1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

The Atlas Project

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Utility Programs' started by Junuxx, Nov 4, 2005.

  1. Sindelar

    Sindelar Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Austria
    hi,

    i understand

    i just wanted to know what there will be, since there are some values shown without telling what for

    what i wasn´t able was to check the difference of coastal waves like wild or so - may be the fault of my gk though, cause i´m testing on a notebook - my wife is using my pc for playing civ IV .. :p

    i´ll have a hard night to try
     
  2. Junuxx

    Junuxx Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,153
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    The coastal waters setting controls how much water is made 'Coast' (Galleys and Ironclads can only navigate coastal waters).

    Normal means every square adjacent to land is coast.
    Calm means the coastal waters extend farther into the sea, sometimes connecting to other islands and continents
    Wild means the sea is rough and dangerous even near the shore. If you look closely you'll see that often a galley will not even be able to sail around its home continent.
    Varied is, well, varied. Calm in some places, normal in most places and wild in some others. ;)
     
  3. Sindelar

    Sindelar Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Austria
    aha ok
    thx
     
  4. Junuxx

    Junuxx Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,153
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    Say.. can peaks have ice/forests/jungle/hills on them? I'm not quite sure :o
     
  5. tbear2520

    tbear2520 Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    103
    At least with my experience so far in map making, it's doesn't matter what's there. A peak is a peak, I haven't seen anything different from one terrain type to another as for terrain goes.

    Tbear2520
     
  6. Sindelar

    Sindelar Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Austria

    well it depends on the height of the peak - lets say about 1500meters you may see forrests as well - but there is also the glaciers over 2500meters the are seen in austria, switzerland, france new sealand, usa ...

    jungle will not be found there at all i´d say.

    and a hill on a peak? wouldn+t understand ...

    have a nice day


    Latitude appr. height of tree limit Notes
    (m) (ft)
    Sweden 68 ° N 400 1300
    Swiss Alps 46 ° N 2100 6900
    Wyoming, USA 43 ° N 3000 9800
    Japanese Alsps 39 ° N 2900 9500
    Yosemite, USA 38 ° N 3200 10500 Westsside of Sierra Nevada
    Yosemite, USA 38 ° N 3600 11800 Eastside of Sierra Nevada
    Himalaya 28 ° N 4400 14400
    Hawaii, USA 20 ° N 2800 9000 low rainfall above Passat-Winds
    Costa Rica 9.5 ° N 3400 11200
    Kilimandscharo, Tansania 3 ° S 3000 9800

    well - i found that under wikipedia,com

    maybe it can help u

    sry for how it looks like - lost the formating ...
     
  7. aeric67

    aeric67 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2003
    Messages:
    29
    I've seen peaks with temperate forests on them. Look a bit weird, but it's possible. Also, they can have ice on them too, but it doesn't change the look that much it seems.
     
  8. Junuxx

    Junuxx Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,153
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    Thanks for the comments on peaks. It's fun to see that you're all correct in a way.

    Sindelar is right about the real world, but since Civ4 lacks a real height model I can't do much with the info. Aeric is right about what you normally see in-game I guess. Peaks can be forested or covered by jungle.

    But not only does it hardly change the look, it also doesn't affect a peak's properties, as tbear points out. So I'll stick to just peaks for now. If it turns out it doesn't look very pretty, I can add mountain vegetation later.

    Anyway, I finally have a complete color scheme (for the preview, that is).
     

    Attached Files:

  9. MadHaTr

    MadHaTr Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Canada
    Excellent tool, this is great. I'm having some trouble with it though.

    It appears that its not updating the window enough. when i change something I need to click the area again to get the change to show up. Also when i generate a map... it does not show it. While it does generate it as i can save it a load it up, but i can never see what it looks like before actually playing in civ4. Any ideas on this?

    Thanks again
     
  10. Junuxx

    Junuxx Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,153
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    Hey MadHatr,

    Yeah, the updating/out of focus issue was quite annoying. Was because I have a solution now :D. It was the same problem that caused the heap to keep growing, eventually crashing the program (if you kept on generating like a hundred maps).
    I'll put the new version up for download soon.

    But you can't see the preview? That's rather odd, I haven't heard of that problem. Any other people having the same problems? I hope the problem gets fixed with the new version.

    Other changes in v0.25:
    - Hills!
    - Optional map preview (toggle on the Misc tab)
    - Readme file now includes a color legend
     
  11. tbear2520

    tbear2520 Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    103
    Junuxx, I just downloaded the .025 version. I don't have time tonight but with the upcoming holidays, I should be able to give it a good look over. Keep up the good work. :goodjob:

    Tbear2520
     
  12. Sindelar

    Sindelar Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Austria
    hi junuxx,

    was rather busy the last days - and will now check ur new version - will report :)
     
  13. Hemlige Arne

    Hemlige Arne Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    Messages:
    31
    Location:
    Lund, Sweden
    Excellent, let's see more!
     
  14. Craig_Sutter

    Craig_Sutter Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    2,747
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    Can the Atlas be used to generate random resource placements on an already created scenario map. I've made a premade map, and would love to sprinkle the resources at random rather than placing every single one.
     
  15. Junuxx

    Junuxx Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,153
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    At present it doesn't place resources at all.;)
    But it is the next thing I'm going to add. Loading existing maps is a bit more down the list though.
     
  16. MSTK

    MSTK Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,154
    Yay! You finally got it to work :)
     
  17. dreamcrusader

    dreamcrusader Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    68
    Thanks for the reply. Can someone give me a link to install Java?
     
  18. Junuxx

    Junuxx Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,153
    Location:
    the Netherlands
  19. dreamcrusader

    dreamcrusader Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    68
    Thank you for your help. I appreciate it
     
  20. Gr3yHound

    Gr3yHound Mr.MapView

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    Messages:
    395


    omg!
     

Share This Page