The Settlements - My own game in progress

XtroTheArctic

Chieftain
Hello good people of CivFanatics. As a civ-fanatic myself, I have been following this forum for many years but not frequently in the recent years because in the recent years, instead of playing Civ related games... I was working on my own civ related game, The Settlements.

Well, I have been working on The Settlement for 2-3 years now and it's still very very far from being complete because I'm working on it as a one-man-army but... while working on it, I have been thinking about when I should start sharing it with the world, especially with the people here in CivFanatics. I am still not sure about if this is the good time to share but I think I won't be able to stop myself from this excitement of sharing what I have been working on for a long time so, here we go.

The Settlements is a mix of two game genres; a Turn-Based World mode (like Civ and Col) and a Real-Time Settlement (City) mode (like Settlers and Northgard). The player can switch between turn-based mode and real-time mode instantly to deal with the two aspects of the game. Having these two different systems in one game is another reason it's taking so long to make development progress because, I need to develop two games at the same time instead of one.

The main reason I decided to share now is because... The attempt of developing a game (especially as a solo developer) is very very hard and sometimes I can't find the energy and morale to push forward so, I thought, If I can get some positive feedback (or even negative) from fellow gamers like you, I may find it easier to focus and produce.