1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

SMACX and Windows 10

Discussion in 'Alpha Centauri' started by Petek, Aug 18, 2015.

  1. Petek

    Petek Alpha Centaurian Administrator Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    3,536
    Location:
    Berkeley, Calif., USA
    PM sent.
     
  2. HorseshoeHermit

    HorseshoeHermit 20% accurate as usual, Morty

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,274
    Location:
    Canada
    I tried using SmacX with Yitzii's 3.5 and I couldn't start the application. Reason was given as a pointer.

    I ran Smac on windows 10 before. I reset my OS and now not. What is this mojo that' s being passed in PM?
     
  3. Petek

    Petek Alpha Centaurian Administrator Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    3,536
    Location:
    Berkeley, Calif., USA
    The information that's being passed by PM applies only if you're running the Sold-out Software (SOS) version. Please PM me ("Start a Conversation") if that's the case.
     
  4. HorseshoeHermit

    HorseshoeHermit 20% accurate as usual, Morty

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,274
    Location:
    Canada
    I'm using GOG.

    I found some info that it is a modern AMD driver that is the culprit. I've yet to test with an older one.
     
  5. Patine

    Patine Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    3,525
    I bought the GOG version, and can confirm it works nicely. It's only around CAN$10.00 or so, and includes SMAX, and fan made scenarios, mods, and maps seem to work fine.
     
  6. moors

    moors Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Messages:
    120
    I've got the Planetary Pack of GOG on Windows 10. It always ran after turning DirectPlay on as in
    https://www.reddit.com/r/alphacentauri/comments/5sfae5/windows_10_error_0xc0000022/
    but I installed this update
    https://forums.civfanatics.com/resources/smac_win2000_xp_compatibility_update_v1-03f-zip.23387/
    added
    DirectDraw=0
    and made
    DisableOpeningMovie=1
    in alpha centauri.ini, and changed my resolution from 1366x768 to 1360x768. Now I can ctrl alt tab and the game's resolution is higher, only now there's black boxes on bottom left and right like
    https://forums.civfanatics.com/attachments/smax-png.477318/
    but maybe there's a way to change that too
     
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2017
  7. yorbro112485

    yorbro112485 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    Do you still offer the patch to make the game work without cd? I have Alpha Centauri and Alien Crossfire on cd and unable to get the game to run on Windows 10. It installed fine, the autorun will give the option to select SMAC or SMACX at which point nothing happens. I have also tried opening the terranx.exe file and it does nothing as well other than tries to use compatibility mode and none of the options will help it run either.
     
  8. yorbro112485

    yorbro112485 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    Update:
    I was able to get the base game to launch and operate however I still am unable to get Alien Crossfire to launch.
     
  9. Petek

    Petek Alpha Centaurian Administrator Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    3,536
    Location:
    Berkeley, Calif., USA
    Your best bet to get both versions to run is to purchase them from GOG for $5.99. If that price is too high, you can wait. GOG discounts the price to something like $2.99 a couple of times per year. If that option doesn't work for you, please post how you got SMAC, but not SMAX, to run. If it involves using, shall we say, an unpaid copy of the game, please start a conversation with me. You also could install one of the so-called unofficial patches. Many of these can be found at Alphacentauri2. AFAIK, the unofficial patches all are for SMAX, but @Buster's Uncle can correct me if necessary.
     
  10. Buster's Uncle

    Buster's Uncle AC2 Co-Owner

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,153
  11. yorbro112485

    yorbro112485 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    It's actually kinda funny, I have the Terran.exe and terranx.exe both using compatibility mode Windows XP Service Pack 2 and 8 bit color.
    I grew tired trying the various options in attempt to get terranx.exe to run so I tried clicking terran.exe just to see if I could get anything to run at this point and got the CPU warning message so I remembered that meant add "ForceOldVoxelAlgorithm=1" to alphacentauri.ini file. I tried running terran.exe again and the missing CD message generated but I installed the complete installation so I clicked ok and the game ran. I thought maybe it I removed the Alien Crossfire cd from the drive I could maybe get around the security but it still will not do anything when terranx.exe is opened.
    I'm hesitant to purchase the GOG version simply because I paid so much for the planetary pack on CD when I originally purchased the game. I also kinda of get a kick out of overcoming software difficulties however I honestly think it's the DRM software that was removed from Windows 10 that is causing the game to not work so I'm not entirely certain how I will be able to overcome that.
     
  12. Petek

    Petek Alpha Centaurian Administrator Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    3,536
    Location:
    Berkeley, Calif., USA
    Sounds like you have the Win2k patch. That official patch removed the DRM from SMAC, but not (for an unknown reason) from SMAX. (This change wasn't documented in the release notes.) At this point, all I can think of is to install one of the unofficial patches, which also remove DRM from SMAX. I recommend scient's unofficial patch, v.2. This patch fixes many bugs, but doesn't alter gameplay. I thought that CivFanatics didn't allow linking to unofficial patches. However, some digging revealed that we changed our position about 6 (!!) years ago. Please post again if you have any questions or run into further problems.
     
  13. induktio

    induktio Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    21
    If you're looking for AI improvement, then I have to mention Thinker Mod for SMACX.

    So in essence, it is the biggest AI improvement patch this game has had by far. It also includes Scient's v2.0 patch and is tested to work with GOG version without any issues. Take a look at the Github page to see all the other changes it includes.

    Actually one of the players commented here that previously he used to only play Kyrub's SMAC, and not the expansion, because of the vanilla AI's ineptitude. Then he tried SMACX with Thinker and the difference was really significant.
     
  14. yorbro112485

    yorbro112485 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    I appreciate the assistance specially considering you tend to be the "Go to troublshooter" over the years to which I can imagine you have been asked several issues repeatedly.
    I ultimately gave in and repurchased the game through GOG. With that in mind I noticed the monument videos are having difficulty playing, the playback is pulsing lags. Do you know what can fix that or if you have addressed it in a previous thread somewhere, can you direct me to it for referencing?
     
  15. Petek

    Petek Alpha Centaurian Administrator Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    3,536
    Location:
    Berkeley, Calif., USA
    By "monument videos," do you mean the videos that play after you complete a Secret Project? If so, this thread on GOG's SMACX discussion forum contains several possible fixes. As a workaround, you could disable the SP movies in the game options.
     
  16. Progenitor Race

    Progenitor Race Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2018
    Messages:
    13
    For me it is normal to play same version on Win7 and Win10.
    Planetary Pack + PRACX. Russification by Protok.
     

Share This Page