1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Welcome to the World of Civilization Project

Discussion in 'Civ4 - World of Civilization' started by TAfirehawk, Nov 15, 2007.

  1. TAfirehawk

    TAfirehawk WoC Team Manager

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,326
    Location:
    Florida
    V1.00 is in final testing and available for early download now that Firaxis released the patch 3.17

    We have moved back to the public SVN on SourceForge.net with our latest work now that we are no longer under NDA.

    I think it is ready, SVN 1649, in folder V1.00 but I want to make sure we test this A LOT. Once we are happy with our testing efforts, then I will post the WoC Core along with the first set of WoC Modules for download.
     
  2. jebst

    jebst Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    47
    Congratulations on all the work you have done. Realy terrefic. Please note the following when using WoC from svn 1716: this is probably a mod problem
    WoC1716

    Assert Failed

    File: .\CvGlobals.cpp
    Line: 4861
    Expression: strcmp(szType, "NONE")==0 || strcmp(szType, "")==0
    Message: info type UNITCOMBAT_JET_FIGHTER not found, Current XML file is: modules\Promotions\Improved Radar\ImprovedRadar_CIV4PromotionInfos.xml

    ----------------------------------------------------------

    Tag:UNICOMBAT_JET_FIGHTER in Infoclass was incorrect
    Current XML file is: Modules/Promotions/ImprovedRadar/ImprovedRadar_CIV4PromotionInfos.xml

    Same for Tags _Bomber _GroundATTACK _Fighter _Jet_Fighter

    Play starts OK but at first turn CTD
    Using v3.17
    Also make it possible to run from any configuration, maybe as a choice, re some uses Program other Program Files, some dokuments/my games.
    regards and again thanks for all the work you have done
    jebst
     
  3. Ionopachys

    Ionopachys Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 18, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    The unit modules are missing. The folders are there with their loading xml's, but the units' folders and files are nowhere to be seen. Either they just forgot to upload that installer or they aren't done with it yet.
     
  4. rockinroger

    rockinroger WoC Team Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,312
    Location:
    Overland Park, Kansas
    Actually the Combat catergories are not done in a installer yet. so thats is the error you are getting. Add that from ver1.00 on the SVN and you will be good to go.
     
  5. TAfirehawk

    TAfirehawk WoC Team Manager

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,326
    Location:
    Florida
    Mixing and matching on the SVN right now will lead to alot of errors. So if you don't mind all the manual moving work and errors, go for it....otherwise stick with the installers.

    FYI there is an Excel file in with the installers that lists the Modules they contain.
     
  6. Ionopachys

    Ionopachys Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 18, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    So as of this post, V1.00 isn't available?
     
  7. jebst

    jebst Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    47
    Thanks. Copied the Combat Cat. and the play so far works beutifully. Keep up the good work. Maybe I am a little impatient but I love to play with as much Technology and resourses as possible.
     
  8. rockinroger

    rockinroger WoC Team Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,312
    Location:
    Overland Park, Kansas
    Join the club,lol
     
  9. jebst

    jebst Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    47
    TAfirehawk No offence. It is not that i like to mix and match as much as I know when you have to test a play, it is important to do all the stupid thing anybody can think of to se how the play handles it. So far your install files are OK on my system. There is one problem with religions. When I use christianity as a religion and work my way up the tech tree I come to Theology. When reserached there pops up "you have invented a new religion and there is a choise of two or three religions. As soon as I chose one CTD. The one to chose from are allready invented. Keep up the good work regards jebst
     
  10. mamba

    mamba Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,520
  11. rockinroger

    rockinroger WoC Team Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,312
    Location:
    Overland Park, Kansas
  12. komodo

    komodo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    so... when can someone actually download this?
     
  13. rockinroger

    rockinroger WoC Team Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,312
    Location:
    Overland Park, Kansas
  14. rockinroger

    rockinroger WoC Team Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,312
    Location:
    Overland Park, Kansas
    So is the woc beta 1.1 ok, and should i keep releasing modules, release modules with only 1 module in it, or release them with 3-4 in it? keep in mind that any module released can be disabled in the mlf by setting<bLoad>0</bLoad>. Just looking for some thoughts, we have a ton more modules.
     
  15. ravenone

    ravenone Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Messages:
    113
    My opinion is to continue to try and group 3-4 items in a module.

    Also, you might(if its not a ton more work for you) have a "master" module for each module area (i.e. Units, buildings, etc..) and this "master" can contain all the modules in that area. That way if someone wants all the Units modules, they can just download and install the one big master Units module (instead of having to install 4+ seperate modules). Just like you have a overall Full install of the Core and all Modules. Just a thought.

    BTW, have you figured out the install issue with it not overwritting older module files when someone tries and install an update on a module?
     
  16. rockinroger

    rockinroger WoC Team Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,312
    Location:
    Overland Park, Kansas
    Good ideas, and no i havent got a grip on the installers. i will have to play with the settings some more. Are you aware of this page? http://forums.civfanatics.com/showpost.php?p=7102942&postcount=3. Or you prefer one master file updated for each category? Or in theory I could do both options.
     
  17. rockinroger

    rockinroger WoC Team Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,312
    Location:
    Overland Park, Kansas
    We still could use some more beta testers. PM me if your interested in helping. I started out with ViSa as a beta tester, then volunteered to help mod, even though i knew absolutely nothing.
     
  18. Elucidus

    Elucidus King

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2002
    Messages:
    983
    Location:
    USA
    Apparently I can't read...see PM
     
  19. Chiyochan

    Chiyochan King

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    710
    Location:
    Chiyochan's Country
    I have to wonder how something like this would work with civ's XML additions, for example even adding something like an extra building requires editing several XML files, compatability issues for something like this would be a nightmare if you're trying to go all out with mix and match legos.
     
  20. mamba

    mamba Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,520
    Just make sure to always keep all changes to one entity in one place (dir), even when those changes need to be done across mutliple files (which in civ might be in different dirs).

    Of course, if two separate changes to one entity change the same tags, only one can 'win', but for approx 95% of the changes out there this never is an issue.

    So, it does not solve all your problems in a plug and play fashion, but most of them. It solves all technical dependency issues, but none of the logical ones (which obviously is impossible anyway).

    You could e.g. give my mod (in its woc-ified version) a try to see how to do it as essentially everything in it is plug and play, you just edit the MLF file to e.g. remove a civ or a unit type.
     

Share This Page