1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Version 2.6 discussion

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Rise of Mankind' started by zappara, Dec 17, 2008.

  1. FoulFoot

    FoulFoot Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    90
    Just to add to the chorus, I'm getting CTD's about once every 10 turns or so, as well as the waiting bug. Disabling all RevDCM options seems to fix the waiting bug, and reduces the CTD's to about one every 100 turns.

    The CTD's appear to happen at the end of a turn, just before the autosave.

    Foul
     
  2. Retrospect

    Retrospect Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Messages:
    269
    Location:
    UK
    Yeah quite a lot of the CTD's i've had seem to happen around the autosave, dunno if it's just coincidence or not:confused:
     
  3. wade69

    wade69 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    Is it possible to have a download for 2.5, so we can play this one until the errors get corrected?
     
  4. cr0ws

    cr0ws Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    571
    http://hosted.filefront.com/zappara

    Brought to you by google.
     
  5. zappara

    zappara Mod Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,781
    Location:
    Finland
    Patch 2.62 has been uploaded!

    Download

    Version 2.62:
    Spoiler :


    Mods
    ----
    - Added: Abandon city component, CTRL-A brings up the popup in city screen
    - Changed: Revolution can be enabled for custom game
    - Changed: Barbarian civ can be enabled for custom game

    Units
    -----
    - Changed: Traineddog collateral damage removed, no longer have collateral UnitAI, seems to have been the cause for waiting -bug, are the collateral SDK changes the real cause because the unit doesn't have flanking or bombard values, only collateral values?
    - Changed: Wardogs collateral damage removed, no longer have collateral UnitAI, possible cause for waiting -bug
    - Changed: Guarddog collateral damage removed, no longer have collateral UnitAI, possible cause for waiting -bug

    Python
    ------
    - Changed: AutologEventManager, applied RevDCM fixes
    - Changed: CvUtil, applied RevDCM fixes
    - Changed: Abandon city component now gives also Settlers if player has required techs and city size is above 10, demolishing buildings give 20% of building's cost back to player as gold (note: AI players do not know how to use this component)
    - Changed: Civics screen does not show Rebelliousness info if Revolution component is off
    - Changed: GameUtils small code adjustments
    - Changed: BugPath has been modified to find CvAltRoot.py file from also Beyond the Sword installation folder (was previously looking only from Documents folders)
    - Fixed: Barracks->Garrison upgrade path, Barracks can't be built again after city has built Garrison

    Pythoncallback defines
    ----------------------
    - Changed: CannotSpreadReligion to 0 (not used)
    - Changed: CannotResearch to 0 (not used)

    Espionage
    ---------
    - Changed: city poison water default amount 12->5 (spy promotions increase it)
    - Changed: city unhappiness default amount 12->8 (spy promotions increase it)

    Ini
    ---
    - Changed: Revolution.ini is set to default RevDCM settings

    Config
    ------
    - Changed: RevDCM xml config set to default RevDCM settings

    Buildings
    ---------
    - Changed: Statue of Champion uses now different graphics
    - Changed: River port uses LSYSTEM_RIVER instead of LSYSTEM_2x2 (places building near River)
    - Changed: Hellenic Gymnasia gives Pankration promotion for units built in the city
    - Changed: Hellenic buildings graphics
    - Changed: Zoroastrian buildings graphics
    - Changed: Naghual buildings graphics
    - Changed: Pyramid of the Magician graphics
    - Changed: Movie Theatre graphics
    - Changed: Garrison graphics
    - Changed: Nanofactory graphics
    - Changed: Android factory graphics
    - Changed: National Sports League graphics
    - Fixed: Hittite Iron Forge had duplicate art defines, removed one
    - Fixed: Modern granary had duplicate art defines, removed one

    PlotLSystem
    -----------
    - Fixed: Lemon plantation should use now correct plantation rack and grinder art defines when the plot is worked

    CityLSystem
    -----------
    - Added: LSYSTEM_GARRISON, swaps Garrison graphics for Modern and Future eras

    Effects
    -------
    - Fixed: New missionaries use now other BtS missionaries' effects

    Sounds
    ------
    - Fixed: New missionaries have now new sounds

    Leaderheads
    -----------
    - Fixed: Suppiluliuma's nif reads texture sim2.dds correctly

    Promotion
    ---------
    - Changed: Pankration (Hellenic) moved to Special tech so that this promotion is available only from Hellenic Gymnasia

    Religions
    ---------
    - Changed: New religions have new sounds when religion is founded

    Improvements
    ------------
    - Changed: Ancient temple has new graphics

    Bonus classes
    -------------
    New classes should help AI players and make them value more resources as they want resources from all bonus classes, General class had many resources so AI did not value them much if they already had access to 1 or more of those resources. Adding more classes also affects Mapgenerator because it decides to place resources based on what bonus class they belong to and same type resources usually aren't close to each other. This should help to problem where maps were generated without some important resources.

    - Added: Luxury, Unique 8 (=minimum range between this type resources)
    - Added: Fuel, unique 6
    - Added: Manufactured, unique 0 (these don't appear on maps, produced by industry)


    Resources
    ---------
    - Changed: Copper appears with Metal Casting
    - Changed: Gold belongs now to Luxury class
    - Changed: Fur belongs now to Luxury class
    - Changed: Gems belongs now to Luxury class
    - Changed: Silk belongs now to Luxury class
    - Changed: Silver belongs now to Luxury class
    - Changed: Salt belongs now to Luxury class
    - Changed: Coffee belongs now to Luxury class
    - Changed: Pearls belongs now to Luxury class
    - Changed: Tobacco belongs now to Luxury class
    - Changed: Ivory belongs now to Rush class (AIs without Horses should rush to Elephant units if they are also missing copper and/or iron)
    - Changed: Coal belongs now to Fuel class
    - Changed: Oil belongs now to Fuel class
    - Changed: Uranium belongs now to Fuel class
    - Changed: Oil products belongs now to Fuel class (even though it's manufactured)
    - Changed: Aluminum belongs now to Manufactured class
    - Changed: Glass belongs now to Manufactured class (could also be luxury resource?)
    - Changed: Ammo belongs now to Manufactured class
    - Changed: Steel belongs now to Manufactured class
    - Changed: Vulcanized rubber belongs now to Manufactured class
    - Changed: Synthetic rubber belongs now to Manufactured class

    Civics
    ------
    - Changed: Slavery no longer gain food bonus from farms or apple orchards (still need further changes?)
    - Changed: Senated can do elections modifier set to 1 (affects revolutions and dynamic civ names)
    - Changed: Parliament can do elections modifier set to 1 (affects revolutions and dynamic civ names)
    - Changed: President can do elections modifier set to 1 (affects revolutions and dynamic civ names)

    Patch changes from v2.52, v2.6 and v2.61 are also included in this patch so you don't need to install those previous patches.

    With this patch the Revolution and Barbarian civ components should work correctly - I've ran half dozen games with those components on and 50+ minor civs have turned successfully into full civs without the 'waiting' bug so I think it's working fine now :)

    Note that by default Revolution and Barbarian civ components are off but they can be enabled in custom game menu.
     
  6. Francky42

    Francky42 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Location:
    FRANCE
    Great ! I try it right now ! :D
     
  7. Retrospect

    Retrospect Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Messages:
    269
    Location:
    UK
    Fantastic! Great news about the fix.... I'll keep my fingers crossed!

    Not sure about this change though...

    - Changed: Copper appears with Metal Casting

    seems a little late to me as you can get iron working before revealing copper now
     
  8. zappara

    zappara Mod Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,781
    Location:
    Finland
    Metal Casting is before Bronze Working in RoM ;)
     
  9. Hydromancerx

    Hydromancerx C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    16,281
    Location:
    California, USA
    So it was the doggies and not the Rev Mod or Barb Civ that was causing all the problems?

    Also you can patch from RoM v2.5 or RoM v2.6 right?
     
  10. cr0ws

    cr0ws Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    571
    Good news, going to let 2.62 run ASAP.
     
  11. zappara

    zappara Mod Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,781
    Location:
    Finland
    Yes, doggies seem to have been the cause - kind of what you can expect from real life dogs as well :lol:

    The patch should work with both v2.5 and v2.6 though I've only tested it with v2.6.
     
  12. Retrospect

    Retrospect Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Messages:
    269
    Location:
    UK
    Ooops.... I guess thats a lesson learned in not shooting your mouth off before know what you're talking about :blush:
     
  13. Hydromancerx

    Hydromancerx C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    16,281
    Location:
    California, USA
    It works great! However did the AI get meaner? I was playing on just Warlord level and it seems like every AI is coming over to attack me way early in the game. I am on a Small size map and they still had to travel a ways to get to me. *grumbles*

    Anywho I love the new roads. I have been playing with 2.6 Alpha for so long because anything after that would crash me. Its nice to see all the new stuff you have added since then and not crash. :D

    In short RoM v2.62 rocks! :goodjob:
     
  14. Kalimakhus

    Kalimakhus Emperor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,249
    @Zappara

    I am so glad that you got rid of this annoying issue. I am also pleased that once again I can play with Barb Civ turned on.

    I can't however understand how can the collateral damage of doggies cause the issue. It has been around for a long time now and I think for the last couple of updates trained dogs didn't have collateral damage anyway. It is kind of sad because collateral damage was the raison d'etre for this line of units IMO.
     
  15. zappara

    zappara Mod Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,781
    Location:
    Finland
    AI probably is meaner because I divided resources to new groups and AIs want to have resources from all groups and if they can't get some of them, they are more likely to go war to get them.

    In CvPlayerAI.cpp (or similar file in RevDCM sdk) are the collateral functions and that part probably works now differently than in RevDCM 0.97 as they went back to BtS bombard system. I haven't checked v0.97 sdk files. I think the new system checked if collateral damage unit does ranged bombardment, archer bombard or naval bombard or flanking and no choices for other situations. I could be wrong as I just glanced it through and didn't check all of it in detail. Trained dogs have had collateral damage for long time, I guess I'll have to make them some sort of "alternative for mounted" for civs without horses.
     
  16. Atreyu215

    Atreyu215 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    I absolutely cannot get a UI to show. I have the full steam version of this game. I've tried all the fixes listed on these here forums to no avail.

    I have a civ4.ini file in my steam common apps file as well as in My Documents. I added the altroot.py possible python folder and tested. Im assuming because i have the steam version i had no choice but to be upgraded to 3.17.

    I've been going at this for two days and still cannot get a UI. I'd really hate to give up on a MOD i hear so many great things about.

    Any suggestions?
     
  17. zappara

    zappara Mod Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,781
    Location:
    Finland
    Have you tested the new RoM v2.62 as well? For it I slightly modified how the mod handles CvAltroot.py file. Could you also post log files from your game so I can take a look at python logs?
     
  18. Atreyu215

    Atreyu215 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Ill give it a shot after work tonight. Also, if it doesn't work, where would the LOG file be located?
     
  19. civhelp121

    civhelp121 Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Messages:
    397
    Location:
    United States
    is downloading a patch just like downloading a new version?
     
  20. DavidB1111

    DavidB1111 Not-so-smart Man

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    662
    Quick Question, QQ? Are Privateers still awesomely unbalanced when you get them? Because if you're the first to build them, you can make them cripple your enemies fleets so they never build up a force to fight you with? :)

    Just wondering, because I managed to get a Privateer to over 100 XP in earlier games.

    Poor Triremes had no chance....stupid Barbarian Privateers....
     

Share This Page