The Power of Shaka

vormuir

Prince
Halfway through my first game with Shaka (Warlords). Wow, what a great leader. I wasn't impressed at first' I'm a builder, not a monger, and Aggressive/Expansive didn't seem like much of a combo. But...

1) Killer UU. I posted on this yesterday.

2) One of the better UBs. I think this is the only UB that's useful through the entire game! The Ikhanda lets you have a somewhat bigger empire in the early game, and then it saves you a ridiculous amount of money in the later game (when you're getting 70% instead of 50% off on your city maintenance costs). I lack the Worldbuilder skillz to check this, but I suspect that a mature Zulu empire with Ikhandas in every city is about equal to a similar empire that has the Organized trait. IOW, the Ikhanda is almost like having a third trait. That's good.

And as icing on the cake, the Ikhanda is cheap -- Shaka's Aggressive trait makes it half cost.

3) The UU synergizes with the UB; early Ikhandas (and you can build them early because they're cheap) mean you can start your Impis with CR I, Medic I, Shock or Cover. This means your Impis can pick off lightly defended AI cities with ease, or -- if you build enough of them quickly -- can swarm-rush an enemy capital.

4) Shaka's starting techs are Agriculture and Hunting. I suppose giving him Mining would have been too overpowered... but anyway, Agriculture plus cheap Granaries is good for early growth (and whipping...), while Hunting is the prerequisite for your UU. Hunting also means you start with a Scout, which means you'll probably find more of the map faster, which is good because you'll be figuring out who to hit first.

5) Finally, while Aggressive and Expansive may not synergize directly, cheap Granaries /and/ cheap Ikhandas are pretty nice... with a couple of quick whips, you can have a new or conquered city up and running, ready to crank out more units for your conquering horde.