Sound, movies, High Council on Civ2 Gold

cheerfuldragon

Chieftain
Hello all,

I'm a veteran Civ2 player, so my daughter bought me Civ2 Gold edition to download onto my laptop as a virtual, socially distanced Fathers Day present. Game play is great, but I can't get the music, Wonders movies or the animated High Council, even with my old Civ2 disc in my drive (which shows how old I am!!) The High Council especially is my favourite bit (and I'm trying to convert my missis to Civ, so I need all the help I can get!) Any advice?.

Hello all,

I'm a veteran Civ2 player, so my daughter bought me Civ2 Gold edition to download onto my laptop as a virtual, socially distanced Fathers Day present. Game play is great, but I can't get the music, Wonders movies or the animated High Council, even with my old Civ2 disc in my drive (which shows how old I am!!) The High Council especially is my favourite bit (and I'm trying to convert my missis to Civ, so I need all the help I can get!) Any advice?.
Hello!
Common steps for playing Civ2 on modern systems:
1) For videos enable Intel Indeo Codec. And don't use noCD-patch - it disables videos!
https://forums.civfanatics.com/threads/indeo-codec-troubles-with-civ2-solved.362336/#post-14899055
2) If you are on Windows 10 - turn on legacy DirectPlay feature. Control Panel - Programs - Turn Windows Features on or off - Legacy Components - DirectPlay
3) Also if you are on 64-bit Windows, apply patch https://forums.civfanatics.com/thre...ks-on-win10-1709-fall-creators-update.622154/

Hello!
Common steps for playing Civ2 on modern systems:
1) For videos enable Intel Indeo Codec. And don't use noCD-patch - it disables videos!
https://forums.civfanatics.com/threads/indeo-codec-troubles-with-civ2-solved.362336/#post-14899055
2) If you are on Windows 10 - turn on legacy DirectPlay feature. Control Panel - Programs - Turn Windows Features on or off - Legacy Components - DirectPlay