1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Things we'd like to see in MOO2Civ

Discussion in 'Civ4 - MOO2Civ' started by Agent327, May 22, 2009.

  1. fulano

    fulano Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    214
    Location:
    Western USA
    I decided not to include the fighter limit for now because I am not sure how to balance it. You can change it later if you want.

    I think I did leave the fighter garrison at +10 aircraft but that won't make any difference unless a default limit is put in. :mischief:


    What about a new logo for the main screen since this is no longer Final Frontier?
    My wife is working on a college degree in Illustration right now and she said she would be willing to design a new logo. It might take a few months to finish though. I also have no idea how to add animations and such. It would just be a basic image.

    If you guys have any ideas of what the logo should look like my wife would appreciate the ideas. I was just thinking of having her base the appearance off of the MoO2 logo, like the image in the background here: http://www.angelfire.com/empire/ezixl/moo2.html
     
  2. Arakhor

    Arakhor Dremora Courtier Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    31,117
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    UK
    That's the original game logo. Ezixl's site is very impressive :p
     
  3. Agent327

    Agent327 Observer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    16,052
    Location:
    In orbit
    It is.

    Well, there are a host of images here: http://images.google.com/images?hl=...d=0CC4QsAQwAw&ei=L217S_LnHsmA-gbGztTHBQ&gbv=2, but I just need to convert the one below (without the ugly Antaran leader) to match the MOO2Civ starting screen. (All images are JPGs, which is the wrong format, 's all.)

    http://forums.civfanatics.com/downloads/title_M5G.gif

    As for fighter/bomber range, I was thinking of 4/6 squares limit (about the size of the largest star systems).
     
  4. Arakhor

    Arakhor Dremora Courtier Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    31,117
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    UK
    I've got the MoO2 wallpaper, if that helps. It's basically that screen, with the MoO2 logo on it.
     
  5. Agent327

    Agent327 Observer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    16,052
    Location:
    In orbit
    Thanks, but it needs to be in the right format.

    BTW, this


    Link to video.

    would be great as an intro movie (with proper mention of credits, ofcourse), but for now even a static screen would be nice. (If I have time, I'll look into including it with v. 5.0.)
     
  6. fulano

    fulano Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    214
    Location:
    Western USA
    I can make that change. I was trying to remember where you talked about this so I could include it in the last update...
    I think limiting their range will be much better than limiting their numbers to improve the balance.

    Currently the fighter_I range = 5 squares, Fighter_II = 6 and Fighter_III = 7. Bombers go from 6 to 8 in range.

    How about this change:
    Fighters = 3 to 5 range
    bombers = 4 to 6 range

    Or maybe this idea works better:
    fighter I & II = 3, heavy fighter = 4
    bomber I & II = 4, heavy bomber = 5

    EDIT: When I play with very dense star systems the AI loves to use bombers to attack my stars, it does get annoying. :)
     
  7. Agent327

    Agent327 Observer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    16,052
    Location:
    In orbit
    Indeed. They're supposed to put them on Carrier ships first for that, so I'd go with this:

    fighter I & II = 3, heavy fighter = 4
    bomber I & II = 4, heavy bomber = 5
    .

    On that note, missiles are currently similarly 'overranged'; they should IMHO have similar ranges. (Or perhaps the bomber equivalent +1?)
     
  8. Minor Annoyance

    Minor Annoyance Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,247
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    One potential problem with limiting fighter range is that from what I've heard the AI in Final Frontier (and this) don't load fighters into carriers.
     
  9. Agent327

    Agent327 Observer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    16,052
    Location:
    In orbit
    Possibly because the Carrier class (Titans) are already quite powerful as is? (So they don't really need additional fighters/bombers - plus they can get an interception promotion, if I remember correctly.)
     
  10. fulano

    fulano Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    214
    Location:
    Western USA
    I actually never remember seeing the AI use carriers in any version of Civ4. Maybe it's just an AI weakness?

    I just checked and bombers, fighters, and missiles don't have UNITAI_CITY_ATTACK. That is the AI the computer uses for units that are designed to attack cities.

    Maybe if I added that it would make the AI use them more. I'm not sure though because that AI might only work for ground units. I will test it.
     
  11. Agent327

    Agent327 Observer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    16,052
    Location:
    In orbit
    Good.

    Another matter: I want to include s3 more actual MoO leaderheads in v. 5.0, but can't seem to find an idiot-proof DDS converter (I've got JPEGs, but that's not the right format for Civ4).

    Any suggestion would be welcome. (I've tried DDS Converter and Image Converter, but can't seem to get them to convert to DDS...)
     
  12. Agent327

    Agent327 Observer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    16,052
    Location:
    In orbit
    As concerns this:

    The same site has a rather good MoO II wallpaper:

    http://www.angelfire.com/empire/ezixl/images/Orionii.jpg (It's better than the Civ2 MOOjr one IMO.)
     
  13. fulano

    fulano Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    214
    Location:
    Western USA
    Wait, so are you interested in her creating a title page then? I thought you guys were saying you had already taken care of that. Did I misunderstand? I'll can give her the backgrounds you suggested and let her design the text and logo for MoO2Civ to put on it.

    If you do actually want her to give the new main menu a shot I have two questions:
    -What size does the image need to be? The origional FF menu is 1024x1024 but only the top 3/4ish is image.
    -Does it need to be a specific type of DDS? When I click save as it says DXT1, Cluster Fit compressor, Perceptual Error Metric, and no Mip Maps (In Paint.NET). I'm not sure if these are default save as settings or current image settings.

    Also you had a link to these files for a possible background (I vote for the first one):
    http://www.angelfire.com/empire/ezixl/images/Orionii.jpg
    http://forums.civfanatics.com/downloads/title_M5G.gif
     
  14. Agent327

    Agent327 Observer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    16,052
    Location:
    In orbit
    Another suggestion by tuxu:

    Sorry for misunderstanding: I had an idea for a title screen (non-animated), but it's not done yet (got stuck on my TO DO list...). I suggested the wallpaper, 'cause I think it looks better. (tuxu's suggestion above is similar, but has the MOO II lettering/title and would need additional editing.) If your female volunteer would like to do it, that would be great. AFAIK Civ uses DDS for imaging (I don't think it's further specified). As for size fitting I can't really comment other than that she'd have to try how it looks in game before finalizing anything.

    PS I notice the angelfire links posted now lead to no page; let me now if the image needs to be reposted or if you already have it.
     
  15. fulano

    fulano Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    214
    Location:
    Western USA
    Alright, we'll give it a shot on a new background and see what we can do. It might not be until this semester of school gets out in April that she can look at it.

    And yes, the link was broken when I clicked it so I just copied the text and figured out where the image was.
     
  16. plasmacannon

    plasmacannon Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,586
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida
    Hi, Big MOO2 fan, Top 10 poster on the Lord Brazen blogspot.
    http://www.spheriumnorth.com/orion-forum/nfphpbb/

    One thought I had about the "Roads" in Civ 4.
    Is there a way to make roads on every tile, make them invisible, and not destructable, then make them only usable by Trilarian races.
    This would simulate the Transdimential race pick that Trilarians have inheriently.

    Also, how are you dealing with max pop per city?
    Sakkra, Trilarian, and Silicoid should have higher max pop per city, especially Sakkra.

    Sakkra have +100% pop growth, and Silicoids have -50% pop growth, how is that being intigrated?

    Elerians are Feudal, Klackons are Uncreative, Sakkra are Feudal. These races need to research slower than the others to keep game balance.

    Also, I read the stealth discussion. In Civ 4, Spys are invisible. They just can't fight. There should be some way to make Darlock ships be treated as spys, until they wish to attack.

    I haven't seen a Leader Trait list posted yet, nor, UU, or UBs.
    I have a suggested list I could post.
     
  17. TC01

    TC01 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    2,216
    Location:
    Irregularly Online
    I don't think you could do it that way- but you could definitely make one race get bonus movement points on all Space tiles, with a new XML tag and some work in the DLL.
     
  18. Agent327

    Agent327 Observer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    16,052
    Location:
    In orbit
    Sorry for the late response... :(

    Race/leader traits are currently being revised and an alternate Darlok stealth ship concept being worked out. The same applies to civics. (For the latest version, check out MOO2Civ 5.0: http://forums.civfanatics.com/downloads.php?do=file&id=14464.)

    A list suggestion for leader traits, UUs and UBs is very welcome - though people have suggested that there should be no UUs or UBs, since there aren't any in MOO.

    And nice to see a top 10 Lord Brazen poster visit the MOO2Civ subforum. ;)
     

Share This Page