labs required a University otherwise they wouldn't be listed? Also, is it empire-wide or continent-wide, another important distinction for Wonders, especially on island maps.
     
  18. vmxa

    vmxa Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    13,728
    Location:
    Oviedo, Fl
    Yes they require a Uni.
     
  19. Lanzelot

    Lanzelot Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,704
    Location:
    Heidelberg
    Well, if you build the Internet, then any (continental) town will get a research lab, no matter whether it has a library/university or not. (And it even increases the beakers also in those towns that don't have a library/university! Which is different from Hoover-Dam-generated power plants, which get also listed in any continental town, but only increase the shields in those towns that also have a factory... "Consistent" as usual, our beloved Civ3, isn't it... :crazyeye:)
     
  20. justanick

    justanick King

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    964
    Location:
    Germany
    You do understand that consuming a SGL for scientific age has no real effect? It may betray you be manipulating the estimated time for research, but actual output of research is not changed.
     

Share This Page