1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

v1.987 – v1.487 – v1.187: THE FINAL PATCH

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Rhye's and Fall of Civilization' started by Rhye, Jun 2, 2010.

  1. Baldyr

    Baldyr "Hit It"

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    5,530
    Location:
    Sweden
    If you're using World Builder (every single time) you might as well build the city. :D Otherwise the Settler might just wander off - or sail away...
     
  2. Riker

    Riker True Metal of Steel

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Messages:
    749
    Location:
    Genoa
    I forgot to say it. Thanks Rhye, Rfc e Rocx are tah ultimate mods, until you do something for civ5. And I've got a hunch that you're already developing something, maye directly for firaxis
     
  3. Oishi

    Oishi Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    201
    Location:
    M.M., PH
    yeah, worldbuilder.

    Thanks Rhye.
     
  4. Baldyr

    Baldyr "Hit It"

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    5,530
    Location:
    Sweden
    Unfortunately not... :( I even believe that either Sid himself or the lead developer has publicly stated that Civ5 will not have any sort of "Rise and Fall". (It should be possible to create something like this though, but its not likely to be directly supported by Firaxis.)

    Even though I also hope that Rhye will makes us proud once again, I have my doubts about Civ5 even being deserving of such an effort. Paint me a pessimist, but I don't look forward to that game at all. From what I can tell - without the benefit of testing it myself - it does sound... stupid. :p

    But lets not turn this thread into a for and against Civ5 debate! :rolleyes: (There are other forums and threads for this sort of thing.)
     
  5. Arkaeyn

    Arkaeyn Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    936
    Location:
    nomad, USA
    Thanks for everything, Rhye! You helped change Civ4 from great to fantastic!
     
  6. civ_king

    civ_king Deus Caritas Est

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    16,368
    Bug: I was Spain and Portugal spawned, I choose resist accidently so I reloaded and the popup didn't come, next turn they got booted off of Portugal and on to Ponta Delgada

    @Baldyr, When Civ IV hadn't been released yet people got into giant flamewars with people complaining it looks like it sucks and it sounds awful and stuff like that, only assume it wont suck
     
  7. Duke of Awesome

    Duke of Awesome Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    177
    Location:
    USA
    i hate to sound repetitive but can anyone help my problem?
     
  8. Baldyr

    Baldyr "Hit It"

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    5,530
    Location:
    Sweden
    You are absolutely right, sir, and I was one of those people. :rolleyes: I still think CivIV is chock full of wholly unnecessary bells and whistles that don't add anything to my enjoyment of the game. (But rather cause lag and occasional crashes.) But the game is both playable and moddable, so I was ultimately proven wrong. :p

    Its not like I'm hoping that the next installment will suck, but I'm rather resigning myself to the notion of staying with CivIV (and by that I really mean RFC) for a long time to come. A Rhyes mod for Civ5 couldn't possibly offer all the things RFC currently does! Because the core game will be rebooted from square one, once again... :rolleyes: Perhaps there will be enough content for something like RFC to be possible in the future - when I have a computer that will be able to run all those graphics... But there is far too many uncertain factors to this for me to even hope for something like this.

    So its RFC all the way for me, baby! :king:
     
  9. nody

    nody Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,168
    Location:
    Noviomagus, Batavia
    Baldyr, I bet you mod in Lena as a Great Artist in your modmod('s)... :p
     
  10. Baldyr

    Baldyr "Hit It"

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    5,530
    Location:
    Sweden
    I don't run W7 myself and I also have an old copy of CivIV and BTS (while you might have some newer bundled version or a downloaded edition or something), so I wouldn't know what your problem is. But chances are that you have done something wrong - or that your system simply doesn't support this (compatibility issues).

    The reason someone more knowledgeable hasn't been able to help you with this, yet, could be that you haven't supplied enough information - or that the information is scattered over several pages. I looked at what you wrote before and I sure didn't understand much of it... :rolleyes:

    I suggest that you start a new thread on the RFC forum and post all available information in a new post. What you have done, how you vent by doing it, what versions you are currently running, et cetera. You could also include screen caption of your installation folders to illustrate the state of things better. (Most people here would probably be able to spot any mistakes you've done simply by looking at your screen.)

    Don't give up hope of getting this to work, whatever you do. Rather help us help you. :goodjob: This thread seems not to be the place to get any helpful tech support, as you might well have noticed...
     
  11. Baldyr

    Baldyr "Hit It"

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    5,530
    Location:
    Sweden
    Its really funny how you notice whenever I change my avatar! :lol: (I also changed my profile picture. Hint, hint, nudge, nudge... :D)

    Spoiler :
    I was rather thinking about creating a Lena Meyer-Landrut leaderhead as the German leader for the 21st century... ;) A boy can dream, can't he? :lol:

    Other than that - good idea! :goodjob:
     
  12. Riker

    Riker True Metal of Steel

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Messages:
    749
    Location:
    Genoa
    His mod for civ3 would be awesome with the hex map and one unit per tile though
     
  13. nody

    nody Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,168
    Location:
    Noviomagus, Batavia
    @ Baldyr

    Spoiler :
    She would be the most handsome German leader since Bismarck... :p

    I can't believe it's purely her singing that makes you a fan... :rolleyes:
    Spoiler :

    Please PM me if she happens to be in Playboy or Penthouse. That would make me a fan too... ;)
     
  14. MessageMan

    MessageMan Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    346
    Anybody else have bugs when loading the French in 3000 BC? Lutetia and Burdigala somehow flipped to me either my first turn or the turn before, but when I started both cities were razed, yet the two squares had blue French territory markings and I owned the units that were in those cities. Plus there's this random Roman territory square in front where Paris would be if I found it. The only reason I know the names of the cities is because I got messages that Lutetia and either Burdigala or Bordeaux's borders expanded. Here's the save if anybody's interested.
     

    Attached Files:

  15. SadoMacho

    SadoMacho spanker of civilizations

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    811
    Location:
    Flanders, Belgium
    tnx Rhye for making this super grat mod and listening to :):):):):):):)s like me who think they know how to make your mod better with there ideas and dare to question the modgod himself.

    Hope to see a CIV V version, else I wo'nt buy CIV V.
     
  16. dionysos2048

    dionysos2048 AntiSarko

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    555
    Location:
    Barcelona, Spain
    Thank you Rhye
     
  17. Lord Ainsbirth

    Lord Ainsbirth Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    58
    Location:
    Farallon del Cuervo
    Rhye, Just a quick post to thank you for your excellent mod and your real hard work.
     
  18. fireclaw722

    fireclaw722 Imperial Guard

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Messages:
    499
    Location:
    The Americas
    Thanks Rhye, especially for all of the hard work(and putting up with us pesky fans) that you put into RFC!
     
  19. Bobbtjoe

    Bobbtjoe Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,670
    Location:
    Pepperland, California
    Godamn you, Rhye.

    You make my life so complicated. After realizing that the new mod doesn't work, I can no longer find my original copy of the mod that shipped with BTS. Can anyone link to the old mod that shipped with BTS? I can only find new versions.
     
  20. civ_king

    civ_king Deus Caritas Est

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    16,368
    go to the Civ IV Macintosh Area, someone is bound to have it
     

Share This Page