1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Rhye's of Civilization - the fastest loading mod Expanded - PART II

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Completed Modpacks' started by Rhye, Feb 12, 2005.

  1. narmox

    narmox Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2001
    Messages:
    1,341
    Location:
    Canada
    Actually in my current game (Clash oF Empires, which is _mostly_ Rhye's on a standard world map), Democratic Republic, despite no support + 3gold/unit, I can research computers in 4 turns and make 144 extra gold/turn.

    With communism, same 4 turns, and 85 gold/turn. Fascism is a bit less though I admit pop loss might have something to do with it. Constitutional Monarchy comes in 2nd place, with 4 turns and 104 gold/turn.

    So yes, 3 gold/turn seems harsh, but you make so much money it's worth it unless you have a HUGE army.

    This is what I like about RoC/CoE though - most of the governments are still valid options all the way to the late game. It's not merely Democracy VS fascism...
     
  2. Gunner

    Gunner Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,389
    Location:
    Goochland, VA
    Communism gets extremely good once you start getting huge continent sized empires. It really is overpowered then.

    About dogpiles. They can be an issue sometimes, but not always. Its fairly easy to stay out of them if you either keep a strong army or always give in to demands. Its never worth it to have a war over what some country demands. It usually ends up that one of the major powers gets killed, Germany and Russia seem to be the most frequent.
     
  3. Three_Crowns

    Three_Crowns Information Retrieval

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2003
    Messages:
    171
    Location:
    Cph, Denmark
    Wow! Sounds like a very good and positive article. Well deserved :goodjob:
     
  4. Blasphemous

    Blasphemous Graulich

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    3,079
    Location:
    Jerusalem, Israel
    Actually the reason not to give in to demands in general is that when you do you're more likely to be bullied again...
    In my current Carthage game Rome demanded 30 gold*...
    So I conquered Italy.
    Now I'm almost done with Egypt, and then I'll turn on my old friend Portugal because I need the Coal (buying it at 35p/t from Germany isn't my preference). ^^

    *I had a couple thousand, even way back then
     
  5. Rod

    Rod Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Messages:
    754
    Location:
    Munich / Germany
    Hello,

    Certainly Democratic Republic is difficult, but that is more realistic, too ;)

    But also AI normally chooses the Democracy during times of Peace, but definitivly peace is always over from the invention of radio and the ability the share the communication partners. It is always amazing how fast AI is building Alliances and afterwards starts to cheat each other ;)

    In some games I try to stay out of this business and in some games I just join the party
    (that is normally the case when it would not rip me, that soon after France declared war on me, I am also in war with Maya, China and Zulu and that England (Furs), Japan (Silks) and America (Tobacco) join some trade embargo against me. It takes really too long times to take Louisana, Liverpool and the Phillipines just to have the same situation like before ;) )

    But I definitivly like how AI-Civs are equalling the levels of development in this way. During Mid-Age the differences of the Civs are really huge and it is very difficult to find potential trading partners and customers to sell tech. But after Radio ... trade loves war it seems..
     
  6. Blasphemous

    Blasphemous Graulich

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    3,079
    Location:
    Jerusalem, Israel
    The thing is, that when everyone has a max Anarchy of two turns, a gov't that's great for peacetime and impossible for prolonged or massive war is still a good gov't... You can always switch to ConMon or Fasc or Comm :)D) if you need to have a serious fight...
    I admit I myself still haven't gotten used to the fact that I can switch gov'ts all the time, but I haven't really played many games since we added that... I did once switch to a more peaceful gov't to build infrastructure between conquests, in my Germany game (the one where I'm an enormous Communist empire now.) I guess I still have a way to go...
     
  7. Breunor

    Breunor Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Messages:
    2,388
    Location:
    Earth
    Thanks for the comments, everyone. It has been my first full game.

    Yes, I also like the 2 -turn turnaround, so governments can be 'customized'. I have a large empire and army, and so for me it seems that Democratic Republic is too expensive. I switched to it, and had to immediately switch back!

    Narmox, I don't think of my army as 'huge' but its probably becaused I'm used to regular Conquests where we get used to churning out zillions of troops. I do need the big army because I have so many borders, so maybe staying on (Absolute) Monarchy really is best for me in this game.

    Gunner, I still think dogpiles are a problem going the other way now. I had a comfortable lead, my biggest enemy was England. Last game, they would have dogpiled me. But now I know the trick. Start by getting backward Civ's to join an alliance by giving them Techs. Then move up to stronger Civ's. I was able to get about 15 Civ's to declare war on England. So, I've learned how to reverse the dogpile 'problem' and now it may be a dogpile 'exploit'. Problem is, if I don't dogpile England, England will Dogpile me!

    Best wishes,

    Breunor
     
  8. Samurai Matt

    Samurai Matt Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    NC
    Hello, I've been trying to download this modpack for the past day, but unfortunately I have a crappy dial-up connection and a slow computer.... Whenever I'm in the middle of downloading this file, NetZero automatically turns off for "safety reasons." Is here any way I can download this quicker, or figure out a way to turn off this safety thing? Thank you.
     
  9. CivKingTroy

    CivKingTroy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Hello all!

    I will be picking up my copy of Civ3 again after selling it. So that I can test and tweak RHYE's great mod!

    CivKingTroy


    AKA
    ----
    HeartOfTroy
    Tacfun
    KingOfCiv

    LOL!
     
  10. the100thballoon

    the100thballoon Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    1,239
    please clarify: you sold your copy of Civ3 to buy it back?
     
  11. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,468
    Location:
    Japan / South America
    I asked to include the mod in their mod download zone, and they instead decided to make a review out of it, too.



    p.s. please ask your questions here rather than by pm as my box is pretty full
     
  12. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,468
    Location:
    Japan / South America
    Oooooh, welcome back! :D
    You've been missing since last autumn, so you've been left behind to basic RoC.
    Have a look at the expanded and let us know what you think!
     
  13. CivKingTroy

    CivKingTroy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Yes, I did sell my old copy for money at the time. Yes I was stupid to do it!!! :(

    Rhye, thanks for welcoming me back! I love that you kept some of my forum posts as high-lights..heh. I will pick up CivIII Complete in a couple days. Im trying to find a good price on it. Rhye please tell me they hired you to work on civ4? If not they are making a HUGE mistake!

    Thanks all,

    CivKingTroy
     
  14. CivKingTroy

    CivKingTroy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Update...Might be a bit longer...I just bought Gary Grigsby's "World at War"! OMG...I have been waiting for a game like this all my life!!! The new era of AXIS&ALLIES ...Same great fun but more complex, yet easy to play and turn based with great graphics!!!

    CivKingTroy
     
  15. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,468
    Location:
    Japan / South America
    I'm not sure Civ III Complete will work.
    Civ III + Conquests, the standard combo, is the only one certified :)
     
  16. CivKingTroy

    CivKingTroy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Ah, thanks. I know I used CivIII Gold + Conquest and it use to work! Thanks for telling me that! Does anyone know if it will work?

    CivKingTroy
     
  17. Three_Crowns

    Three_Crowns Information Retrieval

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2003
    Messages:
    171
    Location:
    Cph, Denmark
    Civ III Complete definitely works - it is just a box with Civ3 and C3C... It is local language versions that probably does not work.
     
  18. Traxer2

    Traxer2 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    45
    Just Dled this nice mod !

    *edit* hehe info on cattle and game lack tech req

    anyways good work :goodjob:
     
  19. Gunner

    Gunner Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,389
    Location:
    Goochland, VA
    Well, it really depends on what country you are playing and what type of game you are playing. I prefer the approach Aeon has talked about, realistic historical expansion. It really just seems like more fun to me when I don't conquer the world during the Middle Ages.

    For that reason I usually give in to demands, at least early on, because I try to expand peacefully. Also, if you are a techbroker then a war is almost certainly unprofitable, even if its just against one person. Having more than 2 people declare war on you when you are a techbroker will destroy your economy completely. The best example of this was my Dutch game where I only had 2 cities in Europe, yet about 20 overall.
     
  20. Blasphemous

    Blasphemous Graulich

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    3,079
    Location:
    Jerusalem, Israel
    The problem is once you give in, others will come knocking, and if you keep giving in you'll end up giving your rivals valuable stuff...
     

Share This Page