1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Throne Room?

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by Verkinix, Jun 9, 2007.

  1. Quintillus

    Quintillus Archiving Civ3 Content Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    6,354
    Location:
    Columbus
    I second the good point to mjs0. Even some change in the diplomacy screen would be nice - CivIII had one change per era, CivIV could also have this (though granted it wouldn't be as accurate due to the less rigid eras).
     
  2. Olleus

    Olleus Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    6,478
    Location:
    England
    The music changes slightly per era.
     
  3. mitsho

    mitsho Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    7,358
    Location:
    Europe, more or less
    It'd be very cool.

    CTP had an entire city (a temple, a fountain, a palace and another building) to modernise and that changed with each era as well (you automatically got all upgrades through the eras).

    Apart from that, why not have something to incorporate one's own strength etc. I wouldn't mind that idea ;)
     
  4. innonimatu

    innonimatu Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    12,092
    Yes, bring back the throne room!
    And I really miss those civ2 advisers too.
     
  5. KrikkitTwo

    KrikkitTwo Immortal

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Messages:
    12,316
    Things a ThroneRoom/Palace/Capital City could demonstrate
    1. Military Successes (Defeated Civs)
    2. Technological Prowess
    3. Trade Goods (ones that you have in abundance ie 2-3 or more)
    4. Top Cultural Level (based on your top 1 + lowest of top 3 cities)
     
  6. dutchking

    dutchking Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3,317
    I want an expanded palace! Like Civ III, and the throne room too. That would be cool, I'd have a plasma tv and everything... :lol: :goodjob:
     
  7. Duuk

    Duuk Doom-Sayer Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,928
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Detroit, Michigan, USA
    Please god no. It was a dumbass feature and slowed the game while adding nothing of value.

    If you HAVE to add it for some godforsaken reason, make it disable-able.
     
  8. Gaius Octavius

    Gaius Octavius Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    4,016
    They were always disable-able... dis-able... dis--- oh, whatever...
     
  9. Virulent

    Virulent King

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    662
    Location:
    Canada
    I remember the throne room in Civ II. I can't have been the only person who either upgraded the chair first so you ended up with a fancy throne in the middle of a cave or upgraded the chair last so you had an opulent room with a big rock in the middle.
     
  10. Willowmound

    Willowmound Wordbug

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2005
    Messages:
    2,228
    Location:
    Afloat
    Disabubble. Come on, everyone knows that word.
     
  11. El Koeno

    El Koeno Emperor

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,926
    Great idea!
     
  12. Scrooge

    Scrooge Baa Humbug

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    81
    Location:
    London
    I'd love to see throne room back - it brought a sense of achievement - especially if it'd look as good as in the screenshot above

    I'd love to see it as a diplomacy room which gives an idea of how advanced/rich/military your opponents are
     
  13. winddbourne

    winddbourne Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2005
    Messages:
    501
    Location:
    michigan
    Exactly this could be very cool in diplomacy, and a "Brag/shame" option in multiplayer.
     
  14. NYHunter

    NYHunter King

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Messages:
    784
    Throne Rooms/Palace kind of helped make you feel as if you were a leader. Civ IV currently does not compete with the previous versions in terms of making you like a leader. Even though Civ IV is the best game in terms of a lot of things, it doesn't have that feel that you are ruling over a great civilization that Civ II and III does, in my opinion anyway, I understand others disagree.
     
  15. thadian

    thadian Kami of Awakened Dreamers

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2,288
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    I liked it, but if it came down to throne room or REAL content, id rather have content, but if it could be spliced in without removing anything, it would be nice.

    I remember in Call to Power where when you "completed" the room comes the palace, etc. and in later eras came more modern designs, even a spaceship room at the diamond age.
     
  16. winddbourne

    winddbourne Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2005
    Messages:
    501
    Location:
    michigan
    It's the flair that does it . . in previous civilizations you had different building styles, advisors, the throne room, the palace, we love the king day was bigger, etc . . .

    In civ IV we have UU and UB but they don't . . . they don't feel unique. And they vanish when you conquer a city. So you lose the sense of history that conquering "Spain" and having all it's strange buildings in that "area" alone would give.

    Also you used to be (in civ II) able to choose your city style and have china with american pyrimid archetecture, then change all the names, etc . . . and pretend like your playing some different civiliztion.

    But at that time ALL the differences between civs were just flair. It didn't matter, except for the sheer fun of being different that game.
     

Share This Page