War - Complete noob questions..

tokyosexwhale

Chieftain
Hi there

My first time playing Civ so if I say anything that sounds really stoooopid please forgive me.

My first game, I'm playing the English and I'm sharing a huge continent with the Germans.
I was trying for a nice cultural victory but the Germans were being a pain and complaining about my borders and a couple of units I had protecting them.

I read on here that people are dominating with just 6 units (3 melee-3 range) so I decided to give that a go. Someone else on this forum had popped up a really useful diagram of the ideal formation for the troops. I must confess that just trying to get my troops in any kind of formation was difficult. Terrain meant that some were trapped behind mountains or there wasn't enough room to set things out nicely. Also some units were coming from across the 'board' so i was losing track of who was where.

When I finally attacked Germany they kicked my ass. I couldn't keep the formation and attack at the same time. A city was bombarding my troops as well as German pike men. Then another City I hadn't taken into account bombarded me and I ran away and made peace.

I then just amassed a massive army and simply walked in wiping out one City at a time. But with so many troops I didn't really feel in control of the situation. I was just overwhelming Germany with my numbers. Keeping any kind of formation pattern was impossible.

My questions are:

How do you keep nice and tidy formations easily?

When attacking do you move 1-2 tiles at a time, moving slowly into the oppositions territory?

What do you attack city's with? I bombarded them to soften them up but the City then attacked my siege units and destroyed them easily (even if they were on hills) I just then started throwing any troops I had at the cities.