1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

WHoward's Pick 'N' Mix Mods

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Mod Components' started by whoward69, Jul 7, 2011.

  1. Gilgamesch

    Gilgamesch Ancient Alien

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    2,228
    Location:
    good old germany
    Sorry for ask this, but is the unhappiness via buildings supported with your last dll update.
    Thanks.
     
  2. whoward69

    whoward69 DLL Minion

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    8,417
    Location:
    Near Portsmouth, UK
    Yep

    In CvCity.cpp
    Code:
    // Trust the modder if they set a building to negative happiness
    #if !defined(MOD_API_EXTENSIONS)
    if(pBuildingInfo->GetHappiness() > 0)
    #endif
    {
    	ChangeBaseHappinessFromBuildings(pBuildingInfo->GetHappiness() * iChange);
    }
    
    // Trust the modder if they set a building to negative global happiness
    #if !defined(MOD_API_EXTENSIONS)
    if(pBuildingInfo->GetUnmoddedHappiness() > 0)
    #endif
    {
    	ChangeUnmoddedHappinessFromBuildings(pBuildingInfo->GetUnmoddedHappiness() * iChange);
    }
    
    (MOD_API_EXTENSIONS is one of the "always on" options)
     
  3. BernardoAZ

    BernardoAZ Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    The fact that there is no documentation for reality is considered to be one of the proofs that God is a programmer.
     
  4. DRen72

    DRen72 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    whoward69,

    It goes without saying, but your mods are a dream for Civ 5. I am amazed you are able to accomplish all this and even more impressed it remains free. Thanks!

    One quick question...with support for vanilla out the window, we have G&K and BNW. If one of your mods does not indicate if the mod is for one or the other, is it for both?

    Example (using your web page) "Global - Coastal Waters Only" under Compatibility simply says "Hot Seat". Now I know its for BNW, but if I didn't, how would I know if its for only G&K, only those with BNW, or both? Really a question of clarification.

    And one request...(I hate asking since you have done so much already) but on your web site, would it be possible to add the current version number on the left hand side so we can quick glance to see the version the mod has reached?

    Thanks!
     
  5. wuTz

    wuTz Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    160
    If it is only for GK, it says (GK)
    If it's only for BNW, it says (BNW)

    All the others are for both I guess.
     
  6. wuTz

    wuTz Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    160
    Well they are, but in my case their individual benefits are not shown:confused:


    Edit: same for the terracotta army as I can see right now...
     
  7. Good2B

    Good2B Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Thanks, plugged this in, but it only half fixed it, d'oh!
    Now regular specialist builds show up, but Artist Guild and Writer's Guild (so far) don't show up.
     
  8. BernardoAZ

    BernardoAZ Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    UI - Multiple Unique Bonuses (GK) is clearly labled as being BNW incompatible.

    Do you have plans to make a BNW compatible version of UI - Multiple Unique Bonuses?
     
  9. whoward69

    whoward69 DLL Minion

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    8,417
    Location:
    Near Portsmouth, UK
    Unfortunately it's not that simple (nothing in life is ever simple) due to "history"

    In the beginning there was Civ5 and my mods were just "Group - Mod Name" and they all worked for Civ5 - simples!

    Then came G&K, and while it was possible to make most of the existing mods compatible with both (even those that added culture) by using various SQL and Lua tricks, some (mainly those that edited core UI lua/xml files) could not be. So the new G&K version of the "Group - Mod Name" mod became "Group - Mod Name (GK)" and the mods were "marked" as "blocks G&K" and "requires G&K" respectively. Still fairly simple.

    As new mods were written, even if they would only work on G&K they were just called "Group - Mod Name" and if necessary marked as "requires G&K". Slightly confusing, but still understandable.

    Along comes BNW. Now we have a problem, as while most mods can be made BNW compatible some can't and we need a "(BNW)" variant. That's OK for the BNW version but the G&K only version can be called "Group - Mod Name" or "Group - Mod Name (GK)" depending on its age. Also some "Group - Mod Name (GK)" mods are also BNW compatible. Renaming mods is a real PITA so we are currently in a state of confusion going by just the name. However, all mods should be correctly marked as "requires BNW" or "blocks BNW" which will show up in the "Compatibility:" line on their web-site page.

    It's something I'm acutely aware of and working out how best to represent on the nav pane of my site

    HTH (but probably not)

    W
     
  10. whoward69

    whoward69 DLL Minion

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    8,417
    Location:
    Near Portsmouth, UK
    Sometime. But as it's a purely cosmetic mod (you can have as many uniques as you want, the core code just displays the first two), it's not high on the list
     
  11. whoward69

    whoward69 DLL Minion

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    8,417
    Location:
    Near Portsmouth, UK
    The planner only considers "global" implications of the wonders and not local or situational ones (so Petra doesn't show as very good as it only affects desert tiles around the city it is built in and not all desert tiles). The Terracotta Army is a weird one in that it doubles your units - if you only have one unit its bad, if you have 50 its both good (more units) and bad (lots of extra maintenance, so negative gold).

    You can mouse-over any wonder to see its full building tooltip which will answer local/situational questions (ie "is it a good wonder to build in a particular city" and not just "is this good for my overall strategy" - the latter being what the planner was designed for)

    I'm going to add a few more "considerations" to the "useful for this strategy" logic, but there will always be wonders that don't have entries in any column due to their specialist nature
     
  12. whoward69

    whoward69 DLL Minion

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    8,417
    Location:
    Near Portsmouth, UK
    It was close!

    The problem is in "UI - City Expansion" (the only one of my mods that touches the CityView.lua file)

    At line 1390

    Code:
    if thisBuildingClass.MaxGlobalInstances <= 0 and thisBuildingClass.MaxTeamInstances <= 0 
    and ([COLOR="Red"][B]not[/B][/COLOR] isBNW [B][COLOR="Red"]and[/COLOR][/B] thisBuildingClass.MaxPlayerInstances ~= 1) then
    
    should be

    Code:
    if thisBuildingClass.MaxGlobalInstances <= 0 and thisBuildingClass.MaxTeamInstances <= 0 
    and (isBNW [B][COLOR="Green"]or[/COLOR][/B] thisBuildingClass.MaxPlayerInstances ~= 1) then
    
     
  13. Martock

    Martock Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    254
    Location:
    South Carolina, USA
    I updated some of the files yesterday and since then, I've received a number of instantaneous CTD's. The game is still rather early, around turn 80 or so, but the CTD's seem to come when I either click the Next Turn button OR when the turn is near the completion of processing. I wasn't experiencing this CTD with the older versions so I'm going on with the assumption that it's something within the updated files. I'm wondering if it might be that coastal mod as the cities in the game are still in the stage of expanding. Here's a list of the mod files I DL'd from your site.

    DLL - Various Mod Components (v 20)
    Global - Spice Islands (v 1)
    Global - Espionage Mapping (BNW) (v 2)
    Global - Coastal Waters Only (v 1)
    Global - City Working Distance (v 4)
    UI - Summary Clock (v 9)
    UI - Summary Shipping (v 9)
    UI - Summary Specialists (v 9)
    UI - Trade Opportunities (v 25)
    UI - Summary Luxuries (v 12)
    UI - Enhanced Rankings (v 11)

    I've also attached a save game, however, I don't know how much help it will be as I've noticed that I can reload the game, go a few more turns, and then CTD. Prior to my updating those files, I rarely, if ever, had any CTD's and usually those left me with an .mdmp file. I'm not getting those at this stage.

    22 AI's / 30 CS - Huge world - Pangaea - Marathon
     
  14. AlienFromBeyond

    AlienFromBeyond Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Is it intended that the free tile buys from culture in the UI - City Expansion mod increase the gold cost of buying more tiles? Or is it just a side-effect of how you do it with a side of being unable to prevent the cost increase?
     
  15. whoward69

    whoward69 DLL Minion

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    8,417
    Location:
    Near Portsmouth, UK
    No. I'll fix it in the next build.
     
  16. Good2B

    Good2B Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Still no go I'm afraid, unless I screwed up the edit. Still doesn't seem to pull up the BNW specialists. It is a such a fun mod, but will have to wait for it to be fixed (hard to win culture game with no culture specialists lol).

    Another problem I have found is that if I try to start a game with a saved map (".Civ5Map") the game immediately crashes. Pinned this down to the DLL, if the DLL is active this happens. No problems at all with a slew of non-DLL mods enabled.
     
  17. wuTz

    wuTz Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    160
    Dunno if this is intentional:

    UI Overlay - Resources

    When I scroll with the mouse cursor the table with the selected resources vanishes.
     
  18. whoward69

    whoward69 DLL Minion

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    8,417
    Location:
    Near Portsmouth, UK
    Not intentional and nothing I can do about it as it's a function of the way the core game handles scroll/zoom when in SV mods
     
  19. lockstep

    lockstep Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Messages:
    399
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    With "Religion - Fixed Prophets", you're assured to get a prophet as soon as you hit the 200/300/500 ... faith threshold, but right now, any faith overflow is lost. Is it possible (perhaps with DLL modifications) to keep the overflow? This way, prophets would be in line with pantheons (where the oveflow is kept).
     
  20. whoward69

    whoward69 DLL Minion

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    8,417
    Location:
    Near Portsmouth, UK
    It would need a DLL mod - I'll add it to the list
     

Share This Page