1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

World 2004 - Updated

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Completed Scenarios' started by elfangor801, Oct 17, 2004.

  1. Chukka

    Chukka Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    Nice scenario. The loading times are way too long for me too.
     
  2. Chukka

    Chukka Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    How do you eliminate sea trade and air trade in the editor ?
     
  3. Moff Jerjerrod

    Moff Jerjerrod Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Messages:
    2,550
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Aboard the Praetor's pride
    Well you open the biq file with the editor and then choose edit rules. Then click on the improvement/buildings tab and eliminate the check mark in the harbor and airport buildings that is next to the water/air trade.


    I have a question. I went to the new link and dl'ed world 2004 and noticed that it comes with only a MP biq and a version 1.2 biq. Is there a v 1.1biq available? I tried the v1.2biq but it's filled with missing entries for the pediatext and the MPbiq has too few civs in it to play single player.
     
  4. elfangor801

    elfangor801 So cold....

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Messages:
    552
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN, USA
    The way I remember it, just double click the World 2004v1.1.exe file...
     
  5. IQGumdropI.K.

    IQGumdropI.K. Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1
    Is there some way to download it other than that website, which seems to require membership, and, as such, money.
     
  6. elfangor801

    elfangor801 So cold....

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Messages:
    552
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN, USA
    Well, for one thing, it never required money :p.

    But as is stated several times in this thread, go to the 3D downloads link on the first post for the hassle free download.
     
  7. Moff Jerjerrod

    Moff Jerjerrod Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Messages:
    2,550
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Aboard the Praetor's pride
    I see what my problem was now. Can't believe I didn't see it before :wallbash:

    I was looking in the wrong place. Instead of finding the scenario biq in the scenario folder under the main Conquests directory I should have looked in the conquests folder in the main Conquests directory. Setup a new game with version 1.1 which took 1 hr 35 minutes to do. Can't wait to experiment tonight!
     
  8. outcast

    outcast Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Can you also post the FAQ and ReadMe on another site since mil-sim is down?

    One other thing, how long should it take to build and research stuff?
     
  9. Moff Jerjerrod

    Moff Jerjerrod Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Messages:
    2,550
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Aboard the Praetor's pride
    The minimum time it takes to research a tech is 26 turns. Building units and improvements depends on a city's production. A city that has 25+ shield output per turn will be able to crank out an units and improvements fairly well. A city with say 10 units of shields produced will pop out units and improvements very slowly.

    By the way I improved scenario loading times and wait time between turns (WTBT) significantly by removing all maintainence costs for improvements and eliminating the allow trade over water for harbors. What I then did was allow the small wonder, Olympic Games, to allow trade over water. To load the scenario from scratch now takes less than 5 minutes and the WTBT is less than 2 minutes. :goodjob:
     
  10. Red Door

    Red Door Man of Mayhem

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Messages:
    12,665
    Location:
    USA #1
    How long is the initial load time?
     
  11. Red Door

    Red Door Man of Mayhem

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Messages:
    12,665
    Location:
    USA #1
    never mind... i found out myself
    took me 1 hour,
    playing as US of A and using radar artillery in Iraq to find terrorists (driving them around and when it says non-combat units can't attack) and destroy them with tanks or bradleys. Mexico sunk her "glorious navy" for some reason and can Chinooks are taking a while to get to the hot spots. I saved my game, and declared war on Syria for fun. I got almost all my troops killed before taking Damascus.
    Fun Scenario.
     
  12. tomasjj

    tomasjj Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2002
    Messages:
    1,402
    Location:
    Norway

    Great suggestions there at the end for the increased speed.
    Thanks.

    This thing looks real real sweet, and I am gonna get a real look at it tonight.
    Loaded up the reduced version last night, but decided on the real deal :D

    Anyway, thanks a lot for making this scenario available to us all. You guys did a great job putting this together. :goodjob:

    I guess others have already commented on the city improvements/wonders; I couldnt figure out their effects.
     
  13. Moff Jerjerrod

    Moff Jerjerrod Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Messages:
    2,550
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Aboard the Praetor's pride
    Thanks,

    I couldn't figure out some of the improvements/wonders either until I checked them out with the editor. I've been working on adding text to the civilopedia entries. NOthing fancy, just a brief summary of what does what.
     
  14. tomasjj

    tomasjj Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2002
    Messages:
    1,402
    Location:
    Norway
    Thats very cool. I also had a little sneak peak in the editor.
    If you feel like it please post that updated civilopedia. :)

    I had to go back to the reduced version though. My puter (800mhz, 512 ram) couldnt handle the full version. It took me ages between turns.
    jj
     
  15. CivDav

    CivDav Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Messages:
    140
    Location:
    Budapest, Hungary
  16. Malik69

    Malik69 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    1
    Hi folks

    I would like to dowload the german version of the world 2004 scenario.
    Can anyone tell me where I can find it? Thanks for helping me.

    Greetings from Switzerland

    Malik
     
  17. CivDav

    CivDav Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Messages:
    140
    Location:
    Budapest, Hungary
    Is it normal that it loads ages? It "configure scenario" 4 hours
     
  18. Red Door

    Red Door Man of Mayhem

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Messages:
    12,665
    Location:
    USA #1
    Mine took 1 hour to load and i have a fast computer.
     
  19. Col. C Potter

    Col. C Potter Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Messages:
    35
    When I try to 'talk' to either Central Asia and/or Iraq/Afganistan e.g. to ask for right of Passage, the game crashes and no error message comes up. I have tried talking to all other nations e.g US, Uk/Ireland and they all work fine. What could be the reason for this and can it be fixed? I'm currently running the World 2004 V1.2.

    Please anyone got any ideas?

    Thanks:)
     
  20. elfangor801

    elfangor801 So cold....

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Messages:
    552
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN, USA
    Go back to v1.1, it works on that, that was one of the bugs with 1.2.

    Good book btw ;).
     

Share This Page