1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Vincentz Infinite Projects (VIP) [Modpack]

Discussion in 'RoM Modmods' started by vincentz, Mar 28, 2010.

  1. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,396
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    Are you still in the Far East?

    Wish I'd seen your reply earlier about JC and RoM 1.03.

    Maybe I could interest you in helping/assisting/fixing it with/for me?

    Since it's a Pre WoC RoM version most ppl don't remember how to mod RoM the old way. I'd Love to get your Industry Modmod working in it too.

    RoM 1.03 Civics imho were/are superior to "Today's" set of Civics. Too Much negativity in them now. Making a Game harder doesn't always translate into a More Enjoyable game.

    Hope to see you around.

    Edit: http://www.filesend.net/download.php?f=074ad9bb122c2f9f0d772018649074f3 This is the link to what I've tried to do. Maybe you could D/L it and give pointers? I'd Love to have your Industry Modmod added to it, hint hint. :D
    EDIT: Afforess already added you Industry modmod in for me. So that can be checked off the list. Now who made the Passable Mountains Mod?

    JosEPh :)
     
  2. vincentz

    vincentz Programmer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3,556
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Denmark
    @Joseph
    Auch. Didnt see this post. sorry.
    Do you have a link for Rom 1?

    And no, I returned to a cold cold Denmark (but with my Thai girlfriend so its not THAT cold ;))

    In the meantime I tried Civ V, and was greatly disappointed to say the least (ofcourse it didnt help my machine is under the min. req of the game :mischief:),
    and with RoM/AND start loading times getting past 3½ minutes I didnt have patience to continue modding there. So I decided to start a new standalone mod completely from scratch :

    VIP 0.1

    And while it is still very small in size (loads in less than 15 sec on my rig from 2005) it already changes a lot of concepts around movement, improvements and terrain.
     
  3. generalstaff

    generalstaff Steadfast

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,095
    Location:
    California
    You may want to change your forum account location then.

    If I was not in the middle of my own stuff, I would be happy to test and give comments. The movement system (mentioned in the Really? thread) is something that really intrigues me.
     
  4. vincentz

    vincentz Programmer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3,556
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Denmark
    It's so fun/interesting that I find myself playing instead of modding even though I havent even startet on the tech tree. :crazyeye:

    Example of movements (not final): scouts 6, Workers 5, settlers 3, warriors 3, archers/axemen/spearmen 4, chariot 6.

    But since everything is more or less double up a scout can move 3 moves on grass, but only 2 move in jungle (2 for grass+3 for jungle=5) while warrior would be able to move 2 if first was on flatlands and an archer would be able to move into a forrest 2 for grass+1 for forest=3) and attack or move from there.
    There are soooo many "new" strategies based on this, but the scout actually becomes a scout and a preferred choice of scouting (since he also got +1 sight as one of the first promotions)

    I also changed a lot of terrain (boosting everywhere) and features (oasis is now a small fertile lake on grass/plain/dessert) and gave the improvements a complete overhaul. It is now possible to build a pasture, querry and plantation without the resource making more diverse choices (one thing I really noticed about Civ V was that there was really only 1 choice suitable on any specific tile (and most of the time it would be Trading Post :(). Now there are 2-5 choices (depending on era).

    And finally I have a MENU BACKGROUND. Yeehaaa :lol:
     
  5. vincentz

    vincentz Programmer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3,556
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Denmark
    VIP 0.2
    Added menuBG, Loading screen, Noble specialist, Great Noble specialist, Great Noble Unit. "An heir to the empire has been born sire!" :king:



    Now standing at a crossroad with my newborn mod.
    The idea behind the mod (besides giving me 100% design control ;)) was to make a mod that my old computers could play even to modern era without a big slowdown. I also wanted something that worked in multiplayer. But now (and sooner before later) I have to decide whether or not BUG, Revdcm or other mod components should be a part of VIP.
    The impact is fairly easy to measure (1st turn on medium size continents map. # is mb memory used)

    BTS 215
    VIP 215 (not much added as of yet. ;))
    BUG 374
    RevDCM 395 *
    FFH2 296 **
    ROM AND 621 (just for comparison)

    * was excpecting alot more than BUG alone, so surprised. no reason to use take if also wanted BUG. However there could be Multiplayer issues.
    ** VERY surprised how little mem it uses.
     
  6. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,698
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    If you want an old RoM with tons and tons of excitement added try finding an old copy of my NWA without dll, 004 and below, plus NWA Water was good. With dll i think NWA 005 was the best, then 006 of course. Then i changed over to BUG after that.
     
  7. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,396
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    I just saw your reply, work has been "nutz" of late, how can I get a copy of version 0.2? I'm ready to test/play!
    EDIT: Just D/L'd it! Will Play it this weekend! Yeah New stuff!!! :D
    JosEPh :)
     
  8. generalstaff

    generalstaff Steadfast

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,095
    Location:
    California
    Awesome, Great Noble GP. If you need a the list of Great Noble names I made a while back, you have just to ask. I may just have to make some time to test this sooner than I planned.
     
  9. vincentz

    vincentz Programmer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3,556
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Denmark
    Yes please , a Noble list would be very nice.

    It takes a long time to make a mod from the beginning, so I stole what I think is one of the best parts of RoM: The techtree :)

    Though I'm having a bit of problem locating where I can "squeeze" the techs closer together. :

    VIP ROM

    as it would otherwise have a vertical slider, making mousewheel scrolling up and down on the tech tree.
     
  10. generalstaff

    generalstaff Steadfast

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,095
    Location:
    California
    Here
    Spoiler :
    *Cleopatra
    *Sun Quan
    *Liu Bei
    *Liu Zhang
    *Pepin the Short
    *Harald Hardrada
    *Harold Godwinson
    *Raynald de Chatillon
    *Henry the Lion
    *Friedrich Barbarossa
    *Gajah Mada
    *Andrea Dandolo
    *John Fastolf
    *Ulrich von Jungingen
    *Isabella of Castile
    *Vlad Draculea
    *Cesare Borgia
    *Mohammed Ash Sheikh
    *Suleiman the Lawgiver
    *Francis Drake
    *Toyotomi Hideyori
    *Tokugawa Ieyasu
    *Willem van Orange
    *Ferenc Rakoczy
    *Pyotr Alexeyevich Romanov
    *Siraj Ud Dualah
    *Louis de Bourbon-Conde
    *Murad Bey
    *Karl von Osterreich
    *Mehmet Ali
    *Joseph Radetzky
    *Saigo Takamori
    *Ludwig Friedrich Wilhelm
    *Pyotr Stolypin
    *Ibn Saud


    I also thought of a number of Wonders which can provide Great Noble points if you haven't already:
    *Apadana Palace (From Modular Wonders)
    *Edinburgh Castle
    *Himeji Samurai Castle
    *Versailles
    *Forbidden Palace (National Wonder)
    *Royal Tournament (National Wonder, currently no GP points)
    *Alhambra
     
  11. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,698
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    I wont do the slider stuff, tons of people really hate that method, only one i know that used it was FfH, But thats so confusing, i dont know where to look start or go to next.

    Again, take a look at my techInfo for Prehistoric i made room (alot) just before Ritualism.
     
  12. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,396
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/49805/Rise of Mankind1.03.7z

    This is the Updated RoM1.03 that aforress cleaned up/fixed for me. Maybe Having a copy od Early RoM will give you some ideas for your Mod.

    Does VIP start at 10000 BC?

    Using Jungle Camp for Forests is interesting along with being able to use Plains for Quarries too.

    I am struggling with keeping and getting enough Gold/turn to keep research at a respectable pace. Early buildings and fishing Boats don't generate any. Been a long time since I played that way. ;)

    Keep it coming Vincentz. I look forward to each new iteration of VIP. :D

    JosEPh

    Ps @strategyonly Hping you get your main puter fixed soon so I can continue with PreHistoric.
     
  13. vincentz

    vincentz Programmer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3,556
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Denmark
    Man, there's a lot of work.

    Especially when using an "empty" RoM Tech tree. (Think I'm going to steal ALOT from Transhuman RoM :scan:)

    Added :
    Wheel Wright, Fishing Village, Elderly Council and National Horse Stud.

    Changed movement cost for all terrain with 1 so now 3-6 (makes some of the promotions very interesting)
     
  14. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,396
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    This reminds me so much of the early days of RoM: versions 0.80, 0.90, 0.94 until RoM1.0 came to be. :D

    Will install VIP O.3 ASAP!

    JosEPh (happy dance :lol )
     
  15. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,549
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    @Vincentz, do you still need the "building produces a unit every x turns after built" mod? I am about 80% done with it. It"works" except I have not figured out how to stop producing units when I reach the national limit and if you save and load the game I loose some information.

    the other problem I have is that I am retired and receintly agreed to do a small bit of programming for someone. I am finding it hard to get the 2 hrs a day to do their job let alone time to play civ (iv not v).
     
  16. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,396
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    You are probably aware of these small problems.

    I got hammered by forgetting that you didn't get settler until Pottery. :p

    JosEPh;)
     
  17. vincentz

    vincentz Programmer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3,556
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Denmark
    @ DH
    No thanks Dancing H :) I dont think I'm going to put a caravan unit into my mod. My plan is to make a light mod (I never made it to Transhuman in RoM, and in the later versions I didnt make it to modern. Lack of machine power...) , but with the depth of ROM tech tree, so most tech will propably only have 1-2 things.
    @ Joseph
    Yeah, I know. Its fixed now. It took a looong time looking through RoM tech tree and then again with the descriptions/strategy, so when I was about to fetch the quotes I was toooo tired ;)

    BTW The settler actually both requires Animal Husbandry AND Pottery, so the beginning of the game will be City States***. I try out different approches to enhance the AI in a natural way, and I'm happy that it already seems quite capable. I just did a rework of all the promotions categorizing them into 3 new promos : Offensive (+10 vs land units) / Special (+1 Move) / Defensive (+15 defense on grass/plain/tundra)


    *** Edit : This way the AI get to build up a suitable capital of size 3-5 with good protection before beginning building settlers.
     
  18. vincentz

    vincentz Programmer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3,556
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Denmark
    Just 1 more turn....

    1250 BC - Bronce Age - Turn 100 (normal speed) - Noble Difficulty - Huge Map
     
  19. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,698
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    No offense but you should have a completely different thread for your "new" project, mainly because people are "used to" going to the first page and downloading from there, just a thought.
     
  20. vincentz

    vincentz Programmer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3,556
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Denmark
    Yep. I just didnt want to create a new one with the mod being in such an unfinished state. still a lot to do. when I'm approaching 1.0'ish I'll ask the Moderators to make a thread in Project & Mod Development thread since it's not really a modmod for RoM, but for now I think people would just post why it's not finished if I created my own thread. Plus VIP is the working title. Might change it at a later state.
     

Share This Page