1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Quick Answers / 'Newbie' Questions

Discussion in 'Civ3 - General Discussions' started by Turner, Apr 23, 2009.

  1. Northen Wolf

    Northen Wolf Young Hunter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2,241
    Location:
    Estonia
    AI plays the same, just it has more or less resources to play with.
     
  2. Spoonwood

    Spoonwood Grand Philosopher

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,884
    Location:
    Ohio
    They don't get more resources, they just settle/road faster and trade better so they can have more resources via more territory and trading. They have a discounted production and growth rate at harder levels.
     
  3. Ciervo

    Ciervo Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    I was an old civ junkie (I and II) and I’ve never played III and IV till some months ago (I bought the Chronicles). So you can say that I’m a newbie and I’d like to ask you to help me with something. I really liked IV but I got addicted in III! So after playing most of the scenarios and random games I started experimenting with the editor. I’ve read here that you can make your own civs, resources, units, techs, wonders etc. but I’m really bad at this. SO… two questions…

    Is there anywhere I can download files (graphs, animation, sounds etc.) of new features (as named above) or improved as much, like irrigations, created by fans without crushing the game? and…

    Can I use the resources (stone quarry, olive oil, wool, tar, exotic birds, cacao plant, maize, silver, jade etc.), or the techs or the wonders of the existing scenarios and ADD them to the already existing ones in the standard editor??

    If one or both of these questions are already answered please note the link. Thanks.
     
  4. Northen Wolf

    Northen Wolf Young Hunter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2,241
    Location:
    Estonia
    Welcome to Civ III club!

    http://forums.civfanatics.com/forumdisplay.php?f=46

    Here, entire sub forum for you to play with :), if under crushing you mean crashing, then yes. For graphics you have to replace old graphics with new one (overwrite).

    If you want to bring new features into game, I don't think it is possible.
    I do not know about more :) Only modified borders and terrain :p

    I think you can, however there is limited number of resources that you can add (after hitting the limit, game will have some bugs).

    Browsing those forums or using the search function will be useful ;)
     
  5. Ciervo

    Ciervo Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Thank you Northen Wolf!
     
  6. Silver_xxx

    Silver_xxx Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Adelaide - Australia
    I am an older gamer. I still love playing CIV111. I struggle a bit with CIV-1V. I rebuild my computer. Complete re-install of Windows XP, plus all new downloads. Installed my favourite CIV111. Downloaded the latest patch from the CIV-111 downloads. Installed. Game starts, then freezes after one or two turns. Won't recover. Thought it was my graphics card. So I installed a new NVIDIA GeForce 9400 GT. Still does the same thing. Sometimes, after about a minute, it un-freezes and passes to the next unit for instruction. I've turned off all animations in Preferences. It takes for every to turn over. Running an AMD Quad Core Phenom 9500. 1 Gb of RAM. New motherboard....
    If I can't get CIV-111 running again, I will have to sit and talk to the missus. Save me. Any suggestions. Prefer email response.
     
  7. aintnorock

    aintnorock Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    I've been playing for a week or so, and I've been reading the manual and trying new strategies, but I still have questions about mechanics and also strategy.

    1) I have some squares that have double lines around them. I can't seem to place laborers there. What does the double line mean? How can I fix it?

    2) How do I make an unhappy laborer happy?

    3) Sometimes when I plan ahead, I make several moves for 2 - 5 moves ahead. But when they start moving, everything moves so fast that I sometimes miss messages and see enemies moving, but I'm not sure where they are. Is there a way to slow down or stop the fast movement?

    4) Strategy wise, what is the best way to make cities grow faster. I'm tired of getting and advisor telling me that my city is growing too slowly.

    5) My galley sunk out in the ocean. Any way to prevent that?

    I guess that's all for now. Thanks.

    carl
     
  8. vmxa

    vmxa Deity Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    13,879
    Location:
    Oviedo, Fl
    aintnorock
    "1) I have some squares that have double lines around them. I can't seem to place laborers there. What does the double line mean? How can I fix it?"

    Sounds like borders of two nations. You should be able to move into the tile regardless. If this is Civ4 and it is a mountain tile, then you cannot move onto that tile.

    "2) How do I make an unhappy laborer happy?"
    Many options for that. In Civ3 you can:

    a) raise the lux slider
    b) use a specialist
    c) build a happy structure such as a temple

    These are the most common ones.

    "3) Sometimes when I plan ahead, I make several moves for 2 - 5 moves ahead. But when they start moving, everything moves so fast that I sometimes miss messages and see enemies moving, but I'm not sure where they are. Is there a way to slow down or stop the fast movement?"

    Sort of, use animate moves preference. This will still not really prevent all that, but will give you a better look at the units moving.

    "4) Strategy wise, what is the best way to make cities grow faster. I'm tired of getting and advisor telling me that my city is growing too slowly."

    Increase the amount of food available to the town. Irrigate food tiles, use harbors for coastal tiles. Build a rail on an irrigated tile. Build a granary. This assume it actually makes sense to grow faster in a given town.

    Keep pop worker and on the best food tiles.

    "5) My galley sunk out in the ocean. Any way to prevent that?"

    You need Navigation or Mag to safely traverse ocean tiles. The Great lighthouse and being Seafaring helps.
     
  9. aintnorock

    aintnorock Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    thanks
    carl
     
  10. Aabraxan

    Aabraxan Mid-level Micromanager

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,314
    Location:
    Arkansas
    My first suggestion would be that you check out the Technical Support Forum. Good luck.
     
  11. Northen Wolf

    Northen Wolf Young Hunter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2,241
    Location:
    Estonia
    @Aabraxan & Silver_xxx Here's the link for Technical Support Forum

    Want to improve, learn more things? - The Civ III War Academy. (lots of useful info, tips, strategies etc.)

    Means another city is using that tile. Click on other city and remove/re-place worker that works on tile you need. Only one citizen can work on one tile.
    Connect Luxuries and cities via roads (resources with happiness bonus)
    Rise luxuries tax (F1 and Lux (bottom slider)
    Build Entartinment (Temples etc)
    Let citizens Work on tiles with more commerce
    Make some citizens into specialists.
    Try turning on "animate friendly moves" and similar options from Preferences (shift+P).

    Do not press TAB.
    Always check your map for enemy :)
    Nothing else :/
    Advisor is dumb. Getting 2 food-per-turn is enough, in my humble opinon.
    There is a tech (can't recall what) that allows galleys to cross oceans.
    You can move onto ocean/sea tiles with galleys, but you will always risk losing that one. Galleys are not designed for crossing ocean ;) Moving on "shore" tiles (water-tiles that border land tiles) is safe, as is crossing sea in 1 turn (not staying on sea for entire turn).
     
  12. Padma

    Padma the Inbond Administrator Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2001
    Messages:
    14,410
    Location:
    Omaha, Nebraska USA
    In addition to what has already been said, the SHIFT key will disable animations and speed up movement to the max, while it is being pressed. When the SHIFT-LOCK (or CAPS-LOCK) key is on, that is the same as pressing and holding the SHIFT key. Make sure it is not on while playing the game.
     
  13. timerover51

    timerover51 Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Messages:
    3,491
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Chicago area in Illinois
    Ah, thank you, Padma. That explains why the game goes into hyperactivity after one of my cats walks across my keyboard. One of the paws has hit the CAPS-LOCK key.
     
  14. aintnorock

    aintnorock Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    I seem to be getting more and more squares with double lines around them, and I can't place laborers in them.


    As for placing laborers, how do I ensure that they are producing the most they can?

    How can I change where they are working? I've tried to move a worker, and it seems to be moving some other worker. I'm so confused.
     
  15. Turner

    Turner Deity Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2002
    Messages:
    28,169
    Location:
    Randomistan
    You probably have cities that share tiles, and this means another city is using that tile.
     
  16. EMan

    EMan HOFer: Milk-Cow? Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,923
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Denver/Phoenix Born:Hampton Court
    In the City Screen, click on the tile you want to quit working, then click on the tile you want to work. :)
     
  17. aintnorock

    aintnorock Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    thanks


    Next question.

    I seem to have a lot of civil unrest in my cities. I'm having a hard time balancing warriors and such to hold down the rebellion and my fighting forces that are in a war. I get my cities happy, then send everyone off to war, and I'm successful at war, and then 3 cities rebel. Any suggestions?
     
  18. Aabraxan

    Aabraxan Mid-level Micromanager

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,314
    Location:
    Arkansas
    Yes, several.

    1) Use the lux slider. Hit F1 and you'll go to the domestic advisor screen. Two sliders are in the upper right corner. One is the science slider and turns gold into beakers. The other is the luxury slider and turns gold into content or happy faces.

    2) Hook up more luxuries. You can only benefit from 1 of each type of lux, so you get just as many happy faces from 1 set of silks as you do from 3. Having 1 of each type of lux, though, makes lots of people happy.

    3) Build marketplaces. These increase the effectiveness of luxuries, beginning with the 3rd lux.
     
  19. vmxa

    vmxa Deity Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    13,879
    Location:
    Oviedo, Fl
    Try to not get too many units killed, just like real nations, they do not like to lose troops. If you are going to be at war a lot, consider Monarchy.
     
  20. Aabraxan

    Aabraxan Mid-level Micromanager

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,314
    Location:
    Arkansas

Share This Page