1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

WoC Suggestion Thread - NOT Specific Modules

Discussion in 'Civ4 - World of Civilization' started by TAfirehawk, Nov 15, 2007.

  1. mamba

    mamba Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,520
    Others should comment on this as well, but my understanding is that you would make one file per leader and in that file would ONLY have the trait changes.

    E.g.

    Code:
    		<LeaderHeadInfo>
    			<Type>LEADER_BRENNUS</Type>
    			<Traits>
    				whatever trait to add
    			</Traits>
    		</LeaderHeadInfo>
    
    As to actually changing traits (instead of adding ones), that is the part I am not sure of. I do not know whether you can actually replace <TraitType>s within <Traits> and not just add ones given the WoC format (I have asked that question before, for a different tag, but have not gotten an answer yet)
     
  2. lord_graywolfe

    lord_graywolfe Wolfman

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2005
    Messages:
    717
    Location:
    Washington
    ok i think i got it, but ill wait untill we have an answer about changing exsisting ones before i start on it.
     
  3. Galadrion

    Galadrion Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    188
    Let's see... how about the Immigrant unit? That was one I wanted for ViSa, and it never quite got to the working stage.

    Sea Settlers and Sea Engineers, that was another good set of game components.

    Perhaps some way to move religious Shrines - you build a "Holy Pilgrimage" unit in the Holy City (and it can only be built in a Holy City with the religion's shrine), at which point it removes the Shrine and the city's "holy" status. Move the unit to another city which shares the appropriate religion, use it there, and it makes that city the religion's holy city, complete with shrine. No combat value on the unit, so if it's attacked it's captured (like a worker), and the attacker can use it if he/she has the appropriate religion in a city. It could even be used to reestablish the Holy City and Shrine in a foreign city, if the controller wanted to do that for some reason.
     
  4. TAfirehawk

    TAfirehawk WoC Team Manager

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,326
    Location:
    Florida
    The plan is to incorporate as many mods into the DLL as is humanly possible.


    Each tag like this must be looked at individually, so there is no "global" answer except that each will be fixed as we are told about them.

    Traits specifically, I am not sure why a separate file for each leaderhead would be created. I haven't looked at it yet, but in my mind what is happening here is a "Trait Mod" and it belongs in its own module with just the Traits tags.
     
  5. TAfirehawk

    TAfirehawk WoC Team Manager

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,326
    Location:
    Florida
    All of that sounds good to me....but again for everybody, we are not making a mod here, but a modding platform/standard on which all other BtS modders can develop things in a way that nearly everything will work together and let the player choose the individual parts on an individual game basis.

    We will be releasing quite a few Modules over the coming months, but even the large WoC Team can't keep up with everything done on CFC for BtS....
     
  6. esemjay

    esemjay Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    386
    Location:
    USA
    I love the system you guys are making, and I'm trying to convert some of my favorite mods to this fashion so I can use them. Unfortunately, the load times are absolutely horrendous on my system.

    I was able to launch Firefox, navigate to this page through Google, bring it up, skim the thread (did a search for "World of Civilization" "Loading Time", then Ctrl+F "loading"), and then as I started writing, the mod finally launched. I am only running 1GB of Ram, and onboard video that shares (I think) 64MB of that RAM, but that would be the only reason I wouldn't use this system.

    On the bright side, I'm glad to see that the loading speed is being looked into; it would really make my day if I could play WoC as quickly as some of the newer systems. :D
     
  7. TAfirehawk

    TAfirehawk WoC Team Manager

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,326
    Location:
    Florida
    Depending on exactly which version you have....it is really slow or will be faster....

    Ingame speed for players will be just fine, but right now we have been using debug and logger DLL's that are VERY slow loading and playing.....remember we have not released V1.00 yet so don't judge it just yet :)

    BTW, BtS itself loads very slow when I reboot as well....not as slow as the WoC, but what can you expect from a system that will give you the choice to change nearly any and all components of any mod in any game!!!!
     
  8. esemjay

    esemjay Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    386
    Location:
    USA
    That would definitely explain it!

    I'm sorry to be of trouble, but could you tell me how to get the current "fast loading" version? I don't have a need for "debug" mode, since I can't tell the difference between a "bug" and my computer just being crappy sometimes. Intel onboard video does some weird things with graphics.

    :EDIT:

    Okay, I just finished getting the SVN version, and it is a lot faster; but whenever I try to boot it up, I keep getting loading errors. I went ahead and ignored the first couple errors, but eventually I got tired of clicking "Ignore" and just hit "Abort." I noticed that a lot of the modules in the SVN's "modules" folder are not like the installer I got previously (Earlier this week) and I'm just curious if it has anything to do with that. The only concrete differences I've seen between the two thus far are:

    1. The SVN loads MUCH faster. (I want to use it)
    2. The SVN has modularized MLF_CIV4ModularLoadingControls.xml
    3. The SVN has a lot less "Unit" modules than the one I have been trying to use.

    Am I using the wrong version again? (Perhaps the Development version, not the Release?) If so, how can I tell the Devel from the Release?

    :clueless:
     
  9. Sinapus

    Sinapus Defenestrated

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2002
    Messages:
    872
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    wrong forum...
     
  10. TAfirehawk

    TAfirehawk WoC Team Manager

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,326
    Location:
    Florida
    Currently the SVN has a serious load error from Firaxis....we have contacted them and they are assisting us as they can with their limited Civ schedule right now. It is not you....you can delete some MLF's in the Units and Wonders to get everything in Assets to load if you wish....fixes are coming :)
     
  11. Duuk

    Duuk Doom-Sayer Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,941
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Detroit, Michigan, USA
    Any chance of adding in the functionality from Revolutions/BarbarianCiv mod? Seeing the rise and fall of Empires is awesome.
     
  12. TAfirehawk

    TAfirehawk WoC Team Manager

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,326
    Location:
    Florida
    The WoC is a modding Standard, not a mod itself....so any modder is welcome to add anything for BtS to it, in fact we hope modders will adopt this and will help any modder too.

    We are doing conversions ourselves, but we could never do everything for BtS by ourselves.
     
  13. Fierabras

    Fierabras Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,114
    I noticed in a comment by jdog5000 that he was using WoC style comments in his latest versions (check his changelog). I would definitely welcome him to the WoC modding standard, so we could enjoy revolutions together :)

    Edit: hmm, not sure now I have learned that WOC can mean something else: "a library of C++ classes which are named Windows/OpenGL Classes, or WOC for short."
     
  14. helpless_writer

    helpless_writer Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Messages:
    182
    Location:
    United States
    Would it be possible to have all the modules in the installer... or else make it so that WoC links in a RSS way to the list of all the modules?

    I ask because downloading as many as i am is confusing me about if i downloaded and installed this one... did i delete that thinking i installed that... its all rather confusing for a simpleton like me
     
  15. rockinroger

    rockinroger WoC Team Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,312
    Location:
    Overland Park, Kansas
    We are working on a Front End Program that will make things simpler to load.
     
  16. ADP101

    ADP101 Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    211
    There are many modcomps i like but theres one thing i hate about civ IV, the random generated maps are so terible, i think you guys should ask rhye if u could use his RAND generator, i love that thing, it makes amazing random maps unlike CIV IV
     
  17. rockinroger

    rockinroger WoC Team Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,312
    Location:
    Overland Park, Kansas
    Im not familiar with it, what does it do? As regular maps do get boring, I use alot of Island ones for variety, but still boring,lol
     
  18. ADP101

    ADP101 Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    211
    it creates a real earth type map, the random earth maps in civ IV are terrible, rhyes is very realistic, try it out sometime
     
  19. rockinroger

    rockinroger WoC Team Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,312
    Location:
    Overland Park, Kansas
    Gotta link?
     
  20. eris23

    eris23 Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    122
    or even better...apply this module system to rfc, just that its too much work...way too much.
     

Share This Page