Utility Program Concept - XML Code Generator for Simple Tasks

Genghis.Khan

Person
After many boring hours writing simple XML, I came up with an obvious concept (and already existant) for an XML Code Generator. My Idea is somehow different from already existant Programs (like Chile's XML Program, with which I never really managed to work), it's a more intuitive Concept, that would allow new modders to create what they want without having to learn XML rules (even if intuitive, how many questions are asked about why isnt this XML code not working?).

My idea would be a form application (like a login forum - see spoiler for an image) that would allow you to chose what do you want to add (e.g Unit, but including all related-tables, like Unit_FreePromotions or even Civilization_UnitClassOverides (w/ warnings of course) only fill the text boxes, and the program would provide you the XML file. I am not a programmer, but this is probably doable in any language like Visual Basic or C#, C++... Is anybody intested in this or is it a stupid idea?

Spoiler :

A UI program could be very useful for new modders. If you're looking for a quick way to speed up the repetitive tasks involved in XML file creation though, check out this old topic on code snippets. I haven't been using them yet, but they seem quite powerful.

Everything I add is in quantity (like 60 units, for instance), so yes, I make my own code snippets. But it is still painfull even if I use Notepad ++ to Find and Replace Code (like replacing UNIT_AXEMAN with UNIT_MACEMAN) to code large amounts of XML. Even for experiencied Modders it would be useful to generate large amounts of XML coding, only copying values from an post, or Design Document.

I always found SQL easier for adding and editing in bulk:
Spoiler :
(Tutorial for how to do this here.)