1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Vincentz Infinite Projects (VIP) [Modpack]

Discussion in 'RoM Modmods' started by vincentz, Mar 28, 2010.

  1. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,698
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    OK, i added all of your stuff into Projects, but let it be known that when you add "Your" stuff to RoM, AND, its too many Guilds and instead of a "period" infront of your info in the middle of the game, you get a Smiley Face, cause its just too many guilds to have.

    EDIT:

    Also with "Your" Corporations, it messes up the cities with a RED FACE? and a RED FIST?

    EDIT EDIT: What ever happend to the one that has <iMovesChange>1</iMovesChange>, that was one of the better ones?:(
     
  2. vincentz

    vincentz Programmer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3,556
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Denmark
    The Guilds and AND are NOT compatible. Afforess put another version of the Guilds, so if you use AND simply delete the Guilds folder from Projects/Vincentz.

    And yes, I'm not Thai, though my girlfriend is. I'm originally from Denmark, but have lived on a small island (Koh Tao) in the Gulf of Thailand for the last 3 years. I love scuba diving and is a Dive Master by profession, though lately I'm running a girly bar, which isn't very compatible with scuba diving : Don't Drink and Dive ;)
     
  3. cripp7

    cripp7 Playin' Bored

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,095
    Location:
    Fantasyland
    with your Warlords update, I get a CTD when trying to Fortify/Sentry a Warlord
     
  4. vincentz

    vincentz Programmer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3,556
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Denmark
  5. cripp7

    cripp7 Playin' Bored

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,095
    Location:
    Fantasyland
    No, it's in LoR. Is the xml layout different this time? Cuz all I did was change the techs to match LoR
     
  6. vincentz

    vincentz Programmer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3,556
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Denmark
    I added the new modern warlords. But in separate files. Try to delete them and see if its working. I think I called the new files DIVwarlord. Don't know why they are working in RoM and not in LoR.
     
  7. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,549
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    There were some schema changes between RoM 2.9 and 2.91 but I would not think that there would be between versions of VIP. It may be worth looking at them anyway.
     
  8. cripp7

    cripp7 Playin' Bored

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,095
    Location:
    Fantasyland
    nope didn't work either. hmm, i can't figure out why it would break the fortify/sentry actions.
     
  9. Killtech

    Killtech Discutator

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,022
    Location:
    Bonn, Germany
    Hey vincentz,

    as i started to make my thoughts on packing the quantity of RoM buildings into Upgrade Chains i had run into a little design concept conflict with your guilds mod. the civil construction upgrade chain has a building that is directly connected to a guild. the chain goes:
    Stoneworkers Hut -> Stonemason Workshops -> Mason Guild Hall, Construction Cranes (former Trademill Crane) -> Construction Firm

    as masonry guild bacame a very important part of the medieval and was responsible for the construction of all cathedrals but also castles and such i wanted to represent this in a building that speeds up building construction.

    in my planning of the other upgrade chains i found that there are many medieval buildings that are closely connected to guilds. so in an effort to make both concepts compatible i though about some changes to your guild system. and here it comes:

    the many buildings related to guilds should have a guild prerequisite ofc. however as they are somewhat standard buildings and part of upgrade chains these buildings should all be easier accessible for everyone. thus i thought of making a break form guilds corporations design: no real corporation HQ (makes no sense historically anyway as guilds were mostly local organisations), every civ can found every guild - not just the first civ, easier access to guilds by making founding them easier through a buildable 'national wonder' that spreads the guild to the city that builds it (without perventing other players to found them too) from which you can spread it further. also i think that most benefits form guilds should come directly form the buildings they unlock which will be replaced by modern versions obsoleting guilds naturally - e.g craftsman guild hall will be replaced by factory. and as i would make the guild buildings available only with guilds civic (AND only so far) there is no need to display the guilds icons in a city after you switched away form it (though the boni form guild buildings remain until they are upgraded). this should make guilds THE civic and strategy of the medieval which naturally obsolets with modern buildings replacing the guilds.

    what do you think?
     
  10. vincentz

    vincentz Programmer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3,556
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Denmark
    But this is AND yes?

    I'm not in control of the AND guilds (yet).

    I recently installed AND, but when I got to the Guilds era, they were all taken. (one of the AI's had 12 guilds). I have to look into the AND guilds system before I can make comments, but one thing I was battling with when I made the guilds for RoM was the AI's incompetence when selecting guild when it had multible choices. So opening up further wouldn't be a solution I would recommend.
     
  11. Killtech

    Killtech Discutator

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,022
    Location:
    Bonn, Germany
    there is a big difference between guilds and corporations in concept: guilds are monopoles and should not compete with each other as different guild occupy independent specialisations. so if you have the choice you take them all.

    of course the AI will have a problem with this concept in the beginning (if it will manage it at all). however as it doesn't manage religions appropriately as well. thus it will require to rework AI spreading system anyway.
     
  12. Cynomys

    Cynomys Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    A simple question. Is there a limit for guilds per city? I can't get more then 3 in a city. Are they really not competing? F.e. if I have the clerk's I cant spread the artist's there. Why if they're not competing?
     
  13. vincentz

    vincentz Programmer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3,556
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Denmark
    I made the guilds like corporations even though all of the guilds are inspired from the London Livery Companies which counts a total of 72 or something around there. So basically the guilds would be buildable in 1 city, but at that era there are so much other things to build and the AI doesnt handle multible guild choices very well, so I decided that 1 from each category would be enough. This would also result in a bigger spread of the guilds, so it wouldnt just be the top civ that got all the Guilds. Then Zappara added a couple of resources and the guilds "broke" as there was not enough free resources. I then simplified the Guild Charter to 1 Resource, which allows only 1 guild per city.
    This symbolises the Guild in Power in the city. The latest guild version have guild halls for craftsmens and servants guilds, so it is actually possible to first spread one guild, then build the guild hall, then spread another, build the guildhall and then spread the last, and while the corporation boni only come from the active guild some of the guild halls are actually better than the corporation bonus.
     
  14. iyyillius

    iyyillius Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2007
    Messages:
    106
    i recently played a Very long game of rom vip. just a couple of things. first I launched in excess of 100 nuke and never saw a single tile change due to globle warming. and no other civs experianced it either. basically i was able to use nuke without consiquence. The second thing is that i noticed that the "nanite defuser" caused the game to crash when you build it while at war or if you build it but dont have any nukes. I did eventually build it but only after i passed the non proliferation resolution for the U.N.

    Aside from that everything went incredibally smooth. well except for not being able to access the rev screen or the city screens. thanks for the fun game (it took a month and a half and 132 game hours to finish..... awesome!)
     
  15. vincentz

    vincentz Programmer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3,556
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Denmark
    Nice. I'm glad you liked it.

    a) that's very strange. Especially because I don't mess with DLL or Pythons where this is executed, nor do I tamper with nukes or even mention them in any of the files in VIP.
    b) Same goes for the Nanite Defuser. Actually the Nanite defuser is one of the only Icons I didnt fix in my little iconproject, mainly because I have no idea what a Nanite Defuser is :confused:
    c) the screens is a python issue somehow is related to the guilds. i have no idea how or why. Maybe it is somehow linked together with a and b. dont know.

    The strange part is that its not an issue in RoM+AND+VIP.
     
  16. iyyillius

    iyyillius Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2007
    Messages:
    106
    just got back from a break (had to play dragon age again) it is very nice to see that VIP is now a part of the ROM 2.92 patch, as i feel that Vincent has created a modmod in the true spirit of ROM (and i have played every version of ROM since 0.8... seriously.... over 3 years ago......) anyway i hope that "no nuclear winter thing gets fixed (i have found ways aroud the other stuff)..... excellent work guys!!!!! I'm sure Zap cant wait to get his hands on CIV V but until then (and probably until at least one expansion comes out) I appriciate the attention to detail that that vincent is putting in on the phenominal MOD that is ROM!!!!!!!!!!

    BTW where can i find this much talked about "AND" mod?
     
  17. os79

    os79 Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,094
    Location:
    Eastern USA Coast
    :lol: You are one sub-forum too shallow. You got to this thread, look up to the top of the page of this forum and you will find the sub-forum of this forum; A New Dawn. There you will find an awesome Modmod created by Afforess that reinforces the force of Rise of Mankind with an excellent software support :D.
     
  18. vincentz

    vincentz Programmer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3,556
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Denmark
    AND is almost as good as VIP ;)
     
  19. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,698
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    I dont like the new Great Commanders and the way they work. When i capture them any civ can come by an attack them? Plus they can go into your city but you cant attack them till they leave?

    Same as for the other commander stuff.
     
  20. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,549
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    I agree with SO here, the only thing you can do with a captured warlord unit is delete them before you end your turn. Whereas the AI can actually capture them and move them to safety, you can't and the AI can attack the unit without attacking your units.

    I am also having problems with your guilds as implemented in RoM 2.92. I haven't checked to see if you have posted an update here to what is in basic RoM. Problem: I can build 3 guilds but each city can only have one guild spread to it so the "automated missionaries and CEOs" option causes the guilds to constantly spread to the same city! Eg each of my guild cities is building the guild master and of that guild master goes to Thebes to spread their guild there and remove the other guilds.

    The upshot being that I remove both Warlords and Guilds from RoM 2.92 before I start a game. Which is a pity. :(
     

Share This Page