1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Quick Modding Questions Thread

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Creation & Customization' started by kiwitt, Jan 27, 2010.

  1. 5040vision

    5040vision Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2020
    Messages:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    I realized I could create a similar option by having the SPECIALIST_CITIZEN give +1shield AND +1culture I suppose. But still interesting if it can be done the first way I asked.
     
  2. Louis the XIV

    Louis the XIV Sun King

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2020
    Messages:
    747
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Court of Versailles
    Go to Assets/XML/GameInfo/CIV4ProcessInfo.xml and simply change this line <TechPrereq>TECH_MUSIC</TechPrereq>.
    The file is not in BtS so I uploaded it below for you to download.
     

    Attached Files:

    5040vision likes this.
  3. Louis the XIV

    Louis the XIV Sun King

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2020
    Messages:
    747
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Court of Versailles
    Also I don't understand what you mean when you say "Shields".
    Could you please tell me what you mean by that?
     
  4. 5040vision

    5040vision Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2020
    Messages:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Thanks. Worked like a charm! Was also easy to have "2" culture things. So first an option for 25% conversion rate, and then +50% once you discoever Music. Surprising how easy that was to fix :)

    Sorry, I have played a lot of civilization but never really talked to others about it like this before.

    I think I call production shield to myself since they were shields in the Civilization 2-games :) hahaha. I noticed they are hammers in Civ4, never really thought about that before.

    Also you are very helpful since you are so specific with your help! Exactly what I was looking for.
     
  5. Louis the XIV

    Louis the XIV Sun King

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2020
    Messages:
    747
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Court of Versailles
    Thank you!
    Now I understand what shield is! Anyway I am always happy to help a fellow civ fan.
     
  6. Louis the XIV

    Louis the XIV Sun King

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2020
    Messages:
    747
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Court of Versailles
    By the way @5040vision are you going to create a mod or is this just for your own entertainment?
     
  7. 5040vision

    5040vision Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2020
    Messages:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Probably just for myself to be honest. Any specific suggestions?
     
  8. Louis the XIV

    Louis the XIV Sun King

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2020
    Messages:
    747
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Court of Versailles
    I was curios because if you are creating a mod I would like to help you in more depth, I remember when I just started modding! There were so many questions I wanted to ask.
     
  9. LPlate2

    LPlate2 Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2018
    Messages:
    149
    Hi,

    What version of blender do people use for modding for Civ IV?
    If its earlier than 2.9, where can you get a reliable, legitimate copy of it?
    What versions of blender (with possible add-ons) work with both nif and nb2 files?
     
  10. bluepotato

    bluepotato Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2018
    Messages:
    262
    According to merijn_v1's tutorial, 2.79 is the latest version that works. You'd get that from the official blender page at https://www.blender.org/download/previous-versions/.
    Addons and stuff like that are also described in the tutorial, so I'd recommend you to check it out.
     
    Nightinggale and LPlate2 like this.
  11. Zeta Nexus

    Zeta Nexus Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    4,041
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    In a constant brainstorm...
    When saving my game in the WorldBuilder as a scenario file and then load it there is no interface.
    upload_2020-11-20_20-57-0.png
    Anyone knows why this happens? What's causing it? :confused:
     
  12. Louis the XIV

    Louis the XIV Sun King

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2020
    Messages:
    747
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Court of Versailles
    You probably have interface off. Click ALT + i and see what happens.
    Or enable python exceptions and see if it gives you an error.
     
  13. Zeta Nexus

    Zeta Nexus Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    4,041
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    In a constant brainstorm...
    No. That was my first guess as well.
    I think it's on, but will check it.
     
    Louis the XIV likes this.
  14. Nightinggale

    Nightinggale Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,462
    I modded the DLL in WTP to enable python errors at startup because I missed a world builder bug because the ini file had reset itself.

    My guess is that it's a python issue in Python/pyWB/CvWBDesc.py. That file handles loading and saving of scenario files. In other words it has load code, which only triggers on load and with no other hints, that's most certainly a candidate.
     
    Louis the XIV likes this.
  15. Zeta Nexus

    Zeta Nexus Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    4,041
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    In a constant brainstorm...
    Another question:
    When addig a new wonder to the game, can it cause any problems if I don't disable it for the barbarians in CivilizationInfos? I mean some AI decision making or similar that may cause a CTD.

    When I edited the above scenario with WB and assigned all barbarian units and cities to a non barbarian civ, then I could get past the turn that otherwise always CTD (but there no interface now)
     
  16. Louis the XIV

    Louis the XIV Sun King

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2020
    Messages:
    747
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Court of Versailles
    To disable a building/unit/wonder for a civilization go to the CIV4CivilizationInfos.xml and make a new entry like this:
    BUILDING_STONEHENGE
    BUILDING_NONE
    This is the best way to disable a building.
     
  17. Zeta Nexus

    Zeta Nexus Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    4,041
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    In a constant brainstorm...
    I appreciate your helpful spirit ;) but that was not the question. I know how that works.
    With other words: Is there any reason why the barbarians shouldn't be able to build wonders? And again, I'm not talking about balance but performance and bugs.
     
  18. Zeta Nexus

    Zeta Nexus Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    4,041
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    In a constant brainstorm...
    And how to fix it? I tryed comparing CvWBDesc.py with the one in WTP but all I understood of it is "Don't touch it!" :lol:
    I have attached the file in case it helps.
     

    Attached Files:

  19. f1rpo

    f1rpo plastics

    Joined:
    May 22, 2014
    Messages:
    838
    Location:
    Germany
    One possible cause for a crash that comes to mind: The Barbarians don't have a capital. Non-Barbarian civs also don't have a capital at game start (also: Complete Kills option), so the AI always needs to check whether a capital exists, but, for a wonder that can't be constructed at game start, a missing has-capital check in your mod's AI code (A New Dawn DLL) might've gone unnoticed. The AI evaluation of buildings in a Barbarian city would normally happen on the Barbarian turn, i.e. the crash should then occur at the end of the AI player turns (assuming that the human player is in slot 0).
     
    Louis the XIV and Zeta Nexus like this.
  20. bluepotato

    bluepotato Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2018
    Messages:
    262
    This makes me wonder, why isn't there just a boolean XML attribute to disable all wonders for a player? I mean, having to edit that list every time you add a new one is quite error-prone (nothing reminds you to do it when you forget), especially when you have multiple civs that work like barbarians (e.g. RFC independents).
     
    Louis the XIV likes this.

Share This Page