1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Settling Islands

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Strategy & Tips' started by Ansar, Apr 4, 2007.

  1. Aabraxan

    Aabraxan Mid-level Micromanager

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,106
    Location:
    Arkansas
    I don't think I missed that.

    Take a look at the net shields and gold. They have a finite range of utility, but they're not entirely useless.
     
  2. WaterDragoon

    WaterDragoon Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    99
    Abra....please elaborate. What do you mean by net and utility?
     
  3. Aabraxan

    Aabraxan Mid-level Micromanager

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,106
    Location:
    Arkansas
    You wrote:

    First, I'm not sure what you mean by "they cost 2 gold." If you mean that they cost the two gold that you could otherwise collect by hiring a taxman instead, you're exactly right. However, you can switch through the various specialists and look at the effects on gold and shields. What's leftover after corruption and waste is the "net" shields and gold. For example, a taxman will produce 2 uncorrupted gold (in C3C). Hiring a policeman instead may cause you to lose the taxman's 2 gold, but the kind officer might shift a gold and a shield to uncorrupted gold. I don't have the intricacies all worked out in my own head, but according to Bede's article "The Role of the Specialist Citizen," the gold and shields made uncorrupted by the police can then be increased by multiplier buildings, unlike the taxman's gold. And one extra shield may be enough to shave a turn off of the build time on something, while one extra taxman may not generate enough gold to support cash-rushing.

    However, depending on the city's corruption level, the police may or may not make enough of a difference to warrant hiring him. This is what I mean by "finite utility." Much like a courthouse, there's a range of corruption and waste that can be fixed by police. In a size 6, 90% corrupt city, one extra shield means that you get 2 uncorrupted. Probably smarter to hire taxmen. In a 60% corrupt town, however, you might go from 9 uncorrupted shields to 10. That's the difference between 12-turn tanks and 10-turn tanks.
     
  4. MAS

    MAS Deity

    Joined:
    May 18, 2002
    Messages:
    2,080
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    if one extra shields makes the difference between a 3 turn Modern Armour and a 2 turn Modern Armour, then you basically improved productivity by 50% percent.

    You have to look at it on a per case basis.
     
  5. SuperBeaverInc.

    SuperBeaverInc. Groucho

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    14,923
    Location:
    British Columbia
    I usually settle islands. Mostly because I can, but sometimes it will have a purpose. For example settling an island just so the AI can't get it, or on Continents map, I will either settle or capture an island that I deem to be of strategic value. For example one that allows me to control a waterway, gives me a launching pad for invasions of another continent, or is within a suitable distance for bomber strikes.
     
  6. TheOverseer714

    TheOverseer714 Overseer

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    5,077
    Location:
    Ohio
    I used to settle any island I could get to, but they can be hard to defend, and corruption-ridden. I found them to be not worth the effort, unless they have luxuries or strategic resources that you need. If they have those things later, then take them. Let the seafaring AI's get them, they usually do anyway. Unless YOU are a seafaring civ, because theres a bonus for coastal cities that increases commerce and seems to lessen corruption.
     
  7. Desertsnow

    Desertsnow πr²

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,794
    I'll settle any land that I can lay hand on if the city is not going to be too corrupt. This means I'll settle any island that is reasonably close to my homeland but will not go halfway around the world just to grab it, at least not before I can revolt to Democracy or Communism. I'll conquer any land, insular or continental, that is close to my own territory, though, if it comes to that. :)
     
  8. Aceman101

    Aceman101 Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,522
    Usually you don't get Islands that are close to your homeland.
     
  9. Desertsnow

    Desertsnow πr²

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,794
    I do get them occasionally though.
     
  10. Aceman101

    Aceman101 Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,522
    I've never got them before. But I did notice there are many more Islands in complete than vanilla.
     
  11. pat4

    pat4 Believe it!!!

    Joined:
    May 7, 2005
    Messages:
    524
    Location:
    Ireland
    I usually don't bother I grab as much land on a continent as possible. If the island is free when I'm done expanding I'll go for it.
     
  12. Goldenbow

    Goldenbow Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    Sweden
    I always settle small islands +tactical espically for bombers and submarine basses and a king in one of them with a lot of defensive units
     
  13. Sashie VII

    Sashie VII Balance of Power

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,370
    Location:
    Where people build cat statues
    I settle islands. If nothing else, they can help keep some civ alive. I don't like the number of opponents to go below 7, the F4 gets lonely. Plus some have resources,and more cities are always good.
     
  14. Aceman101

    Aceman101 Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,522
    And more wars with more opponents.
     
  15. Sweetchuck

    Sweetchuck King

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    649
    Funny - I just settled an island with a volcano on it, of all things.

    It had iron, and while I wasn't starving for iron - it was previously settled by India, who I was rapidly wiping out because I basically need more territory.

    I didn't need the island, but I took it anyway and made peace, leaving India 4 cities on a corner of the continent that we shared.

    I just have this thing for settling one-town islands, I guess.

    With only 4 cities left, you'd be suprised what a civ will bring to the bargaining table during peace negotiations. Needless to say, India was very good to me. :lol:
     
  16. Aceman101

    Aceman101 Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,522
    I have never had volcanoes on my continent. And I have been playing complete for a while. Is it common for volcanoes to show up?
     
  17. Mizar

    Mizar IM

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Messages:
    356
    On the higher difficult levels (deity, sid), you don't have this problem because the AI will settle the islands first 90% of the cases.
    You can (and should) only invest your limited settlers for cities that strenghten your economy, grab a much needed ressource or have a strategic value.
    On lower difficult levels, you can settle islands for a long-term strategic profit (for example when an island is between two landmasses it makes a good place to put your bombers and prepare your 1-turn invasion force)
     
  18. Sweetchuck

    Sweetchuck King

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    649
    Are you playing vanilla (which doesn't have volcanos)?

    I've played, I dunno - 4 or 5 games on the Conquests edition and have never had a civ without a volcano or 6 somewhere in my territory.
     
  19. Aceman101

    Aceman101 Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,522
    No, I just got complete a few weeks ago. I always see the AI have volcanoes in their territory but I never have any. I'd like to see the explosion one day :sad:.
     
  20. Sashie VII

    Sashie VII Balance of Power

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,370
    Location:
    Where people build cat statues
    Just the map generator then, Aceman. Try conquering that volcano and wait a few thousand years.
     

Share This Page