1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Tribal Villages

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Creation & Customization' started by Verkinix, Apr 9, 2009.

  1. Verkinix

    Verkinix Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    32
    Is there a way to modify tribal village behavior like percent chance to get particular bonuses and such? I tried to do a search, but 8 million posts came up and none of them pertained to this. I just want to eliminate getting maps of the region from huts because I prefer to explore it all myself.

    Thanks
     
  2. Gurra09

    Gurra09 First Consul

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,284
    In Assets/XML/GameInfo/CIV4HandicapInfo.xml are all the difficulties listed.

    On each difficulty you can find this tag, thisone is taken from the Settler difficulty:
    Code:
    			<Goodies>
    				<GoodyType>GOODY_HIGH_GOLD</GoodyType>
    				<GoodyType>GOODY_HIGH_GOLD</GoodyType>
    				<GoodyType>GOODY_HIGH_GOLD</GoodyType>
    				<GoodyType>GOODY_HIGH_GOLD</GoodyType>
    				<GoodyType>GOODY_LOW_GOLD</GoodyType>
    				<GoodyType>GOODY_LOW_GOLD</GoodyType>
    				<GoodyType>GOODY_MAP</GoodyType>
    				<GoodyType>GOODY_SETTLER</GoodyType>
    				<GoodyType>GOODY_SETTLER</GoodyType>
    				<GoodyType>GOODY_WARRIOR</GoodyType>
    				<GoodyType>GOODY_WARRIOR</GoodyType>
    				<GoodyType>GOODY_SCOUT</GoodyType>
    				<GoodyType>GOODY_WORKER</GoodyType>
    				<GoodyType>GOODY_WORKER</GoodyType>
    				<GoodyType>GOODY_EXPERIENCE</GoodyType>
    				<GoodyType>GOODY_HEALING</GoodyType>
    				<GoodyType>GOODY_TECH</GoodyType>
    				<GoodyType>GOODY_TECH</GoodyType>
    				<GoodyType>GOODY_TECH</GoodyType>
    				<GoodyType>GOODY_TECH</GoodyType>
    			</Goodies>
    Just remove <GoodyType>GOODY_MAP</GoodyType> from all Difficulties and Tribal Villages will never reveal maps anymore.
     
  3. Tholish

    Tholish Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,344
    Location:
    Japan
    The number of times the GoodyType recurs is the probability of its being the result of a goody hut. So, at Settler level, there are four chances for HighGold, 2 of LowGold, 1 of map and so forth.

    And in GoodyInfos you could probably even create new GoodyTypes

    <GoodyInfo>
    <Type>GOODY_BARBARIANS_VERYSTRONG</Type>
    <Description>TXT_KEY_GOODY_BARBARIANS</Description>
    <Sound>AS2D_GOODY_HOSTILE</Sound>
    <iGold>0</iGold>
    <iGoldRand1>0</iGoldRand1>
    <iGoldRand2>0</iGoldRand2>
    <iMapOffset>0</iMapOffset>
    <iMapRange>0</iMapRange>
    <iMapProb>0</iMapProb>
    <iExperience>0</iExperience>
    <iHealing>0</iHealing>
    <iDamagePrereq>0</iDamagePrereq>
    <bTech>0</bTech>
    <bBad>1</bBad>
    <UnitClass>NONE</UnitClass>
    <BarbarianClass>UNITCLASS_KNIGHT</BarbarianClass>
    <iBarbarianUnitProb>60</iBarbarianUnitProb>
    <iMinBarbarians>3</iMinBarbarians>
    </GoodyInfo>
     
  4. Jvlivs Parvvs

    Jvlivs Parvvs Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Santiago do Escoural
    I suppose that modifying that file willl modify all games? I'd like to mod the huts behavior for just one map scenario. Is that possible?
     
  5. GeoModder

    GeoModder Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    7,512
    If you create that scenario as a separate mod, then it is possible, yes.
     
  6. Jvlivs Parvvs

    Jvlivs Parvvs Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Santiago do Escoural
    It's a separate scenario, meaning that it's a separate World Builder file in the World Builder Saves directory, nothing else. Is that what you mean? I guess you mean something different and more complex than that (?).
     
  7. Jvlivs Parvvs

    Jvlivs Parvvs Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Santiago do Escoural
    Let me put it another way.

    Currently the scenario is just a WBS map, no frills.

    But I want to modify the huts' behavior. So that it gives, say, nukes instead of maps.

    I understood it's done with both files:
    Assets/XML/GameInfo/CIV4HandicapInfo.xml
    and
    Assets/XML/GameInfo/CIV4GoodieInfo.xml

    But if I modify those files, with these names, in that location, I will modify the behavior for all games (expectedly). I don't want that.

    So, how do I modify those files for use with my map, and only that particular map?

    Maybe I have to create a directory under mods and keep them there together???
    Maybe the ModPath= line in the WBS file has something to do with it?
    Maybe something completely different?

    Hello? :)
     
  8. NwabudikeMorgan

    NwabudikeMorgan CEO

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    375
    Location:
    Canada
    Create a Mod folder of the name of your idea and place it in tho MODS folder of your game version.
    inside, create two folders: PublicMaps and Assets, place your Worldbuilder in the publicmaps.
    Inside Assets create a folder Called XML, and copy the needed files like handicapinfos to this folder.

    Tweak THESE files, not the originals.

    Then if you load up Civ, go Advanced, Load Mod, then choose your mod, you should see it will play on your map with your modified goody infos.
     
  9. Jvlivs Parvvs

    Jvlivs Parvvs Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Santiago do Escoural
    Thanks. I'll try that.
     
  10. Jvlivs Parvvs

    Jvlivs Parvvs Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Santiago do Escoural
    Ok. Here's my results after several tries.

    I did that in two places: the My Documents/My Games/Sid Meier's Civilization 4/MODS and Programs\Firaxis Games\Sid Meier's Civilization 4\Mods, one at a time.

    I removed from CIV4HandicapInfo.xml, level Settler, the possibility of huts generating anything but workers, warriors and techs.

    The game used the default CIV4HandicapInfo. It only "obeyed me" when I modified the main game files. I mean, it kept giving gold and settlers too.

    In the meantime I suppose the game won't offer a goody you can't make yourself.

    So:
    - I might not be telling the game where to find the files (as in the WBS line ModPath=)
    - More files might be missing besides CIV4HandicapInfo.xml and CIV4GoodyInfo.xml
    - My XML syntax can be wrong
    - Something else I can't even figure out

    Just in case, I'm appending the files here.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Tholish

    Tholish Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,344
    Location:
    Japan
    I'll look at this and see if I can get it right.
    Is this for Vanilla or BtS? If its for BtS
    put this here:

    C:\Program Files\Firaxis Games\Sid Meier's Civilization 4\Beyond the Sword\Mods/HutTestMod

    According to the graphic of your former placement you have BtS but were trying to put it with Vanilla mods. Further, you need all those additional folders like I put there, not just the XML files. Also, the mod path for the scenario is only necessary if you want to be able to just open the scenario and have it start the mod that it uses. If you start the mod and then open the scenario from the menu instead of a random map, the path is not necessary. Also, if you are playing on Settler you need to get better. Check out the strategies forum.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Jvlivs Parvvs

    Jvlivs Parvvs Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Santiago do Escoural
    It's for vanilla (with the currently available updates).

    Ah! Thanks, so maybe the xml wasn't read for lack of these files? Indeed if I selected it from Advanced/Load a Mod the mod didn't load and I got the regular menu back.

    So, about the path line, altogether, it's not BAD to have the path there, as it will work if the scenario is loaded as a map (a scenario) but will do nothing if loaded via Advanced/Load Mod. Am I right?

    :) I'm playing it on settler so that I only have to modify the settler part on the handicap xml file, so that I can contain/compartmentalize the modifications to the files while testing the modifications.

    Of course I could play it as Deity, provided I modified that section, which I didn't. Settler comes up first in the xml files, and is safer for in-game testing.
     

Share This Page