1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

What is the best use of idling workers?

Discussion in 'Civ3 - General Discussions' started by BearsRulez, Mar 26, 2004.

  1. BearsRulez

    BearsRulez Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Singapore
    halo everyone... heres a micromanagement qn:

    I am wondering what do you guys do with excess workers....

    Often at the beginning i produced loads of workers especially if my starting position is engulfed by jungles.... When i reached
    middle ages, i find myself 14 to 15 workers nothing much to do.
    I dont want to disband them or return them to the cities coz i
    am anticipating massive railroad building in the next industrial age, and the pollutions in the modern age...

    Also when i captured a faraway enemy city, i often raze it rather
    than keeping it. This will result in more foreign workers.

    Do u have any good use for them while awaiting future tasks?

    sorrie, if this qn has already been addressed somewhereelse in the forum, pls direct me to it...

    Thanks alot in advance
     
  2. Padma

    Padma the Inbond Administrator Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2001
    Messages:
    14,408
    Location:
    Omaha, Nebraska USA
    One of the few times when I will automate my workers ....

    (Note: ONLY with "SHIFT-A", never with "A")
     
  3. Ranos

    Ranos King

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    819
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Shift-A. Automates your workers without changing existing improvements. They will go to the nearest city and sit there and do nothing until needed. If you build or capture acity on the same continent, they will rush to improve it. When railroads become available, they will automatically build them on all tiles within your borders. When pollution appears, they will automatically clean it up. Do that and you won't have to worry about telling them what to do anymore.

    Micro can be fun, but macro can solve some problems.
     
  4. Dogmeat

    Dogmeat Lupine humanoid

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    Messages:
    312
    Location:
    Sweden
    Build Fortresses and barricades on the borders.
     
  5. yoshi74

    yoshi74 Tourist from Mars

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,197
    Location:
    Halle/Germany
    Normally i then road every tile inside my borders, even mountains out of range of every of my cities. The same later with rails. :)
     
  6. SuiCyco MF

    SuiCyco MF Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    Lake Tahoe, USA
    Turn their motors off to save gas! HaHa Just kidding.

    Sentry them in a central location till needed.

    I'll use some as "bait" near border areas. The AI will move past you to attack your workers, leaving their troops vulnerable to counterattack. (& recaptures the worker, too!)
     
  7. BearsRulez

    BearsRulez Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Singapore
    Thanks guys for the tips...

    i totally forgot that they can build fortresses... and as for the "bait" idea, well i tried but the AI too clever to take the bite...
    maybe i did not do it right... :(

    by the way, do planting forests help to reduce global warming hence lower pollution? if so, i will plant more in advance....

    Thanks again...
     
  8. SuiCyco MF

    SuiCyco MF Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    Lake Tahoe, USA
    No, I don't think forrests help w/ G.W.

    I'll plant them along my border to serve as a "buffer zone".
    Slows down the enemy advance into your territory. I've saved many my cities from capture by doing this. No more one-turn sneak attacks vs your city, giving you time to reinforce it.
     
  9. Shammurabi

    Shammurabi Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    UK
    Plant forests and harvest them: 10 shields every time.
     
  10. lbhhh

    lbhhh King

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    923
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    That's right. just remember you only get the shields once per tile.
     
  11. kb2tvl

    kb2tvl King

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2002
    Messages:
    954
    Building forrests is a good idea but reducing the extra food produced at size 12 is what I spend my time on.

    A grassland produces 2 food mined and 3 irigated but 1 food if forrested. A standard grassland will produce 1 shield mined, 0 shield irigated and 2 shields forrested.

    By using this simple information, you can squeeze 2~4 more shield out of a city which may allow for faster completion of buildings and units.
     
  12. ninti

    ninti Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    I'd be careful about that idea. I have had the AI take some settlers of mine, and then immediately disband the resulting pair of workers because it realized they would not get them out in time.
     
  13. ainwood

    ainwood Consultant. Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,078
    What I tend to do is check them and add those that are native to productive towns. That leaves a reduced number of workers (slaves) to do the work that still needs to be done (generally pollution control), yet they require no support costs. :)
     
  14. SuperSipahi

    SuperSipahi Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    I usally am to lazy to micromanage.
    I just hit shift-a and shift w (clear jungle and swamp).
     
  15. queen_vell

    queen_vell Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Duluth, MN
    What the hell does sentry mean?
     
  16. Frostyboy

    Frostyboy Never Beaten

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,046
    Location:
    Norway
    SACRIFICE them for rush jobs (if playing despotism or Feudalism)
    Or add to populatuion. They are slow indeed.
     
  17. Moonsinger

    Moonsinger Settler Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    4,374
    Location:
    Iowa
    I usually just send them home to spend time with their families and those that don't have family to go back to, I just let them sleep at the steps of my palace until I finish my spaceship. I'm sure they will be needed again to colonize other planet.
     
  18. Dogmeat

    Dogmeat Lupine humanoid

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    Messages:
    312
    Location:
    Sweden
    How nice :)


    You can also give your workers to the underdog civs.
    That way you can even the balance out a little between foreign countries. Oh and get better attitude from them ;).
     
  19. Tomoyo

    Tomoyo Fate

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    9,698
    Location:
    Boston, Mass
    I use them to max out my cities, by joining and changing some irrigation and mines.
     
  20. Quasar1011

    Quasar1011 King of Sylvania

    Joined:
    May 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,968
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    California
    I sometimes build 3 or 4 fortresses around my empire, and then sentry the workers in those fortresses until needed later. It makes it easier to clean that first pollution square, or build that first railway line, if most of my workers are in just 3 squares...

    Nobody has addressed the issue of foreign vs. domestic workers. If idle, foreign workers cost no gold, but domestic workers do. Those are the ones that will be added to my cities first...
     

Share This Page