1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[TSL] Yet (not) Another Earth Maps Pack

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Custom maps' started by Gedemon, Nov 8, 2010.

  1. GeneralSecura

    GeneralSecura Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2014
    Messages:
    92
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Europe needs to be pretty big because there's A LOT of European civs that would be way too huddled together otherwise.
     
  2. mr.mare

    mr.mare Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    73
    sorry, I meant Asia and Africa smaller and maybe North and South America two!
     
  3. PR0927

    PR0927 Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    142

    No, this is silly. Europe is ALREADY enlarged from what it should be. Keep it as it is. It allows for a high-tension filled Europe with that many civilizations - precisely what happened in history.

    South America, Asia, and Africa are ENORMOUS, and that ought be reflected in this map.

    There are plenty of custom civilizations that can fill up these other continents - I now have South Asia and Southeast Asia filled with as many civilizations as Europe - as OUGHT be reflected - the population there dwarfs Europe (more than double).

    In particular, South Asia (India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, the Maldives) is the world's second-most diverse place, ethnically. It's tantamount to the entire continent of Europe (except with an even higher population and far more diversity). Its history is richer and longer, and the number of empires and "civilizations" from the region is astonishing. Europe just managed to splinter into a ton of nations. South Asia splintered less (though any splintering has already been stupid).

    If South Asia is the second-most diverse, one might ask what is the most diverse region? Africa. That continent, the land of the origin of humanity, has a history so deep that we haven't fully come to understand.

    Gedemon made this map and the mods for it to more accurately reflect world history and civilizations. He was already resisting increasing Europe's size to the current size, and I think that should be respected.
     
  4. Danmacsch

    Danmacsch Geheimekabinetsminister

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    1,305
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Hi JFD,

    I have some suggestions to minor changes for the Large Europe map. They are as follows:

    - flat grassland (32,30) - Sardinia

    - River between (32,29) and (33,28) - Sardinian lake and river 'Fiume Tirso'

    - grassland with jungle (28,29) - Minorca
     
  5. Laze

    Laze Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Messages:
    74
    Hi, JFD.

    I simply love your mods and your updates to this map-pack. The only thing I miss is to be able to play with all your civs in all the maps where they fit in. Nazi-Germany for example, can not be used in your new maps. A WWII-scenario isnt the same without them you know. ;)
     
  6. DoctorMcGann

    DoctorMcGann Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,283
    They should at least be compatible with Large Europe. At least they were...
     
  7. Laze

    Laze Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Messages:
    74
    They are, but I'm a little tired of that map.
     
  8. Danmacsch

    Danmacsch Geheimekabinetsminister

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    1,305
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
  9. Laze

    Laze Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Messages:
    74
    You cant choose all the right civs in the new maps.
     
  10. DoctorMcGann

    DoctorMcGann Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,283
    Yeah, I've seen a lot of complaints about Giant Europe.
     
  11. Danmacsch

    Danmacsch Geheimekabinetsminister

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    1,305
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Sad to hear that as I've made the map. :(

    But yeah, I know, it isn't the greatest. Forests, rivers, hills and mountains could use some re-doing at the very least.

    In regards to TSL though, that's up to the respective modders.
     
  12. DoctorMcGann

    DoctorMcGann Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,283
    I've seen no complaints about the actual map, just the TSL not working. You're good.

    Actually, in regards to Hitler, he's just not got coordinates in the file. @Laze, if you want them to be on the map, they're very easy to add.
     
  13. DoctorMcGann

    DoctorMcGann Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,283
    On another topic, I've been trying to add civs to the Americas map (Mainly Colonialist Legacies) and it isn't working. I'm entering the coordinates exactly as they're done for the other civs, and I've made sure to use the correct name for the civs. Any ideas?
     
  14. Danmacsch

    Danmacsch Geheimekabinetsminister

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    1,305
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Weird. It should be possible.

    You could try adding the coordinates internally in the respective civs's TSL files maybe, though it shouldn't make any difference.

    If you post the coordinates here or send them to me, I can give it try :)
     
  15. Laze

    Laze Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Messages:
    74
    Other TSLs that should be made playable:
    Anglo-Saxons in north-west-Europe.
    Swiss civ, Piedemont-Sardinia, Milan, Bavaria, Austria/Hungary, Poland-Lithuania, Denmark-Norway, Bohemia, Francs, and Arabia (if the map goes that far east) in Giant Europe.

    Out of the old maps in this pack, more civs should be playable aswell.

    All the maps seems awsome beside theese problems.
     
  16. DoctorMcGann

    DoctorMcGann Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,283
    Sure, I'll do it tonight.
     
  17. DoctorMcGann

    DoctorMcGann Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,283
    Right, here they are.
    Spoiler :
    ('CIVILIZATION_THECREEFIRSTNATION', 41, 64, null, null);
    ('CIVILIZATION_COLONIALCANADA', 47, 59, null, null);
    ('CIVILIZATION_MEXICOREPUBLIC', 35, 45, null, null);
    ('CIVILIZATION_CALIFORNIA', 30, 52, null, null);
     
  18. JFD

    JFD Kathigitarkh

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    9,117
    Location:
    The Kingdom of New Zealand

    milan has full tsl support; the rest will when i get to them

    K, will amend when i can
     
  19. CivReno

    CivReno Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Reno, Nevada
  20. DoctorMcGann

    DoctorMcGann Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,283
    I've been considering trying to do something like that. Shouldn't be too hard to copy the code over from Accurate Earth (and I got permission from framedarchitect) but finding names for all the city tiles is gonna be a doozy.
     

Share This Page