Why Scientific or Cultural win over Diplomatic?

walkerjks

King
Some background to start - I just started playing Civ5 in the last month and have a few wins (up to King) under my belt. I also helped develop many of the Civ 4 cultural/peaceful ways to win in Civ 4 (I had the earliest deity cultural win in the HoF, afaik). So I'm a Civ5 neophyte with some winning peacefully background.

My question is this - What are the scenarios under which a scientific win or cultural win can happen earlier than a diplomatic win? I've been trying to play the cultural game. I've seen Martin's spectacularly fast science wins on Deity. But it seems to me that there are few cases where a peaceful victory wouldn't be faster as diplomatic. Is this the case? The UN is available far earlier than Spaceship parts. It seems lie the UN is available before you can rack up 30 social policies. RAs combined with blocking (an exploit? Feels like it to me, but the last patch seems to endorse the strategy) is way too powerful and seems to help a slingshot to a poarticular tech rather than developing a reasonable industrial base necessary to support spaceship construction.

What am I missing here? I guess the overall question is, should I decide to play the (mostly) peaceful game, what circumstance would lead me to chase a cultural or scientific win over diplomatic?

Edit to correct some grammar.

My only two cultural wins until now happened before the UN became available.

they can't. Cultural and Technology VCs are longer than Diplomatic ones.

choosing cultural or scientific is your choice. Do them if you want to; else don't.

I appreciate that confirmation. City-states seem to add a ridiculously easy diplomatic victory, assuming you have the proper combination (all relatively low barriers) of tech, cash, and social policies (aka culture).