1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Quick Answers / 'Newbie' Questions

Discussion in 'Civ3 - General Discussions' started by Turner, Apr 23, 2009.

  1. Turner

    Turner Deity Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2002
    Messages:
    28,169
    Location:
    Randomistan
    Yeah, that would mean it's a 'home' key, where you put your fingers for touch-typing. It's either the j&f key, or the k&d keys. Depends on the keyboard.
     
  2. thetrooper

    thetrooper Schweinhund

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    7,500
    Location:
    Hinter feindlichen Linien!
    My 'home-keys' are f and j. Pole position for the touch system.

    :smug:
     
  3. kalimah

    kalimah Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1
  4. Turner

    Turner Deity Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2002
    Messages:
    28,169
    Location:
    Randomistan
  5. Senethro

    Senethro Overlord

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    5,036
    Location:
    The cutest of cephalopods
    I've got the Steam version of Civ3 complete and am getting the error code 13 font error thing. I've googled around but get non-working/contradictory fixes.

    After adding the Civ3 version of lsans to windows/fonts I deleted fonts until there were less than 220, but that didn't fix it either.

    Given that this sounds like a really ******** bug to have in a game surely there must be some kind of community fix?
     
  6. Northen Wolf

    Northen Wolf Young Hunter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2,241
    Location:
    Estonia
    Seems to be quite common problem.

    Few posts I searched through:
    Solution #1
    Sticky (goes for error 28, but maybe works with 13 too?)

    If none above posts work then First, go to Advanced Search choose Civilization III technical support and search for "Font Error" Gives several threads.

    If these do not help, make post into this sub-forum. Provide as many details as you can.

    Hope It works out.
     
  7. Senethro

    Senethro Overlord

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    5,036
    Location:
    The cutest of cephalopods
    Yeah, all the fixes refer to lsans.fot which I don't have anywhere on my computer. I don't know if thats unique to the Steam version or what. I don't believe its a hidden file either.
     
  8. Bratmon

    Bratmon Super Bratmon 3

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Messages:
    584
    Location:
    /dev/random
    Why'd the old thread get closed?

    It's only ten as big as when they close threads in OT.
     
  9. Turner

    Turner Deity Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2002
    Messages:
    28,169
    Location:
    Randomistan
    Because I felt like starting a new thread.

    Also, I seem to remember that threads over 10k posts in vB tend to drastically reduce forum performance. Or maybe I want to remember that....

    Anyways, periodically we close it and start a new thread.
     
  10. r16

    r16 not deity

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,902
    ı have long believed the guy who announced discoveries in Civ1 was Sid Meier , who also , in my view appears as the science advisor in Civ 3 . Assuming they are real people , who are the other advisors then ?
     
  11. Calis

    Calis on time

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    8,967
    Location:
    Germany GMT+1
    I think this is just true for Sid to honour him as the creator of the series...
     
  12. SleeperLv

    SleeperLv Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Yeah man Sid rox! Hes a really great guy. Theres another board game designer from Germany, dont remember whats his name, hes creator of Settlers of Catan. And also Richard Garfield, designer/creator of Magic The Gathering. Those three i will always remember as guys who's minds dont have boundaries, endless flow of information and data and ideas. They are also one of few, if i'm not mistaken, who really earn their living by game designing:D
     
  13. Calis

    Calis on time

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    8,967
    Location:
    Germany GMT+1
    Klaus Teuber is his name....:)
     
  14. Spoonwood

    Spoonwood Grand Philosopher

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,884
    Location:
    Ohio
    Will Wright?
     
  15. andvruss

    andvruss Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,932
    Location:
    Росси
    I changed corruption on Monarch level to be 33% in the CivConquest editor, but it seems to only affected me, not the AI. I was wondering why I was 6 techs ahead of every one halfway through the Ancient Era....How would this fixed to also include AI corruption levels?
     
  16. Shylock

    Shylock Hey smiling strange

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Messages:
    2,769
    Location:
    Los Anzeless
    I want to get interested in Civ3 and get good at it. Should I start with a small map and duel the AI at first or start a huge game and go from there.
     
  17. Aabraxan

    Aabraxan Mid-level Micromanager

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,314
    Location:
    Arkansas
    I would suggest neither. Huge and small maps tend to distort the game somewhat. I'd stick with a standard map, continents, standard number of civs. I say "standard number of civs" because changing the number of civs in the game changes the frequency with which resources appear. You don't want to get stuck on a huge map, going for conquest victory against 1 or 2 AI opponents, only to discover that the only sources of coal are halfway around the world, and the AI hasn't been bright enough to hook them up. Anyway, I think what I've suggested will give you a feel for sort of a generic Civ 3 game. Once you've gotten the hang of that, then start tinkering with settings.

    Oh, and don't forget to hit the War Academy.
     
  18. SleeperLv

    SleeperLv Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Yes thats him!
     
  19. Zefyrinus

    Zefyrinus Regent

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    370
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Sweden
    Maybe they're not playing on monarch? Try setting it to 33% on all difficulty levels.
     
  20. Padma

    Padma the Inbond Administrator Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2001
    Messages:
    14,410
    Location:
    Omaha, Nebraska USA
    IIRC, the AI always plays Regent. ???
     

Share This Page