1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Quick Questions and Answers

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by ori, Sep 25, 2010.

  1. ori

    ori Repair Guy Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    16,537
    Location:
    Baden-Württemberg, Germany
    With the release of the game there have been multiple threads already covering recurring questions, so lets try to find them a place.

    Civrules put it ever so well in the Civ4 Quick Answers thread, so lets leave it at what he wrote:

     
  2. YohanLeafheart

    YohanLeafheart Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    264
    Location:
    Campinas - SP, Brazil
    Is this the place for rules question? If so.

    What does a Pact of Cooperation gives?
    What does a Pact of Secrecy do?
    Is there a way to know exactly when a Military City State will give you an unit?
     
  3. willysoft

    willysoft Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Hi,

    Does anyone know if you can rotate the view in Civ V like you could in IV? I've tried shift-arrows, ctrl-arrows, etc., but no good.

    I can't believe it isn't possible, bearing in mind the thing's rendered in 3D!

    Also, why is the default zoom depth only configurable in a config file rather than on the game settings screens?

    Thanks!

    (I ought to mention how much I've enjoyed playing today, though. Those City States! - what are they like?)
     
  4. YohanLeafheart

    YohanLeafheart Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    264
    Location:
    Campinas - SP, Brazil
    Does the Great General bonus stack with itself? I.E. If I have 2 GG on the vicinity, does my bonus double?
     
  5. YohanLeafheart

    YohanLeafheart Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    264
    Location:
    Campinas - SP, Brazil
    Which improvements cost maintenance? Only roads and railroads?
    What's the formula for the Trade Route yell?
     
  6. Snownova

    Snownova Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Messages:
    105
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Is it possible to rename cities?
     
  7. drunk_teddybear

    drunk_teddybear Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    Finland
    Is it possible to record a game?
    i enjoy watching my games later to see what i did good/bad


    Is your starting settler allways next to a river or say less than 4 tiles from a river?

    can people with the edition that contains babylon play it online to?
     
  8. Borya

    Borya Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    102
    Yes, there's a button Edit under the city name in the city view.

    My question: Is it possible to see a leader's attitude towards you, and how do the pacts change it?
     
  9. Iskra123

    Iskra123 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Hey guys!

    I would like to give my civ a specific name. But there isn't enough space for the name I would like to give them. Is there any possibility to change the letter limit???
     
  10. RoninXX

    RoninXX Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    I can't find a map editor. In the the previews I read, a map editor was mentioned and even pictures shown, but it'st no where to be found?!?
     
  11. grandad1982

    grandad1982 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,552
    @ Borya If your looking for the numbers like in Civ4 then your out of luck. in the diplo screen I will tell you if they are hostil etc. I think you have to go and talk to them and gauge their reactions to you. This was a consious design choice.

    My question is, can you place signs (in civ4 it was Alt S)?
     
  12. grandad1982

    grandad1982 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,552
    @ Snownova

    You can rename the cities from within the city screen
     
  13. Luca_zbr

    Luca_zbr Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Italy
    No :)
     
  14. Luca_zbr

    Luca_zbr Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Italy
     
  15. 19nazzy

    19nazzy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Are there no trade routes by placing cities on rivers?
     
  16. YohanLeafheart

    YohanLeafheart Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    264
    Location:
    Campinas - SP, Brazil
    That is true. I was talking about improvements like Mines, Farms, etc. On the gold overall it says how much you are expanding in improvements but not how much per improvement and which improvements in fact.
     
  17. Evalis

    Evalis Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    493
    Okay so what would actually make this a good sticky is if the top post included a list of all the questions asked and their answers... anyway I do have a question: Do the city states have a limit to how many units they can support, and if so, what is this limit?
     
  18. gunter

    gunter Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2002
    Messages:
    790

    Quote and bump

    I have the same questions
     
  19. Alex_K

    Alex_K Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Messages:
    57
    What building does the Great Scientist (supposedly...according to the description) create?

    I got my first Great Scientist in a one city empire which had Library; University; Great Library and unlike the description the Great Scientist didn't have an option to create an academy or other building. [I didn't have a spare city without library or University to test if it would create a building there.]

    I also am interested in just what the Pacts of Cooperation or Secrecy do.
     
  20. Crimso

    Crimso ...aaaaaagh!

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Messages:
    630
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    The Academy is now a tile improvement. Put your Great Scientist on a tile outside and build it there. It gives 5 beakers.

    I have one big problem: I can't get enough money! I know this is a big question but what are the main sources of gold in this game? How do I get the best out of a gold-specialized city?
     

Share This Page