1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Rhye's of Civilization - the fastest loading mod Expanded

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Completed Modpacks' started by Rhye, Feb 5, 2004.

?

Rate this mod!

  1. I can't play Civ without this: no more loading times!

    203 vote(s)
    66.6%
  2. A good mod, but I won't play with it

    54 vote(s)
    17.7%
  3. I don't like the map

    13 vote(s)
    4.3%
  4. I don't like the terrain

    9 vote(s)
    3.0%
  5. I don't like the additions

    5 vote(s)
    1.6%
  6. I don't like the rules changes

    21 vote(s)
    6.9%
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Skywacker

    Skywacker Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Who said I was very good? lol, just trying to have fun. My only prob with Civ is that the things that make it harder make it less fun. The AI should be smarter, not stacked with advantages. imo...

    Anyway, thanks for your Mod/maps Rhye. I've spent many days playing on them.

    -Sky
     
  2. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,468
    Location:
    Japan / South America
    thanks for your vote ;)

    Remember to come back when the Xpack comes out
     
  3. Blasphemous

    Blasphemous Graulich

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    3,079
    Location:
    Jerusalem, Israel
    Skywacker, the advantages given to them in RoC are pretty balanced and I think mainly serve in helping them survive. You should try playing unmodified RoC 2.62 at Emperor. Use Austria or Rome or some other powerful civ if you aren't very good - in RoC civ choice is what really dictates difficulty.

    Rhye, I didn't end up starting the game yet, but I will tomorrow and this weekend will see a great growth in Japanese power. :D
     
  4. Aeon221

    Aeon221 Lord of the Cheese Helmet

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,900
    Location:
    Hiding from the Afro-Eurasians
    My weekend will see a great growth in the number of pages of writing in the world ;p so I doubt there will be time for much else haha

    Yeah Rhye I looked at yours and it was bloody amazing! HAha thats why I said mine was utterly worthless ;p

    I looked on globalsecurity.org and here is what I found out about US subs:

    LA class can hold 12
    Seawolf class has launch equipment, unspecified as to whether it actually carries or how many it can carry (primarily a quiet attack sub)
    Virginia class can carry and launch, but carry capacity is unlisted (cheaper form of Seawolf)
    Ohio class can carry 24 Tridents, which is probably synonymous with 24 cruise missiles.


    However, heres something about the DD-963 SPRUANCE-class (DD stands for destroyer): Originally developed as Anti-Submarine (ASW) destroyers, in the 1980s and 90s twenty-four ships of this class were upgraded with the installation of a 61 cell Vertical Launch Missile System (VLS) capable of launching Tomahawk and Harpoon missiles.
     
  5. Blasphemous

    Blasphemous Graulich

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    3,079
    Location:
    Jerusalem, Israel
    Just finished my first session as Japan (played up to 1000AD).
    Only have one complaint so far: the Samurai's pedia entry says "The War Elephant recieves two additional Hit Points on its Health Bar." This may be true but it has little to do with the Samurai. ;)
     
  6. enen

    enen Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    28
    Hi Rhye,

    I've checked 2.62 and it's great! However, I have found some anomalies in RoC: first at all, marsh and jungle clearing are coming together: both of them are available (this isn't bothering me, but maybe you don't know this). Having such a large basic turn setting, it will let to clear marsh and jungle possible only on a few tiles, so basically the original idea of having large jungles will not be affected.

    Another thing is that when you play the basic game, depending on world map size and number of civilizations, sooner or later any piece of land will belong to one of rival civilizations, and then (at the latest) wars will begin for the already occupied land. In RoC this is not going to happen, because there is always some land (till navigation in Eurasia, Africa and Oceania), later in Americas and Australia, so basically that moment of every settleable land is belonging to someone is never arive. And because of this, there are too few wars. In my games Australia, for ex had a plenty of free, settleable land even in modern times.
    Maybe you should try to fine-tune a bit settler costs, or make food/shields production boost even more for european civilizations in the beginning of industrial era, or anything else that can help them to ocuppy all free land till the end of industrial era, at the latest.
     
  7. Lachlan

    Lachlan Great Builder of Civs !

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2002
    Messages:
    2,072
    Location:
    European Union
    Solution : disable all conditions victory and set agressivity to 5
     
  8. Chukchi Husky

    Chukchi Husky Lone Wolf

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    6,681
    Location:
    Bath, England
    The Terracotta Army produces U2s.
     
  9. Blasphemous

    Blasphemous Graulich

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    3,079
    Location:
    Jerusalem, Israel
    The first is on porpose - just like in real life, it's very rare for large areas of jungle or marsh to be cleared, and it takes ages to do so.
    The second is simply not true, unless you're playing on the wrong difficulty level. In my games on RoC there are plenty of wars, and land runs out pretty quickly, until the right techs are discovered for colonization of Africa, Australia, and the Americas, and then when that space runs out there are again wars for territory. (Even during the colonization phase.)
    Also very often there are wars that are not territory-based, like the Mongols trying to invade Europe or China, and other stuff.
     
  10. Skywacker

    Skywacker Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    So if civs run out of room that causes them to go to war?
    And if the only victory condition is domination, they will fight more also?

    I found in my game that mutual protection pacts and the availability of alliances dramaticly increases wars. At one point I was at war with every single nation except the Mongols who was also on the wrong of things.

    -Skywacker
     
  11. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,468
    Location:
    Japan / South America
    :lol: LOL! Thanks.


    EDIT: and the slave trade produces Machinegunners! Try and have fun :p
     
  12. Blasphemous

    Blasphemous Graulich

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    3,079
    Location:
    Jerusalem, Israel
    Argh. Should I fix it in the biq and restart? The Chinese just finished the Teracotta Army, and I recently had a war with them. Not sure I want to fight them if they have U2s.
    But I really don't wanna play as Japan again if I restart. I would rather someone else who hasn't played as Japan in RoX do that, while i play as someone else (China, Russia, Mongols, Austrians, or America. Or someone else that requires testing.)
     
  13. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,468
    Location:
    Japan / South America
    Blasp. already answered for me.
    I can add that earlier communication trading is enabled, earlier a world war happens.
     
  14. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,468
    Location:
    Japan / South America
    Do what you want. Japan itself doesn't need testing.
    The Kamikaze needs testing ASAP. You could edit your biq and assign it to the civ you want to pick
     
  15. Lachlan

    Lachlan Great Builder of Civs !

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2002
    Messages:
    2,072
    Location:
    European Union
    I WANT A PATCH PLEASE ! Ready for 0.51 or 0.52
     
  16. Blasphemous

    Blasphemous Graulich

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    3,079
    Location:
    Jerusalem, Israel
    Well, it would be unbalancing and unhistorical to give another civ the Kamikaze. Can someone else please volunteer to play a test game as Japan all the way till the early modern age, to see how the Kamikaze works out?
     
  17. Gunner

    Gunner Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,389
    Location:
    Goochland, VA
    How big is the X pack now? I have dial up and dont want to have to download large files needlessly.

    I would like to test it if you need someone to do Japan urgently. Or if you dont I would still like to.
     
  18. Aeon221

    Aeon221 Lord of the Cheese Helmet

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,900
    Location:
    Hiding from the Afro-Eurasians
    I can test tomorrow, but today is study/writing day. earliest I will have data is Sunday.

    HOWEVER, since the general UU trend in the mod is AWAY from missile units, I would like to suggest that someone think of a non-missile unit... since I cant ;p

    Maybe a ship of some kind, considering how powerful the Japanese Navy was, or an Infantry unit of some type with higher defense and the ability to build fortifications. Japanese troops WERE famous for their quality, and also for their dogged defense of every scrap of territory they controlled.

    I am against the mobile tower of the Persians; it doesnt seem like a very useful unit, and when you consider how long Persia been inhabited it seems like we could do better. How about some kind of Iranian unit? Or (like we need another one) a horse archer UU?
     
  19. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,468
    Location:
    Japan / South America
    unhistorical? I'm talking of a test game, not of the definitive version of the mod!!
     
  20. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,468
    Location:
    Japan / South America
    Now it is about 35 MB. It may grow up to 80 MB.

    Don't worry for the dial-up, I'll break the pack in many parts
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page