1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

RevolutionDCM for BTS

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Modpacks' started by glider1, Feb 11, 2008.

  1. spaceman98

    spaceman98 Plotting something

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,639
    If you figure out the fixes for this, can you please post your revised code?
     
  2. 45°38'N-13°47'E

    45°38'N-13°47'E Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,972
    Location:
    Just wonder...
    Of course, I'll post my findings in the next days. :)
     
  3. 45°38'N-13°47'E

    45°38'N-13°47'E Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,972
    Location:
    Just wonder...
    Mmmm, I'm still missing something.
    Right now if you choose "defect" the game hangs as soon as you get control of your defecting units and try to move the first one.
    I've kind of solved the bug by just commenting out the line

    Code:
    game.setForcedAIAutoPlay(iPlayerID, 1, true) # Releases this player turn to the AI, human player changed below so that human now will control rebels
    (line 4983 in revolution.py).

    But there's a new problem, as I've explained earlier: right now when you choose to defect it looks like it does nothing until you end your turn. Then on the next turn you get control of the defecting units. Problem is that this behaviour is exploitable because you could kill all your "loyal" units after you've chosen to defect but before you start the next turn in control of your defecting units. I still think it's better because at least you can go on with the game as intended; but I'm still trying to figure out why you can't get control of your new civ straight away (or why you can't move more than 1 unit in the following turn, if you use the old code). Especially since "Accept and take control of the new civ" is working perfectly either if you remove that line of code or if you don't.
     
  4. Duuk

    Duuk Doom-Sayer Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,933
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Detroit, Michigan, USA
    For some reason, BUG doesn't want to recognize a Steam install of BtS. What file do I need to update to tell it the path to the game files?
     
  5. Drakarska

    Drakarska Epic Dadness

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,576
    Location:
    Twilight Zone
    Lemon doesn't' have the Steam version I believe. However, I think there was a similar question regarding your issue posted in her thread. I realize that this a few days late to your question, but better than nothing :).
     
  6. mqduck

    mqduck Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2002
    Messages:
    69
    Location:
    Mountain View, CA, USA
    Forgive me if this has been asked before, but is there a way to "turn down" this mod? I love what it does, but I'd like it to be more of a minor addition to the game rather than something that drastically changes how you have to play. Personally, I'd like the unrest/revolt chance to be about 50% what it is now and resistance spawn chance to be about 25% what it is now.

    Even just pointing to the right source file(s) to poke at would be great.
     
  7. rebirthluminary

    rebirthluminary Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 29, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Hello, I want to report a bit of a problem.

    I can't seem to look at other Civ's (and mine) religion in the scoreboard. I am currently playing using the steam version of the game. IIRC when I previously play using non-steam version of the game, I didn't notice this problem.

    Is this a problem solely for the steam version of the game?
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Colon

    Colon King

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2001
    Messages:
    756
    I realised I asked this before, but I didn't get an answer last time: how do I combine Next War with this mod? I've been given the impression it's supposed to be, like, supah-easy but I can't find any decent instructions. Am I supposed to drop the Next War folder into the RevDCM folder? Is there a menu for this somehere somewhere? What?
     
  9. Colon

    Colon King

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2001
    Messages:
    756
    I'm beginning to suspect this is not the place to be to get answers, but I have another questions: what exactly is national/empire stability and how does it interact with local stability?
     
  10. 45°38'N-13°47'E

    45°38'N-13°47'E Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,972
    Location:
    Just wonder...
    Merging mod is never as easy as dropping a folder, it usually requires changing python and in this case even dll files. About your question, I think national stability is connected with different nationalities of your citizens. There's a rather complicated formula in some python files, connecting all revolution parameters.
    Anyway I don't think this mod is still being developed so you probably won't get many answers here.
     
  11. Colon

    Colon King

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2001
    Messages:
    756
    Thanks. But what does national stability do? The same thing as local stability? I'm confused that it'd say my empire unstable and that my instability graph is peaking even though all my cities have little to none revolt risk. And then there are the separet revolt modifiers with civics.
     
  12. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,540
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    As far as I understand it local stability is city based. This includes buildings built or not, units stationed in the city, local tax rate, nationality of citizens and actions recently taken. National stability is based on empire wide things like civics, size of the empire (varied by era and civics I think) and your income, tax level and bank balance. The actual effect in a city is based on both of these.
     
  13. Colon

    Colon King

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2001
    Messages:
    756
    So you can perfectly well have an "unstable" empire based on national factors though all your cities are actually safe based on local factors.

    But why have separate stability modifiers with civics if they end up doing the same? Slavery gives +3 local instability and +1 national stability while serfdom gives +1 local and +3 national for instance.
     
  14. 45°38'N-13°47'E

    45°38'N-13°47'E Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,972
    Location:
    Just wonder...
    Because they're not simply added, they're multiplied for tweakable factors and AFAIK calculation is not straightforward but rather complex to give you a final revolution value for every city. So having 3 national and 1 empire stability/unstability points is not the same than having 1 and 3 respectively.
     
  15. Colon

    Colon King

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2001
    Messages:
    756
    Another question, now that answers are rolling in, is there a recommended map size/AI/game speed with barbarians civs and revolutions? Diplomacy gets tricky with all those extra parties in the game. My first game on a large map/aggressive AI/marathon was manic and halfway the game I'd gotten awful relationships with pretty much everyone except one and vassals, simply because of the torrid of war requests. Now a third into my second game, the same settings except with regular AI and it's been the complete opposite: predictable and dull. Maybe it's better to play this with aggressive AI on a standard map: less parties, less wars, but not less warlike.

    I see. Thanks.
     
  16. 45°38'N-13°47'E

    45°38'N-13°47'E Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,972
    Location:
    Just wonder...
    You have to play and discover by yourself. There are many mods including Revolution and the same option behaves differently in different mods. Also mapsize and handicap don't have the same meaning in different mods. If you're talking specifically of Revolution DCM, I don't know since I don't use it as a standalone mod.
     
  17. Colon

    Colon King

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2001
    Messages:
    756
    Yes, I was afraid of that.
     
  18. Colon

    Colon King

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2001
    Messages:
    756
    Here are a few suggestions: http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=506222

    Nothing quick'n easy though.

    I agree that the revolutions are too much. They'd be a nice thing to have to occasionally shake up the game, not to happen with clockwork regularity.
     
  19. Manfred Belheim

    Manfred Belheim Moaner Lisa

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,170
    I've just installed version 2.90 of this and when I try and open the Religion Advisor I get these errors. The first is when I first open the screen, the second is when I try and click "CANCEL" to close it. The only way I can close it is to open up another advisor and then close that. All the other advisor screens work okay.
     

    Attached Files:

  20. Manfred Belheim

    Manfred Belheim Moaner Lisa

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,170
    Looks like this was caused by trying to disable the BUG Religion Advisor screen. If I enabled it it works. Also found I can just copy in the original CvReligionScreen.py file if I want the standard screen.
     

Share This Page