1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Quick Questions and Answers

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by ori, Sep 25, 2010.

  1. psparky

    psparky Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    401
    Gender:
    Male
    Thanks for the answers to my questions. I will consider how to apply this info to my current games and take these points into account in my future games.
     
  2. meatpardle

    meatpardle Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2015
    Messages:
    169
    Is there any way to prevent turning out Great Prophets?

    In a desert-heavy location I chose the Desert Folklore pantheon and my faith is through the roof - all my cities have Pagodas and I was hoping to stash faith until I can start to use it to buy GEs, but even with the auto-purchase switched off and 'remind me later' selected it also gives me a GP when I have enough faith.

    It seems such a waste the keep generating GPs to convert foreign cities when I'd rather have a more useful great person later in the game.
     
  3. beetle

    beetle Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Messages:
    5,809
    Location:
    Frederick, MD
    ^^ That can be quite annoying. But it is a good problem to have because it means that your faith production is great!

    Keep in mind that the early GPr are relatively cheap. So the first few are not much hampering your later GP purchases. What is your founder belief? Why not try and covert the lands of the AIs that have not founded?

    The other thing I will do is faith purchase a few Inquisitors, if I have any expectations at all of capturing Holy Cities. Get them while they are cheap!
     
  4. Browd

    Browd Dilettante Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    11,639
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    The only way to stop auto-purchases of Great Prophets is to race to get the Industrial Era as quickly as possible. As an alternative to burning GPs on spread missions that you don't really care about, you can plant the GP to form a Holy Site which will generate 6 faith per turn (10 faith per turn if you take the Freedom level 2 tenet New Deal, +3 gold per turn if you take the Piety policy Theocracy and +3 culture if you take the Piety finisher).
     
  5. meatpardle

    meatpardle Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2015
    Messages:
    169
    Thanks for the tips, I have tithe so have been yomping around the map converting other cities without their own religion for a bit of extra gold, I suppose planting a Holy Site to help generate faith for when I can use it for GEs would be wise.

    I was sort of hoping that I could get to the Industrial era and then suddenly churn out four of five GE/GS, I guess that would be too easy!
     
  6. Evilguacamoli

    Evilguacamoli Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Are there any mods that could make exploration more realistic/harder? like if your in a desert or snow tiles without any rivers or lakes around you take some hp of damage or maybe scurvy for ships?
    I want it so that you don't have the entire continent explored by like 2000 bc. Thanks
     
  7. Crus8r

    Crus8r Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    Messages:
    56
    Great General/Admiral Points are earned in combat, rather than by specialists/wonders in cities...so obviously can't be buffed by Gardens or National Epic. But are they buffed by the LToP or by the Freedom/Order tenents that increase GPP?

    Crus8r
     
  8. Sclb

    Sclb Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015
    Messages:
    1,283
    Pretty sure they're only buffed by certain UU that increases GG points earned. You can't buff them any other ways. An easy way to farm GG/GA point is to be in a permanent war with a CS. You're allowed to DoW a CS once without penalty, so just stay at war with that CS and keep shooting with ranged units/ships.
     
  9. Kolaris

    Kolaris Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2015
    Messages:
    279
    What determines where a Great Prophet will spawn?

    I took a city from Egypt only a couple turns before my Great Prophet spawned, and on the last turn of the siege Egypt founded a Religion in it.

    It's not my Majority Religion, my Pantheon still appears in the Religion overview. But no matter how many times I reload, my Great Prophet spawns in Memphis with Egypt's Religion.

    Is there any way I can influence where my Great Prophet is born?
     
  10. LordBalkoth

    LordBalkoth Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2014
    Messages:
    525
    From what you describe, I assume it spawns in a holy city, preferring your own capital if possible. Sounds like maybe you hadn't founded your own religion yet? I'd hope you would be able to move the prophet back to your capital and found a religion there, but unsure -- never had that situation happen.
     
  11. Volcanon

    Volcanon Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    296
    How do I coup? When I put a spy in a city state he rigs elections but I only get a tiny bump in favor and not the massive bonus the coups get.

    Do you get the option of starting your own religion with that great prophet?

    Unless Egypt's religion is super special crispy (mosques AND pagodas or something) you can have a inquisitor wipe it out. If it's super crispy just take it as your own or maybe get the buildings then start your own religoin (with monasteries and cathedrals).
     
  12. LordBalkoth

    LordBalkoth Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2014
    Messages:
    525
    Coups are done from the spy menu.
     
  13. psparky

    psparky Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    401
    Gender:
    Male
    I had four (local) horse, which I traded for GPT. I then got a CS ally (that i expected to keep long term) who gave me two horses. These were then used to build two knights. When the first deals (for two horses) expired, I was not able to renew (having no horses to trade).

    I was aware that I couldn't export imported resources, but I expected the units I built to use the imports first. It seems the imports are only useful if I want to build six horse units (or to satisfy another CS quest). Is my new understanding of the mechanics correct, or am I still missing something?

    Also, with CS quests, if I am trading all copies of a luxury or strategic resource that they desire, can I renew the trade when the trading partner requests it and still satisfy the quest, or do I need to keep it until my turn (or even for a full turn)?

    Thanks for any help.:)
     
  14. LordBalkoth

    LordBalkoth Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2014
    Messages:
    525
    The game is trying to prevent this situation...

    1, you have 10 horses.
    2, you trade them away.
    3, you get 10 more horses from a CS ally.
    4, you build 10 knights
    5, you lose the alliance with the CS (someone else gets more influence, there's a coup, Venice buys it out, etc) and then you are stuck at -10 horses with a 50% combat penalty because you've effectively traded away the imports

    So yes, the imported strategics are "only" useful for building units/buildings or for fulfilling a CS quest.

    And you need to possess the resource on the CS's turn -- which means letting the deal end and then going another turn.
     
  15. yew

    yew Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Messages:
    40
    Each time the border grows, how many new hexes will appear to "claim" the surrounding land?
     
  16. Browd

    Browd Dilettante Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    11,639
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    Not sure what you are asking, but only one hex is added to your culture borders at a time. On the city view screen, you may see multiple additional hexes highlighted in purple, indicating that those are "candidate" tiles for the next expansion. But when the border next expands, only one of those tiles will be selected.

    And just because those tiles are highlighted by one city does not mean that those tiles are "claimed" to the exclusion of others. (That is, even when highlighted those tiles may be added to another city's culture borders (either another of your cities or an enemy city).)
     
  17. BlackWizard

    BlackWizard King

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    631
    Universal Healthcare gives +1 happiness per National Wonder. Are Guilds considered as National Wonders?
     
  18. Ansive

    Ansive Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    342
    Guilds don't count, since their price does not grow with more cities.


    Question about positive diplomacy modifiers

    Freeing civilians (You freed their captured citizens):
    - does freeing captured citizens (workers, missionaries) stack, or is freeing one the maximum?
    - if it stacks how high does it go?
    - and how fast does the bonus fade?

    Landmarks (You built a Landmark in their territory):
    - does the bonus stack or is 1 landmark the maximum?

    Favorable trading deals (We've traded recently):
    - I usually just try to get the text to bright green (which usually means 2gpt), it that enough, or does it stack higher?
    - if it stacks higher what is the maximum for a friendly civ? (5gpt, 7gpt?)
     
  19. LordBalkoth

    LordBalkoth Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2014
    Messages:
    525
  20. Bloodstone

    Bloodstone Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    276
    Location:
    Tallahassee
    Silly question. Just started playing V, diggin it. Picked up my first spy and it would appear that I have a good lead in tech so far. How do I find out when/if the AI has stolen a Tech from me? I'm just getting used to this new Spy system in BNW so I don't totally get it yet but is there a notification somewhere that tells me they have stolen something?
     

Share This Page